123 Reg Reviews

Rated 3.70 / 10 by 10 Users

Visit 123 Reg
123 Reg Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 3.70

Support: 3.40

Speed: 4.30

Features: 4.10

Uptime: 3.40

Value: 3.30

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“123-reg is the United Kingdom’s largest domain provider and belongs to the Host Europe Group. The company hosts more than 1. 4 million websites and has registered over three million domains.

On paper, 123-reg look pretty ordinary. The only thing we really like about their shared hosting is the ability to scale up the resources with their Managed Premium hosting plans. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from 123 Reg:

  • 15% off Shared Web Hosting
123 Reg Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

Users Reviews (Rated 3.70 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 8 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.38

Support: 4.00

Speed: 5.13

Features: 4.88

Uptime: 4.00

Value: 3.88

Name:
Date: July 4, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 1.00

I have been with this company for many years. Unfortunately recently their customer support as well as performance has gone from average to terrible. They have lost ALL my emails and literally told me to take it or leave it. So I left. Considering years I spent with them I now regret it. I have not been refunded for the loss of my emails - which by the way were important business emails. When I raised the issue with support I was almost ignored and told to f$%k off.

AVOID AVOID AVOID

Name:
Date: January 6, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

Thanks so much to the guy whom assisted men- very helpful!
Name:
Date: March 12, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Very good service. Would recommend.
Name:
Date: March 8, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I signed up with their shared hosting 3 months ago and want to share my horrible review of the company.

I am a freelance web designer and hosted my own business website along with a number of portfolio sites. The sales team I spoke to were great, and really helpful. However, after I purchased hosting everything changed. A constant problem was really slow loading times for my website, with sometimes it taking over 20 seconds! This is despite my sites using caching to make them faster.

The customer support i received was absolutely terrible, with most of the people I spoke to not even having much clue about hosting. I was given the wrong information on multiple occasions with it costing me money to put right. Some of the support team seem arrogent and condescening and out of 10 calls only one person was any good. Their live chat is pathetic, having to wait 10 minutes between each response as if they were dealing with multiple conversations at the same time. Support tickets were the worst, taking four days to be answered with unhelpful responses.

I finally moved all my sites over to a different company and all of them perform really fast. Highly recommend you think twice before signing up with 123-reg.

Name:
Date: February 26, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Horrible. Customer service was terrible. You pay money expecting your host to provide a decent service but you get spoken to on the phone with such contempt. THey suspended my account for absolutely no reason which affected my business. Avoid!
Name:
Date: November 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am a web designer and have been working with hosting providers for over 18 years. I use multiple difference providers depending on the clients budget, including SIteGround, GODaddy, 123-reg and hostgator and based on this experience 123-reg is the worst of all of them.

They use old versions of PHP and MYSQL, and file manager is always full of errors. Uploading files is hit and miss.

Name:
Date: November 7, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

I have used 123-reg for several years and have always been very happy with the hosting and support. I think where they get let down is the value. I decided to leave in order to get more disk space for the same price elsewhere. If you are new to hosting they are perfectly ok, but for UK hosting they are a little expensive.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.00

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: May 8, 2015
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

In the entire time I have worked with hosting companies, I’ve never seen anything like them. I had to call for the 5th time today to cancel my hosting plan. The first time I tried cancelling it, I was assured it had been cancelled. However, they still charged me and took money out of my account. When I asked to get refunded, they told me since it was a direct debit that I would need to wait, since my money was still with my bank. Then I had to call them again to ask for a refund. Finally 3 days later the money showed up in my bank account. Then I was notified a week later that they had renewed my hosting, and I got an invoice. So even though I cancelled with them twice, and cancelled a direct debit to my bank, they decided to renew my hosting! Once again they took money from my account, and I had to call to request my money back again. I wanted to cancel my account since I have a VPS hosting account, so I didn’t need the old hosting anymore. However, my VPS is a complete nightmare. Support is terrible, with a bunch of excuses passing the blame, and there is also a lot of downtime. 123-reg overall is a total nightmare. I wouldn’t recommend them to anybody. They need to get things sorted out, since the terrible service, stress and amount of time it takes to deal with them is definitely not worth it. I’m on to my next hosting company!

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.00

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: July 3, 2015
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

123-reg really sucks!

