A Small Orange Reviews - Page 2

Rated 3.41 / 10 by 77 Users

Visit A Small Orange
A Small Orange Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 3.41

Support: 2.81

Speed: 3.74

Features: 3.90

Uptime: 3.27

Value: 3.34

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“Like so many other web hosting providers purchased by EIG, a great web host has been turned mediocre, or at least this was the case throughout 2016 & 2017.

After their sister brand was purchased by EIG in 2015, everything went wrong for EIG and their hosting brands. See the Arvixe migration debacle for details. Whilst things are improving, many people now seek to avoid any EIG-owned brands. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from A Small Orange:

  • 15% Off all Shared Hosting Plans
  • 15% Off all VPS Hosting Plans
  • 15% Off Reseller Hosting
A Small Orange Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

This is page two of our A Small Orange review showing user reviews only. Click here to read our full commentary on page one.

Users Reviews (Rated 3.41 / 10)

We read every review left by our users, and mark the ones we consider as being the most helpful.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 77 reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 3.41

Support: 2.81

Speed: 3.74

Features: 3.90

Uptime: 3.27

Value: 3.34

Name:
Date: November 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: Custom coded

User Rating: 1.20

Run! Run with your money, or they will.

I asked them for a dedicated IP and asked can I have a separate domain on a dedicated IP within the same cpanel account. A support person over the chat said that I can. I thought, well, great, no need for another account. I buy the IP.

A ticket was opened for this IP so billing could follow up and all.

Then another guy comes to reply to the ticket saying I actually do need a 2nd cpanel account for it. Oh, well…

I go and buy a 2nd account.

Then go back to the ticket and tell them I bought it and that they should now assign the IP to that 2nd account.

A third guy comes to reply to the ticket and tells me they actually cannot apply the IP to that 2nd account because they run some OS there that doesn’t support that…. Are you f***** kidding me?!

I had it. I asked for a refund for both IP and the new account that I pad an annual price for.

They refunded the IP. And here comes the crown jewel…

They didn’t want to refund the new hosting account because per their terms any non-first time account is not eligible for a refund.

I told them they told me to get a 2nd account in order for the dedicated IP to work with a separate domain. Can you believe that?! They ask you to buy it, they mess up and will not refund it because they will stick to their terms like it’s your fault?! INCREDIBLE!

Well, actually, now that I read all the bad reviews that piled up for them through the years I certainly can believe what just happened to me. Fits in just fine.

STAY AWAY, FOLKS!

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 59 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 3.66

Support: 3.07

Speed: 3.97

Features: 4.10

Uptime: 3.64

Value: 3.54

Name:
Date: November 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: Custom coded

User Rating: 1.20

Run! Run with your money, or they will.

I asked them for a dedicated IP and asked can I have a separate domain on a dedicated IP within the same cpanel account. A support person over the chat said that I can. I thought, well, great, no need for another account. I buy the IP.

A ticket was opened for this IP so billing could follow up and all.

Then another guy comes to reply to the ticket saying I actually do need a 2nd cpanel account for it. Oh, well…

I go and buy a 2nd account.

Then go back to the ticket and tell them I bought it and that they should now assign the IP to that 2nd account.

A third guy comes to reply to the ticket and tells me they actually cannot apply the IP to that 2nd account because they run some OS there that doesn’t support that…. Are you f***** kidding me?!

I had it. I asked for a refund for both IP and the new account that I pad an annual price for.

They refunded the IP. And here comes the crown jewel…

They didn’t want to refund the new hosting account because per their terms any non-first time account is not eligible for a refund.

I told them they told me to get a 2nd account in order for the dedicated IP to work with a separate domain. Can you believe that?! They ask you to buy it, they mess up and will not refund it because they will stick to their terms like it’s your fault?! INCREDIBLE!

Well, actually, now that I read all the bad reviews that piled up for them through the years I certainly can believe what just happened to me. Fits in just fine.

STAY AWAY, FOLKS!

Name:
Date: June 24, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am currently furious. My account was set to expire at the end of an annual billing cycle, and I wrote several e mails that I wanted a link to continue service. I was fully cancelled anyway, THEN they returned my e mail, asking if I’d like to set up a new account. I set up a new account, which still didn’t work, as I was not told that I needed to transfer certain files. no help. No phone contact, no computer support that’s worthwhile, also curt, unfriendly, and you have to pry answers out of them.
Name:
Date: May 1, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Oh how the mighty have fallen. ASO used to be a great (one of the best!) choices for low cost shared hosting, but since the EIG buyout, it has continually slid downhill. Avoid at all costs.
Name:
Date: April 21, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Worst Hosting Company! -No Customer support…..No Customer Support….. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT……!!!! -Tech Support on Live Chat are drones without the ability to help in any way, completely useless. -My problem was that my email stopped working. Their answer was to have a Senior Tech Email me…. I repeated, I believe about 6 times, that my email was not working so emailing me would not work and each time they would tell me that a Senior Tech would get back to me via Email. -NO PHONE SUPPORT!!!!!

So I moved my site to a new host. On the phone with the New Host they were able to resolve the issue with the email, which apparently migrated with the Cpanel BU, in about 5 minutes.

If you do cancel, which you should run to do, make sure you replace your credit card info with a gift card info, perhaps one that has a $1 on it. That way if they try to bill you they can’t. There is no way to delete your Credit Card info. Also make sure to tell them to DELETE ALL Billing and Credit Card Info.

My advise is to stay as far away from this company as possible. And for anyone who has had horrible dealings with them report them to the Better Business Bureau. These guys should not be in business.

This company doesn’t even deserve a 1, their’s is a total Zero for ALL services. And NEVER should be a choice in the rating.

Name:
Date: April 12, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

ASO worked well for about a year and then they went downhill fast. This year, my service was interrupted 4 times - once for 24 hours. Support was not existent - “our technicians are aware of the problem and working on it” “no, we don’t know when it will be fixed”. There’s no possible way they have an up time of 99.9% - and their guarantee is nonsense.
Name:
Date: April 7, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I used to love ASmallOrange. They were one of the best hosts out there for customer service. As of late, they are total crap. Their hosting is spotty. Their help is terrible. Their live chat is worthless. Nobody knows anything. I really would steer clear of this terrible company. It’s too bad because they truly were wonderful at one time.
Name:
Date: March 22, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Read all the reviews of A Small Orange before you decide to pay for their services! Do you see a common theme?

ASO is a company that does NOT put any priority into providing support or service to their customers. The ONLY way to contact them is via their Live Chat or submit a ticket. If you’re new to this, let this be a RED FLAG. If a company doesn’t want to talk to you, then they really don’t care. I even had one chat specialist rudely end a chat while I was in the middle of pleading with him to help me resolve an issue. They will also promise things in a chat and then never follow through. Also beware, they will try to charge renewal fees (without notification) 15 day prior to the date they say they are due.

I have to echo the sentiments of so many others. I regret ever doing business with A Small Orange and recommend that everyone STAY AWAY from this company.
(By the way, Host Gator, iPage, BlueHost, SiteBuilder.com, and others are all owned by the same company as A Small Orange. I don’t know if all of them operate in the same manner, but be aware before doing business with any EIG company.)

Name:
Date: March 20, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I’ve been with ASO for 10 years. Until the last couple of years it had generally been excellent. Features and price were good, customer service and issue resolution were excellent. From the point they withdrew the ability to set a priority on a support ticket things got difficult. Then chat filled that void with urgent matters being actioned quickly. But then over the last two years, more outages, slow response, slow patching and updates. In the last six months, support is ridiculously slow.

For the last three weeks on shared hosting it’s not been possible to resolve “localhost” - pretty fundamental. They unlinked etc hosts from the bind-mount so there is effectively no host file within a user’s account, which causes all kinds of problems with scripts, cron jobs, mysql, etc. Chat operators just keep saying “we apologise” and “it will be fixed soon”. The senior technicians are yet to respond to the support ticket. This would take them 30 seconds to fix.

ASO is nothing like the company it used to be. Time to move to a new provider.

Name:
Date: February 3, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

If you are thinking of writing a blog, I recommend ignoring all of the promotions sent to you by A Small Orange.

Promotions from this company imply that payment to them is necessary to register the domain needed to write a blog. It is not necessary to register a domain with A Small Orange to write a new blog.

My recent experience with A Small Orange has been filled with exasperating frustration. This company automatically charged my bank account to renew my domain registration without advising me until the transaction had be processed and posted to my account. When I cancelled the domain registration account within the required time period, the company refused to refund the renewal charge.

The Terms of Service posted to the A Small Orange web site state that the company will bill their renewal fee, “up to 15 days prior to your renewal date.” The invoice billing my renewal is dated 20 days prior to my renewal date.

The Terms of Service state that the domain registration account must be cancelled, “at least 48 hours prior to the renewal date.” It states that if the customer does not cancel during this time period, the customer will be billed for the renewal and is responsible to pay the renewal charge. I cancelled my account 3 days prior to the renewal date.

The Terms of Service require the customer to contact its billing department by email if there is an error made by A Small Orange in their billing. When I attempted to email the billing department, my message received only an automatic generic message directing me to the company’s web pages for customer support and the chat page. The two days I attempted to connect to these web pages they were not functioning.

The $65.00 renewal fee taken from my bank account pays A Small Orange, a year in advance, for use of a domain that is cancelled and not in use. The $65.00 collected by the company amounts to a donation from a customer who will receive no service in return for the money paid.

When I read through the Terms of Service for all of the services offered by A Small Orange the general message becomes clear. The proprietors of the company, Garret Noling and Mohsin Kamal, designed and operate A Small Orange so that it will exploit a popular social trend, mislead and confuse the prospective customer, promote a service fee as necessary when it is not, collect as much money as possible, and perform absolutely no customer support for domain registration customers.

The proprietors of the web site even boldly and arrogantly state in the last sentence of paragraph 6.7 of their Terms of Service, “ In addition, A Small Orange reserves the right to refuse a refund at any time for any or no reason.”

You can register a domain with other web hosting services such as Wordpress.com for a much lower fee. You can write a blog without the frustration of associating with companies like A Small Orange.

Name:
Date: January 26, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Completely worthless company, stay very far away from this company of amateurs and charlatans (kindest way I can put it).

I have had hosting accounts with many different companies, some good and some bad. These guys are in a league of their own when it comes to terrible hosting services. For the purpose of this review and brevity I will focus on my main two problem areas.

Support - does not exist. Almost convinced that their support team are bots. You will receive the exact same canned response over and over again. Literally the exact same words be it email or chat message. I received the exact same email three times in a row in response to my responses. Then same thing via chat. If they are not bots, then it’s just people copy and pasting canned messages, what’s the point.

Uptime. This is a real problem area, particularly how they handle this issue. Their servers went down, my site was offline and it wasn’t until a few days later when a client asked me about an unanswered email that I realized it was down. DAYS, not minutes or hours, DAYS. No one contacted me or sent an email to my alternate email address informing me of the issue. Every provider I have ever had, has had the courtesy and professionalism to give me a heads up when it’s going to take a few hours to resolve a more challenging issue. Not these guys. When I contact their support department, they mentioned they were working on it and would get back to me. Never got back to me (obviously not surprising), a week later (A WEEK for god’s sake) server and site were still down. At which point I migrated my site to another service after losing a decent amount of business and revenue.

In sum, just avoid this company at all cost, not worth any savings you may get. You’re better off paying a couple bucks more and going with a real company.