The server default settings are for the log files to keep growing infinitely. I’m not a server guru, so I didn’t know that something like that would have to be set different from what the default setting is. So after a couple months of using it, the log files get so gigantic that the server just keeps running and never stops. I sent in a support ticket, but still didn’t have a response after several hours. So then I had to wait for the support phones to open up at 9 am. That sure was a lot of fun. The server didn’t work all day long, and my tickets only got answered after harsh messages left on the their Facebook page or having long drawn out phone calls. Lots more fun. Then night time comes and I’m told all of the admins have left for the day, and they will look into it in the morning. So by the next morning my server will have been offline for 24 hours, and then they will just be starting to attempt to fix the problem! What a disaster. That’s not support. They have many unwitting customers. When you have a small business like I do, this really is a huge disaster.

If it is important for your server to be online, then don’t use 123-reg!

You know what’s really funny? The last support person (Luke) that I talked to, said the server really isn’t offline, it just isn’t working. That’s just unbelievable!

I’m off to find more review sites so that more people can be warned.

Expert 123 Reg Review

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“123-reg is the United Kingdom’s largest domain provider and belongs to the Host Europe Group. The company hosts more than 1. 4 million websites and has registered over three million domains.

On paper, 123-reg look pretty ordinary. The only thing we really like about their shared hosting is the ability to scale up the resources with their Managed Premium hosting plans.”

  • Largest UK-based Domain Registrar.
  • Telephone, Live-chat, and ticket-based support available.
  • Windows and Linux plans available.
  • Easy to uses custom control panel.
  • Shared, VPS, WordPress, and Premium Hosting available.
  • Marketing add-ons available, including SEO Optimizer.
Money Back Guarantee
14 days
Advanced Caching
No
Price
$ - $
Visit Website

4 Reasons to use 123-reg Shared Hosting for your website or Blog

#1. Choice of Windows or Linux hosting

There is a distinct lack of high-quality hosting providers that offer both Windows AND Linux hosting. Most just offer the standard Linux hosting, which is what you should choose unless you have a specific reason to do otherwise (i.e. you require ASP hosting).

#2. Their Managed Premium (VPS) plans provide an excellent upgrade path

As you have seen, 123-reg are one of the few web hosting providers to have such large resources available for their shared hosting plans. If you like the simplicity of shared hosting, but know that you soon may outgrow the traditional shared hosting plans more likely to be offered at other providers, then 123-reg is a real option.

Of course, another option is a fully managed Cloud, but even then some providers are more fully managed than others.

#3. Some positive reports around the web of their UK telephone, live chat, and ticket support.

It is surprising how many web hosting companies now don’t have the full range of support contact methods. 123-reg have them all, and this is a big plus.

This is something that can be tough to determine if you haven’t used the hosting for any length of time, and as such you are better looking at the User Reviews at the end of this Review to gauge their levels of Uptime and Support.

#4. Install Apps such as WordPress, Drupal or Joomla with their one click installer

Whether you choose their Windows or Linux plans, you will be able to install all the common apps with just a few clicks via their simple admin. interface. This is a common feature with many web hosting providers, but always worth mentioning.

6 Reasons why you might not want to choose 123-reg for your web hosting

#1. Custom Hosting Platform & Control Panel

When we were researching 123-reg via the trusty “Google search”, we found various references to them offering cPanel (Linux) and Plesk (Windows) as a control panel. However, when looking at their website this detail was suspiciously absent. In order to seek clarification on this point, we opened a support chat (which was answered swiftly).

After a short minute or so pause (it seemed they were seeking clarification themselves from a more senior person) they clarified that cPanel and Plesk are only available on their VPS plans and that they use a custom control panel for their shared hosting.

With control panels such as cPanel, Plesk or DirectAdmin offering excellent features and migration automation we do recommend web hosting providers that provide them. The 123-reg control panel looks fairly basic, and lacking some of the more advanced features that they offer, such as SpamAssassin.

You can get a glimpse of what their control panel looks like in the screenshot below:

123 Reg Control Panel
#2. No Migration Help

A side effect of the custom control panel is that you won’t get any help migrating your websites to 123-reg, and equally, when you move away from them to another provider, any new provider would not be able to help with migration either. With established control panels such as cPanel hosting providers can automate the migration process and things like emails, SSL certificates and other settings can all be transferred in minutes. This is why many hosting providers offer free migration when using cPanel.

They do, however, offer a guide to talk you through the steps of migrating your website.

#3. Charged to Move Domain?

One of the things that concern us the most is that apparently if you need an IPS tag to move your domain away from them, then you may be charged $20.

I’ve been with 123-reg for like ten years. If my client wants to leave, I move it to the new provider. Now — 123-reg with zero customer loyalty wants me to pay 20 bucks to leave their service (change the IPS Tag). Surely its not legal to add this charge with no warning or no acceptance. This disgraceful business. No one else charges for this.

We know of no other hosting provider that does this and quite frankly are shocked that they choose to do such a thing. This almost wants us to scream “stay away” when considering them for domain registration.

#4. Limited time Money Back Guarantee

They offer a 14-day unconditional money back guarantee, although this does not apply to domains or other add-ons. This is significantly less than any other web hosting providers, with many providing between 30 and 90 days money-back guarantee. It is therefore important to make up your mind whether you wish to stay with them relatively quickly.

That being said, you should be able to make up your mind about a web hosting provider within two weeks, especially if you put them through their paces with some support requests early on.

#5. Requirement to give 30 days notice of cancellation or you will be charged automatically

After the money back guarantee period has run out, there are no refunds. If you wish to cancel at the end of the term, you should note that you need to give 30 days written notice, and there are a few complaints around the web of credit cards being charged automatically. You can find the relevant terms here:

12.1.1 the Client upon serving 30 days’ written notice on 123-reg following completion of 123-reg’ prescribed template procedures for terminating the whole or any part of the Agreement They clarify that the written notice can be made via support ticket.

While many web hosting providers have a habit of automatically renewing hosting at the end of the term, the 30 day notice requirement is quite draconian. If you sign up with 123-reg, just make sure that if you do not wish to renew at the end of the term that you give the correct notice and this will be no issue.

#6. Their lack of expertise \ disaster planning when major problems occur is worrying.

2016 has been a terrible year for 123-reg.

  • First, in April 2016, they deleted many of their VPS Servers with over 50 percent of the data permanently lost resulting in many customers losing their websites (always make off-site backups ok?!?).

  • Secondly, in May 2016, they suffered from major email outages affecting customers on around 67 web servers. To give some credit, this is only a small number of the 115,000 servers their parent company has across Europe.

  • Lastly (at least for now), in August 2016, they suffered from major outages due to a relatively large 30 Gbps DDoS attack. Fortunately, at least in the latter case, they managed to recover fairly quickly.

Ultimately the second two items are not overly serious, but nevertheless, the trend is worrying. The VPS data deletion, though, should never have been allowed to happen.

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“The more we looked at their website builder, the more we were impressed. While it doesn’t have all the add-ons that a specialist website builder company has, we feel their modern designs and inSite features will be more than adequate for small business users.

They do, however, seem a little overpriced and lacking in features for their e-commerce plans. “

  • Easily Upgradable, both with their Shared Hosting, and Cloud Hosting.
  • Responsive Mobile Ready Themes that adapt seamlessly to any device.
  • Modern design interface that is extremely easy to use.
  • A large number of great looking templates to get you up and running fast.
  • Quickly add slideshows, galleries, fully customizable forms and more.
  • Built in search engine optimization tools.
Money Back Guarantee
14 days
Advanced Caching
N/A
Price
$ - $
Visit Website

4 Reasons to use 123-reg Website Builder

#1. Their website builder is very easy to use, with no technical experience being necessary.

Their design interface is really good. It is modern, and extremely easy to use allowing you to easily implement many different features. The only problem is going to be your imagination, but fortunately they have some great templates you can start from too.

123 Reg design interface is easy to use

#2. Get up and running quickly by customizing one of many professionally designed templates that look good across desktops, tables or mobile.

We were very pleasantly surprised how great some of the basic templates looked. Quite often web hosting providers who offer their own website builder (as opposed to reselling a mainstream builder such as Weebly) will showcase some outdated, and quite frankly horrible designs.

You can choose templates from a variety of different professions or styles, which can then be adapted to make them unique, including:

  • Business — Multiple professions are included; Laundry, Handyman, Luxury transport, consulting, app, plus many more.
  • Restaurant — They have five different restaurant themes, of which at least two look really great.
  • Portfolio sites — Whether you are a designer, or just want to visually showcase your services or products, they have some great designs.
  • Beauty — Choose from lifestyle types themes, to beauty products or fitness.

An example of one of their latest designs is below:

123-reg website builder designs.

#3. An extensive set of standard features and widgets to make your website look professional.