Name:
Date: January 17, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

The mark of a good hosting company is not necessarily its size, but the quality of its services and customer support. A small orange horribly falls short of the mark in these two critical areas. My site was down every other week costing me a great deal of business and hurting my reputation. Customer support which I later learned was outsourced to India is shameful. I had become accustomed to waiting 10-15 minutes between responses only to be asked to elaborate my query. My three years with ASO is an experience I want to quickly forget. If you care about your business stay away from this hosting company.
Name:
Date: December 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I would never recommend ASOJ to friends, family or anyone I know. The reason is quite simple: after years of being a faithful customer, they took my entire website down, my livelihood, without warning on Christmas Day because my site reached a bandwidth quota. I didn’t get the notification until I had over 100 customer complaints about my website being down until the next Monday. I had to give out tons of refunds. Considering legal action against ASOJ…DO NOT use this host!!
Name:
Date: November 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

WARNING!!!!

ASO is a horrible company. They took my site down for not renewing the URL/domain name, but I paid for the URL/domain name and ASO applied the payment to a different URL – they then refused to rectify their mistake. It’s not the money that is the issue here ($22), it’s the fact that I paid the bill on time and they screwed it up and then refused to even acknowledge that they made a mistake.

Contacted their live chat on three different occasions and was told three times “it sucks to be you”…

Don’t use this company, you’ll regret it. They basically are con-artists, the only reason they put all the crap on their site about their “great” customer service is to con you into buying their services. Once they’ve got your money, you can go and F*@& yourself as far as they are concerned.

Seriously, I’m so upset right now, I’ve copied the live chat conversation and I’m posting it to my Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest accounts etc. so I can let everyone I know what a POS company ASO / EIG is.

I’ve spent over eight months perfecting the CSS on my wordpress site to get it perfect, as soon as these creeps figure out that you’ve put some time and effort into your site they start thinking “now we’ve got ’em where we want ’em” and they start playing their BS games.

Stay away from ASO or any other brand owned by EIG (Endurance Investment Group).

Name:
Date: October 21, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I’ve parked about 10 or 11 domains at ASO over the past 4 years and have never had a bad experience. Support has been good the few times I’ve needed it. For the most part I’m running WP based sites and my hosting package has no problem running multiple installations of WP simultaneously. Not sure how others are using it, but it works great for me! + PROS: Very little downtime, handles multiple installations of wordpress, and speeds fast enough for me. - CONS: Invoicing has always been confusing to me. I’m not sure why as it should be straight forward, but I just can’t follow what’s happening when invoices arrive.
Name:
Date: September 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

So I started using this service because it was affordable. But recently I had to cancel my account because I couldnt afford to keep it running. Unknown to me. They still billed me the full amount for a service that I had cancelled. After multiple emails and complaints about getting a refund they have still not issued my refund. The customer service is really bad and if you bring up issues like mine they will stop responding to you. Don’t waste your time and money on this company because you’ll either end up disappointed or your money stolen.
Name:
Date: September 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

This is absolutely the worst company in existence, not just as a web host. Charlatans, scoundrals, they need to be crucified or hung. Imagine the shit one has to go through to say this shit. + PROS: Doesnt even deserve a pros section - CONS: Does not fit into box
Name:
Date: September 9, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

They are Thieves, they can use your credit card when they want and add you service you never accept. TAKE CARE OF THEM + PROS: Affordable - CONS: Terrible Support Slow servers
Name:
Date: August 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

THESE GUYS ARE THE WORST. THEY LIE, THEY ARE THIEVES, THEY ARE 34.5% UPTIME AND THEY ARE THE WORST IN THE MARKET. NO IPHONE LIVE CHAT ONLY STUCK TO A COMPUTER.
Name:
Date: August 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

4th day since ordering hosting and domain, still no Welcome email, nor response to polite note 2 days later. They DID manage to send several ‘upsell’ efforts, which we won’t be availing ourselves of. Considering decent price ($150 for 3 yrs incl 1 yr of free domain reg), have to give two thumbs down, and recommend that webmasters look elsewhere. Very rude not to respond to email several days. A Small Orange is small, indeed, quality-wise + PROS: decent price ($150 for 3 yrs, incl 1 yr free domain) - CONS: 4th day, still awaiting Welcome email No response to courteous email, 2 days + 2 days Quite rude not to respond
Name:
Date: July 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

I cancelled my website due to their poor ticket support. I contacted them back a month later to ask them if they are willing to work with me and restore my account, they wanted a 150.00 fee for restoration even though it was their fault that they haven’t responded to 3 of my tickets. + PROS: Good price - CONS: horrible support and uncare for their customers
Name:
Date: July 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

My server has been down now for 36 hours. Their support is useless. After 9 years with ASO, I am done. They used to be really good but not anymore.
Name:
Date: June 22, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Nice bright clear looking members screen, easy to navigate and understand, looks like that’s where the commitment ends though. Abysmal service from them over the end of 2015 start of 2016, all customers who had paid them money were just abandoned. to this day not an apology.
Name:
Date: June 22, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Unfortunately, after almost 10 years of being with ASO, I’ve decided that I have to find a new provider. The services were always fine for my minimal consumption, it was cheap, did what I needed, etc. However, support is now awful. I currently have one open ticket that’s 3 days old, no response. I have another open ticket that’s 1 day old and the only response I received was wrong. I’m going to be switching to someone new, not sure who yet. + PROS: Cheap. - CONS: Customer support is as awful as everyone else here is saying.
Name:
Date: June 16, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

The worst support I’ve seen in many years of using hosting companies. Tickets often get ignored which is something I’ve never experienced before. Switched away to a better provider.
Name:
Date: June 10, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

That used to be amazing, but customer service is now crap. No more phone support. Chat support is not knowledgeable and if you open a ticket, it takes forever to be even acknowledged. Will be switching away from ASO. + PROS: SSD servers are fast. - CONS: Customer service is crap. No longer has phone support.
Name:
Date: May 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

Stay away. Their policies for billing are ridiculous and they are unwilling to work with a long and loyal customer such as myself. I have left their services and will not be returning.