You can easily and quickly add the following features:

  • Social icons — Display links to your social media accounts with smart icons.
  • Image sliders — Easily add a swipeable image slider to your website to showcase your products and services.
  • Google maps — Let people find you by integrating Google Maps in to your website; include step by step directions to your store.
  • SEO functionality — Get found by more of your customers with our simple to use, built in Search Engine Optimization tools.
  • Photo Galleries — Include a photo gallery on any page to showcase your products, customers or services and ensure they appear in the results for Google’s image search so they can be easily found by potential customers.
  • Click to call — Website Builder connects your online and offline business. Your visitors can call in one click from a mobile device which can be limited to office hours. Great for shops, restaurants and professional services who want their customers to call.
  • Blogs — Website Builder allows you to share your knowledge and establish a community with your visitors by creating a blog that integrates smoothly with your website.
  • InSites — Improve engagement by personalizing your website based on how customers found you, where they are, the date, time of day and more.
  • Contact forms — Drag and drop a contact form onto your website to give customers a safe and secure way to contact you.
  • YouTube video — Embed any YouTube video by dragging this widget into place and take advantage of the internet’s fastest growing search engine.

#4. inSites widgets allow you to create custom content for specific visitors, such as custom offers or greetings. This is one of our favorite features of the 123-reg website builder. With inSites you can provide custom content or styling to specific sets of visitors. This is great for providing custom offers to say, returning visitors, or even completely changing the look of your website depending on their location (i.e. celebrate specific holidays from certain countries).

Examples of some of the changes you can make are as follows:

  • Special promotions that run each year for a set period (i.e. Christmas or New Year)
  • Notification bars that display on specific pages only once per visitor (i.e. welcome message)
  • Add out of office message to contact page.
  • If a visitor is on a mobile or tablet and say in the local area, display a map.
  • Make sure your website is updated each day for the specific lunch time special

You can see a screenshot of just how easy it is to configure the inSite with their easy to use wizards below:

123-reg inSite screenshot

5 Reasons why you might not want to choose 123-reg for your website builder

#1. Even though you are able to pay monthly, you are still tied to a 12 month contract.

The billing terms are quite unusual. Not only is there no visible money-back guarantee period, but there appears to be a minimum 12-month contract when you sign up, even if you choose to pay monthly.

When using a website builder, quite often you will want to try it out first to make sure it is suitable. While you can play around with one of the templates to check out the amin area, and get a feel for it, it does not appear that you can save or publish the website without first signing up.

#2. As with any website builder, you are pretty much tied to that hosting provider so if you decide to move, you will have to rebuild your website.

This is self-explanatory, and applies to almost all website builders.

#3. Charged to Move Domain?

Their terms and conditions state:

5.5. The Client accepts that the transfer of a gTLD Domain may require 123 Reg to carry out a manual transfer. In such event, the Client agrees to pay the applicable manual transfer fee to 123 Reg as stated on 123 Reg’s website and as updated from time to time.

It didn’t take much to find users that were charged $20 to move their domain away.

#4. Limited time Money Back Guarantee

They offer a 14-day unconditional money back guarantee, although this does not apply to domains or other add-ons. This is significantly less than any other web hosting providers, with many providing between 30 and 90 days money-back guarantee. It is therefore important to make up your mind whether you wish to stay with them relatively quickly.

#5. Requirement to give 30 days notice of cancellation or you will be charged automatically

After the money back guarantee period has run out, there are no refunds. If you wish to cancel at the end of the term, you should note that you need to give 30 days written notice, and there are a few complaints around the web of credit cards being charged automatically. You can find the relevant terms here:

12.1.1 the Client upon serving 30 days’ written notice on 123-reg following completion of 123-reg’ prescribed template procedures for terminating the whole or any part of the Agreement They clarify that the written notice can be made via support ticket.

While many web hosting providers have a habit of automatically renewing hosting at the end of the term, the 30 day notice requirement is quite draconian. If you sign up with 123-reg, just make sure that if you do not wish to renew at the end of the term that you give the correct notice and this will be no issue.

Frequently asked questions

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

About the author

Editor at The Webmaster.

Jonathan Griffin has been the Lead writer at The Webmaster for the last 5 years. Having provided technical SEO, WordPresss development, and hosting services for clients, his passion remains to help small businesses and bloggers develop their online presence.

In his spare time, he loves to push his technical knowledge further, and regularly undertakes professional courses on subjects ranging from python development, digital marketing, and Google Analytics.

Find out more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.