Pros: Their services were good, cheap and simple to use.

Cons: After cancelling through their site, paypal subscriptions was still set to send the payment. ASmallorange would NOT give the money back. They received money for no services and refused to provide a refund. Because of this I recommend staying away from this company.

Name:
Date: May 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

crap support. no telephone. right now I have three open tickets, each several days old, and have had to migrate my business email off of ASO onto google due to SMTP server blockage and 18+ hour delays. will be taking my business elsewhere…

Pros: cheap, maybe the cheapest ISP around for a small website. ($35/year for the “tiny” plan)

Cons: crap support. no telephone. right now I have three open tickets, each several days old, and have had to migrate my business email off of ASO onto google due to SMTP server blockage and 18+ hour delays. will be taking my business elsewhere…

Name:
Date: May 5, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I had a billing ticket open. I got he reply only after a week. Also, the reps come on Live Chat only after 30 or 45 minutes. What is happening to ASO????

Pros: The plans are cheap

Cons: Support has been on a downhill.Hope they fix it soon

Name:
Date: April 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Don’t do it. Their customer service is terrible. I was billed for a product that I did not receive and, despite emailing several times, it took them a month to respond. Do not use this hosting company. Do not give them your money.
Name:
Date: April 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Was using this company for 5+ years but they just lost my business over renewal fees and very poor billing/customer service which resulted in my site being down (despite the fees being paid.)

I DO NOT recommend this company.

Pros: This was a most decent hosting company until the last few months; control panel is good, web host was stable, speed was good, rates fair.

Cons: NEVER HAD A PROBLEM until recently, in particular the billing department. I have been with “A Small Orange” for 5+ years, but recently, after hounding me FOR MONTHS to pay my renewal fees (the did not do this in the past), I paid the $65 fees for my web hosting and domain only to have BOTH cancelled and my website be down. Furthermore, upon requesting assistance for several days, I got ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE until I canceled the account.

I DO NOT recommend this company.

Name:
Date: March 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

We moved to A Small Orange from our previous host after doing extensive research. Even though ASO was a bit more expensive than some other hosts, we went with them as they had great reviews and promise a “Homegrown Website Hosting” service with great support.

Oh boy. This company, who is now a part of the huge EIG conglomerate, is a complete mess.

We’ve had numerous issues with them. Here are just a couple of them:

  • When we reported spam that we were getting from a 3rd party, they locked OUR account, without investigating who the abuser and who the victim was.

  • The downtime is extremely frequent, and happens weekly.

  • They will often block outgoing emails via SMTP, using MailChannels

  • They deleted a bunch of files on our hosting, without letting us know. This was apparently due to a false positive by their updated malware scanner. They did not contact us to let us know that they had updated the scanner, or that any files were deleted. When this was reported to them, they took TWO WEEKS to get back to us, despite numerous emails.

  • If you have issues with abuse or mail deliverability, live chat or regular support CAN NOT and WILL NOT help you. They will create a ticket and forward it to the abuse team, who does not work 247.

On top of all that, their tone and their approach is nonchalant and unapologetic. They really sound like they do not care about their customers, and it shows.

A Small Orange has been a huge disappointment, and hosting with them is simply not worth the hassle. We’ve had numerous hosts over the years, but A Small Orange takes the prize as one of the worst web hosts ever.

Avoid.

Pros: None

Cons: Awful customer service, technical issues

Name:
Date: February 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Stay away. Was with them for years, and they WERE great, but now they are the WORST. I repeat, don’t waste your time or money at ASO.

Pros: None, anymore.

Cons: Everything you can imagine.

Name:
Date: January 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Hi

to who is looking for a hosting or server, please do not use this provider (asmallorange.com). i have been using their service about 8-9 months. it was good for the first 2-3 months, after that everything get screwed up. it’s really terrible on their service including their support live chat.

support live chat cannot be used anymore until today. no contact number can be contacted. raised a couple of tickets but nobody reply the ticket. Asked for refund, nobody response.

it ’s a nightmare for everyone who is going to use their service. i just hope that i can claim back the money that they have charged to me.

Name:
Date: January 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

It just to be great but after it was bought by new owners everything is crap. Will me closing all my accounts and migrating to another hosting company,.
Name:
Date: January 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Used to LOVE them for their great customer support & recommended them to all my clients - NOW its HORRIBLE. Customer support STINKS. STAY AWAY. I will be shifting shortly and taking my clients with me.

Pros: Use to have great customer

Cons: Customer support STINKS.

Name:
Date: January 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Our site has been down without ANY explanation. Support is useless in explaining the situation and offering a remedy. Migrating our site ASAP. If your business runs off your site, don’t make the same mistake we made by signing up with ASO.

Pros: used to be good

Cons: literally became the worst host we’ve ever dealt with

Name:
Date: January 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am sorry to report that ASO is not providing to their customers what they sign up for. The service may be cheap but is totally unreliable. The customer service is non existent and in case anything goes bad you get locked out of the control panel which means that you can’t do anything on your own.

Just stay away from them!

Pros: None

Cons: No uptime, no transparency, no communication, no customer service

Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Really, really bad!!! My client’s site went down for days. Other times is was up and down, and there were times daily that it crawled to a stop. It is the worst hosting experience I have ever had, and I work with dozens of hosts.

Pros: NONE

Cons: EVERYTHING IS A TOTAL JOKE. THEY NEED TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS.

Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

We run a busy photography studio, and our site averages 300 unique visitors per day. We signed-up with A Small Orange hosting and their Small Business hosting plan ($400 USD/year) largely because we thought business accounts are treated better than their $2/month accounts. We also wanted to be hosted by a small company, as our experience with large hosting companies has been negative. Apparently, we were wrong on this assumption. We pay for site uptime monitoring, and receive an e-mail every two days that our site is down, usually for about an hour. Their support is also slow and e-mail only. When we initially signed up, they offered tech support by phone. Over the years, that option has disappeared. When our site was recently down for a number of hours consecutively, during our busiest season, all we could do is e-mail them and hope and pray. The final nail in the coffin was when they e-mailed all of their customers on Black Friday, about a ridiculous deal, where they offered 75% OFF on all hosting plans. Upon inquiring, we were told the deal is only valid for NEW customers. Who on Earth does this? Who e-mails a deal to current customers when it’s in fact only valid for new customers? After speaking to Anna J. in sales, they tried to get us to upgrade to a more expensive plan at a discounted rate. No thanks.
Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Quite possibly the worst hosting service on the internet today. I have used a variety of hosts, all the big names, and some smaller ones. NONE of the other hosting providers compare to the terrible service offered by ASO.

Not only is there ridiculously frequent downtime (bordering on once every 3 weeks at this point), it’s impossible to get ahold of anyone from their crew, and when you do they usually have no real answer. “Yes sir, this is unacceptable. We understand.” “We are doing our best, but we don’t have an ETA on when your site will be back up” “Yes, we understand that you want to switch hosting providers.” - I have never had a problem solved over chat or on the phone with one of their representatives, and I’ve called roughly 15 times over the course of the year.

How can you possibly charge any money for this service. It would be understandable if they offered FREE hosting, otherwise it’s unacceptable.

Pros: no pros

Cons: Name it, they probably do it terribly.

Name:
Date: December 28, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

I had always been an advocate for ASO, but I cannot anymore. After constant server outages and terrible response times from support staff I can only advise others to look elsewhere for their hosting needs. Yet another fantastic company that is being run in to the ground now by Endurance International Group (EIG)

Pros: Fast servers and a plethora of features

Cons: Nginx Caching (that they won’t turn off) and terrible support. No phone number to call and a constant wait on online chat. Server uptime is not as advertised. ASmallOrange is not the reliable hosting site it once was. I wouldn’t recommend them anymore.

Name:
Date: December 27, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

I have used asmallorange.com for my hosting for about 2 years now… in that time period they have managed to have 7 days that were over 12 hours of downtime. That is NOT acceptable for any business website, so unless you are hosting a blog or something that is not involving purchases, then you should expect ASO is going to cost you more than you might save from their deals. Yesterday was one of the biggest days of the year for my sales and this incompetent hosting company handed me 23 hours of downtime followed by 6 hours of uptime and now it’s down again… once again hurting my sales and reputation of my business. Furthermore during those 23 hours, I could not get ANY INFORMATION WHAT SO EVER about what was going on and when it would be resolved. The tech support people have no information for anyone, all they will do is create a ticket for you… but when you ask them ANY question they have NO ANSWERS. I asked a lot of questions and every single one was answered with “I’m sorry but I have no more information” - if you are running a business you would be a fool to use ASO to host it, take it from someone that’s lost at least $1000 in sales due to their complete incompetence and lack of concern for the businesses that rely on them.

Pros: They have some good deals, but it’s not worth it if you are running a business… the downtime will eat up all your savings and much more.

Cons: Friendly but completely incompetent staff, LOTS of downtime. Do not trust ASO for your business website.

Name:
Date: December 4, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

MAKE THAT MINUS A COUPLE OF STARTS.

WITHOUT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE,THE COMPANY IS USELESS AND CLUELESS.

Cons: This has got to be the WORST customer service EVER! No hope of every talking to a person. I simply needed to change my cc for automatic billing…..I could have done the paperwork for a mortgage in less time. The chat window rep DID NOT pay attention to my request. I had to remind him several times WHY I was calling.

I didn’t want to give my cc info on line. I sent an email last week saying I was replacing my cc and wanting to give them the info. No one responded.

They have NO phone support even for billing.

Yes there are many good things but customer service is the MOST important thing any company offers. The greatest product in the world is useless without REALLY QUINTESSENTIAL CUSTOMER SERVICE. ASO GETS A BIG FAT ‘F’ IN THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARMENT. RUN,RUN FAST TO ANOTHER HOSTING COMPANY

Name:
Date: October 17, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

This is by far the worst company I’ve partnered with ever. SIx days of constant downtime and yet not a single reply either on my ticket, or on my tweets. It is like begging for clients to go away. They have live chat, support via twitter, support via facebook, ticket system and yet, the do not answer during crisis to any of these media. Totally frustrating.
One should avoid at any cost if one has even the slightest expectation of building a stable website. Their support is very polite when they are about to tell you that your website is down, but they never give you a reason and are very slow at troubleshooting. Again, they managed in less than a year to be a shadow of what they wanted to be. Such a pity.

Pros: Quite cheap ( You get what you pay for )

Cons: Frequent downtime Awful support

Name:
Date: October 11, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 7.00

There has been something going on recently. I’ve been with them for almost a year, and recently I’ve had several:

“Forbidden

You don’t have permission to access / on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.”

Apparently it’s about some .htaccess file error having many deny rules due to the Wordfence plugin. It’s all Greek to me … just thought I’d mention it.

Support can take from a few minutes up to 10 hours.

They are cheap ($50/yr), so hopefully I’ll be convinced to stay on another year.

Name:
Date: September 7, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Worst ever. Please don’t put your website on this server if you want people to be able to access it.

Pros: NONE.

Cons: Horrible website hosting server!!! Makes a site completely inaccessible, and just slaps an error page in your face when you try to access a site that’s being hosted by them. Down times happen suddenly and for ridiculously long amounts of time. I can no longer access a site after it switched to this service. I’m extremely upset by this.

Name:
Date: May 14, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

It always surprises me that not more people know about ASO. I guess they don’t spend a lot of money on web or TV ads. I have been a customer of theirs for more than 5 years. My experience with them has been awesome. There are probably cheaper hosting services out there. However, given their incredible customer service, I really don’t think it’s worth it. They give you an immediate response any time, and then they get the problem fixed. They stay with it until it has been completely taken care of.

Anytime anyone asks, I always recommend them.

Pros: Excellent customer service

Cons: Really, I can’t think of any.

Name:
Date: May 3, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

One of the main things that really stands out to me when it comes to A Small Orange is the company’s incredible customer service. They always exceed my expectations. I have emailed their ASO support staff many times: when my server loaded slowly, to switch domains, when my site got a virus. Each time, the response from them was lightning-fast, and they told me how my issue could be fixed and offered to do it for me.

Pros: Incredible 247 customer service

Cons: None

Name:
Date: April 20, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Awesome host! Very helpful support, and speed is pretty decent with the SSD’s. Would definitely recommend.
Name:
Date: December 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

ASO has had great up-time for me. I really never have to worry about my host being down or extended maintenance. This has made it really easy to manage my business in a short amount of time instead of worrying about it constantly. This has got to be one of my many favorite things about this company.

I know that this is a bigger company, but when I deal with them I feel like I’m dealing with a local business. Their customer service never acts like they don’t have time for my questions. Instead I feel like I get all the help I need and then some. Some of the representatives will even make jokes with you making me feel like I’m talking to a friend instead of technical support.

Speaking of support, trying to contact them gets you results within literal minutes. I have traveled a lot all over the world so I contact them at weird times. I have never had to wait more than a few minutes for someone to help me with my problems. I think that is one of the things that makes me really stay with them.

Unlike some other companies they don’t expect me to know everything when dealing with the interface. If I need to get something set up as far as hosting they are always willing to answer my questions. This is really helpful when I know I need to do something but I’m not quite sure how to go about making it happen. I never end up feeling like an idiot when trying to do things I need.

Overall A Small Orange is the best hosting solution I have been able to find for my business. They work well with being a traveler and understand the importance of prompt service. They put a lot of care into their products and this makes it easy to work with them. Overall they are just a great hosting company.

Name:
Date: December 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

For me the biggest reasons to stay with them is their amazing customer service. No matter how I try and contact them I get really prompt responses. I’ve had other hosting companies take days to get back to me and that was really frustrating.

This speed of response seems to be really standard with this company too. When I decided to activate my hosting with them I think it took 20 minutes to have everything set-up and ready to go. Every time I need to set up something new it goes really fast as well. I think I have a bigger web presence because they make it so easy.

As far as price goes I feel like they could be a little cheaper per month but I also feel what I pay is fair. I don’t think they would be able to provide the service they do if they were cheaper. They are right on the edge of budget hosting which means I can still afford them as a poor college student. On the other hand I feel really professional when I deal with them.

As far as the actual hosting goes I have no complaints. I have barely any downtime so I feel like I’m getting what I pay for whenever I look at my site. The servers seem to be really fast so I never get complaints about things loading which can be really nice. All together I don’t think there is anything I would change with the hosting itself.

A Small Orange is the best hosting company I have tried. From personal sites to the start of business products I have found them to be really helpful. No matter the expertise level I have they are always there to help. They are, at their core, great hosting with a commitment to service.

Name:
Date: September 26, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I seriously love A Small Orange. I switched from GoDaddy back in January because their pricing was deceptive with some hidden costs which made me a little annoyed. I got my website setup in minutes, and I was very surprised how fast the hosting was compared to other hosts I have used (GoDaddy, Hostgator, Liquidweb and Site5). It wasn’t an hour before my new site was all online, and my dealings with support were incredible. Some of the best support I have experienced out of all the hosting companies I have been with. The service is a little more expensive than the other hosts I have used, but despite that I am very happy with them.
Name:
Date: September 26, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

They are the best host I have ever been with. I moved upwards of 15 domains to them because their service and support is fast and great. If I have ever had an issue the answers are very quickly given. If you are not with A Small Orange you should seriously consider moving to them.
Name:
Date: September 21, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

The SSD hosting may cost a little more than other hosts, but hell it is definitely worth it. They by far the best host I have ever had, and their support is second to none. Some hosts will charge a fortune to install a third party SSL, but A Small Orange quite happily installed one I purchased from Namecheap. They have a customer for life.
Name:
Date: August 9, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

Gotta love calling tech support the minute they open and hearing ‘All of our agents are currently assisting other callers’, then sitting on hold for a half hour. They’re a good host, but they’re completely incorrigible in their negative ways.

Had to contact live chat to get their phone number.

Name:
Date: July 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Easily the best host I have had the pleasure of being with. I have a small blog that I work on in my spare time, and regularly hop on to live support to ask stupid questions. Without fail they have always helped point me in the right direction even if it ends up not being a hosting issue. I am very happy with the speeds at A Small Orange, and have never really had a problem with downtime (once or twice in the last 6 months) and even when there has been a problem they have kept me up to date with what is happening. Their twitter account is very active so you can always reach out to them on there which is great. I will definitely not be moving away from A Small Orange any time soon!
Name:
Date: May 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

SSD or HD should not impact bandwidth. I can live with the small storage space allotted, but the limited bandwidth is what might keep me from using them.
Name:
Date: May 14, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Another very happy ASO customer here, I have always had tip top support from their online chat staff. In the one scenario I had in 2 years with them that could not be sorted out right away by the initial chat operator, they followed through and I got the promised contact email from the right person in the right department. And all this well within the time frame I was promised!

I am in the IT industry professionally, so I know there are some ‘cheaper’ places. But really, by the time you know and understand the tradeoffs you make for those ‘cheaper’ places, you realise the ASO premium is not much of a premium at all. For me, I had the chance to save about $5 bucks a month. For headache free support when/if I have a problem, more than happy to shell out that little bit extra.

If you keep your eyes open and prepay for a year, you can get some great discounts. This year, I prepaid for the year, got a free domain, and 50% off the whole invoice (which was already 12 months for the price of 10).

No affiliate links, no coupon codes here, just 100% satisfied customer.

PS. Strongly considering hosting my new startup with ASO on one of their larger VPS plans. I get it FULLY MANAGED as part of the deal! Search around and see what that can cost you in the marketplace =)

Name:
Date: May 8, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

My only comment is that I have one domain hosted on asmallorange and these folks are aces. If you are creating a commercial site you can find great deals on price all over the web.

But when it comes to service my experience is that so-called “24-7 support” often means “you can send us emails” any time day or night and we’ll respond as quickly as we can, but it could take 12 to 24 hours. That is simply not good enough if you have a real problem.

It is in the area of support that asmallorange shines. They respond to many support issues with online chat. I had an issue at 7pm on a Sunday evening and after waiting about ten minutes online someone came on the chat and started working with me to solve the issue. Throughout the short wait the message int he chat window kept me appraised of the declining wait-time.

When I set up my hosting I was able to speak to someone here in the states LIVE who walked me through the solution.

This means more to me than a lot of the bells and whistles many hosts celebrate. When I need help I need to know someone is there now and not tomorrow or the next day. I don’t think you can go wrong with a smallorange.

BTW I don’t work for or know anyone with this company and I am not part of any affiliate program they may have. I am just a happy customer.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.70

Support: 1.00

Speed: 6.50

Features: 4.00

Uptime: 5.00

Value: 7.00

Name:
Date: April 14, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

I have a reseller account for shared hosting, as well as a medium size VPS with ASO. I’ve been a loyal customer for five years. Like others here, I rate their customer support as bottom of the barrel these days. Everything takes a long time, if you are lucky and get help at all. Zero respect for their customers, based on their actions.
Name:
Date: March 17, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

ASO was an excellent support and host years back. This past year and a half has been a nightmare, however. Support is absolutely pointless and solely in place to delay the customer or “Hold them off”. Tickets take days, sometimes weeks to answer. Great product and great pricing with horrible support (beyond horrible: unethical almost). Avoid like the plague.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 13 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 2.51

Support: 2.31

Speed: 2.92

Features: 3.15

Uptime: 1.77

Value: 2.38

Name:
Date: January 10, 2017
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

@asmallorange Ticket #ZUG-825-55952 pending from past 12 days, no response. Pathetic Service #WorstHosting Once, they get payment they simple forget customers. Whenever i raise a ticket they never respond, I have to tweet, write review, post on different forums in order to get reply of ticket. Never, get trapped by asmallorgange
Name:
Date: September 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

A Small Orange used to be good until they were bought out. The service is horrible and the uptime is terrible. My site is completely down for the second time this month due to them having problems handling their VPS’s. The first time it was a short blip, maybe the site was down for an hour. This is the second time and my site has been down for over 24 hours now. I have no timeline on when the issue will be fixed. I should have switched LONG, LONG, before I let it get to this point, but I didn’t. This is THE WORST hosting provider that I’ve ever had to work with. I wouldn’t host my website here even it was free. The money I would lose due to downtime would be much more expensive than any other provider in the world. + PROS: None anymore - CONS: - Bad Uptime - Bad Customer Support - No urgency level on ticketing system
Name:
Date: August 2, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

First attempt at a VPS. Never got set up because it never left pending status. Bluehost had me up and running in a couple of hours. + PROS: None, VPS never left pending status. - CONS: VPS Order said 24 hours, a week later still in pending. Opened support ticket, no response a week later. Online chat sat in open window that said 5 minutes, then any minute and an hour later, gave up because no response. Signed up with bluehost, had VPS ready to go within a couple of hours.
Name:
Date: February 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

After EIG purchase, ASO has become one of the worst webhost I have ever used.

Pros: Decent feature-set. If it worked…

Cons: We purchased a medium sized VPS. Their constant excuse for crashes was, “You are using too much memory.” Alright, I can accept that, so I would upgrade, same deal. I eventually tired of long support waits, and non-stop downtime. I switched to another host with the EXACT same specs, we never have down-time. Let me clarify. We switched to another host with exactly the same specs purchased as ASO, and we run twice as many sites now with no down time. ASO are bullshitters of the highest degree. Thank EIG. Any web-host they buy is destroyed within a year.

Name:
Date: January 19, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I came on board to ASO 2 years ago. Their service and support rocked and I was totally pleased. Earlier this year, things started slowing down. Their support began to dwindle. I just noticed that towards the end of the year, even their SUPPORT Phone Number had been taken off the site.

Live chat is now a joke, you need to fill out a form when you have an issue with their service. Which is fine if they’re going to answer the flippin’ ticket. Instead, the copy and paste their responses. I had a request about my server different than what is was about when it was down, they simply copy and pasted a response to my ticket and it had nothing to do with the issue at hand.

I also noticed that my server had intermittent down time. I would receive an email from site monitor ( pingdom.com ) that I had down time. With this year, I had 48 times that it showed me that I had down time. Most were a few minutes, some were about an hour and it wasn’t until December 2015.. nearly a week straight… twice. The beginning week and the last week….

They’re a waste of your money… STAY AWAY.

If you don’t mind wasting money, by all means, join their company.

A Small Orange is there too… Sad Company to host with… STAY AWAY!

I don’t know how many times I can say this…. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Poor Service Support No Phone Support SLOW VPS Slow Ticket Response times DOWN SERVERS— TOO MUCH!

Name:
Date: January 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I had a similar issue to a few of the other posters. I did my homework prior to going with ASO comparing them to other hosting providers. I went out of my way to set up an account with them because of their customer service. When I set up my account (over a year ago) the service was amazing and trouble shooting issues was also extremely easy with their system. I am not familiar with running a VPS so their help was very appreciated.

Now, their chat system is very laggy, if you time out, it will close the chat all together and you’re waiting in queue again for 3-20min. The support staff is very rude, to the point and act as if they’re incapable of answering anything or assisting with small issues. DNS issues being rerouted to a ticket to support? You’re telling me that a support tech can’t check settings during a chat?

They’re very hands off now and the entire experience is starting to feel a lot like it was with Fatcow. Maybe the experience is different for those who pay the extra $15 a month for “priority” support.

In regards to the downtime, 7-11 days is a long time for a server to be down. Especially for a design agency that is a reseller for their service. In that time frame we had to deal with many upset clients about their sites/email being down in addition to our own email being down.

I wanted some sort of credit for that time we were down. Couldn’t find a number anywhere. Everything leads to their ticketing system. The ticket was in for nearly 2 weeks before anyone answered it and they said “You’re service has been up for the past 7 days. If you’re still having issues please advice.” It didn’t address my concerns or acknowledge the issue was entirely on them and didn’t make any attempt to smooth the inconvenience over.

I am extremely disappointed with ASO right now and there’s really no way to tell them that. Except to put tickets in that they get around to answering in two weeks.

Pros: Great Value Easy to set up and manage. CPanels Plays nice with Wordpress

Cons: Uptime Support Staff is Rude Timely Support Ticket System is slow

Name:
Date: January 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I moved from Arvixe to Site5 about 5-6 months ago since Arvixe recently bit the dust and converted into an absolutely horrible hosting service.

Sadly, I’ve come to find out that the company that bought Arvixe, EIG, has also bought Site5 and it has fallen to the same fate.

In the past 2 weeks, I’ve experienced several hours of downtime daily with my website and associated e-mail address, missing out on important business e-mails and potentially losing customers trying to access my site.

Their support has been slow and in the end, absolutely useless.

I would do yourself a favor and check out EIG’s site and make sure to avoid any brand that they own. Every host they buy they turn to crap.

www.endurance.com/our-company/our-brands

www.digitalfaq.com/editorials/websites-blogs/hostgator-alternatives-eig-pt1.htm

Name:
Date: January 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I came on board to ASO 2 years ago. Their service and support rocked and I was totally pleased. Earlier this year, things started slowing down. Their support began to dwindle. I just noticed that towards the end of the year, even their SUPPORT Phone Number had been taken off the site.

Live chat is now a joke, you need to fill out a form when you have an issue with their service. Which is fine if they’re going to answer the flippin’ ticket. Instead, the copy and paste their responses. I had a request about my server different than what is was about when it was down, they simply copy and pasted a response to my ticket and it had nothing to do with the issue at hand.

I also noticed that my server had intermittent down time. I would receive an email from site monitor ( pingdom.com ) that I had down time. With this year, I had 48 times that it showed me that I had down time. Most were a few minutes, some were about an hour and it wasn’t until December 2015.. nearly a week straight… twice. The beginning week and the last week…

They’re a waste of your money… STAY AWAY.

If you don’t mind wasting money, by all means, join their company.

In a post earlier by JACK, he wrote about the company being purchased by: EIG…

Here’s their website with their company names: www.endurance.com/our-company/our-brands

A Small Orange is there too… Sad Company to host with… STAY AWAY!

I don’t know how many times I can say this…. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Poor Service Support No Phone Support SLOW VPS Slow Ticket Response times DOWN SERVERS— TOO MUCH!

Name:
Date: January 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

They have had multiple VPS outages, leaving several of my business clients without a website for nearly 14 days now!!! Run!!!!

Pros: None worth mentioning anymore.

Cons: Massive VPS outages. Equipment failure. Slow tech support.

Name:
Date: January 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Their VPS is not reliable. Very poor servers and experience over the past year with my sites going down every two weeks at best and every day at the worst.

Pros: They have 24 hour live support chat. They can help with most things.

Cons: I have had a VPS plan for about two years. The first year was fine but the last year I have had so many issues with my servers going down. I wouldn’t wish this on any of you. If you like having a website that is online then I don’t recommend using their VPS plan. At the same time, I have had a shared hosting plan with them and it hasn’t gone down.

Name:
Date: December 28, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Up until recently, ASO was my go to web hosting company. It wasn’t the pricing, features or speed (which were all good) but the customer service that was simply exceptional.

That customer service has been harder and harder to come by in the last few months. Not sure if they’ve been sold or are outsourcing their lower tier servers but the support I loved has waned in 2015.

Pros: Exceptional customer service

Decent VPS pricing and options

Branding is on point

Cons: Waning support

Less than 95% uptime in 2015 (a far cry from the 99.99% they purport)

They’ve changed their chat and support interface which makes it next to impossible to talk to someone.

Name:
Date: August 11, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Avoid - constant maintenance for hours at a time.

Pros: Our site time improved vs media temple.

Cons: Constant downtime and system maintenance. Site down for hours twice this month for “maintenance”. Amateur.
If you want your site to actually be online consistently go somewhere else. Their “99.9%” uptime guarantee only applies to cheap accounts. We’ve consistently been way below that and they don’t ever do anything about it.

Name:
Date: July 2, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Overall PRetty Good.

Pros: I’ll start with the positive because there’s a lot to like about A Small Orange. The customer service is generally excellent. Also, my website sometimes has huge spikes in traffic, and ASO has been able to handle those spikes while other hosts have failed. For VPS plans, ASO expects you’ll have a tech background, but if you run into some issues with migration as I did, the customer service team will quickly help you resolve those issues.

Cons: Now for the negative. A Small Orange advertises a 99.9 percent uptime guarantee, but it should be noted that this only applies to shared hosting plans. ASO wants you to believe that you’ll have even better uptime with VPS, but that has not been my experience. I have had several outages (from one to four hours) in recent months, and when I contacted customer support, they told me VPS plans are excluded from their uptime guarantee. If there is an outage, VPS customers are last in line to have service restored. ASO’s response was that I could pay an extra $25 to $100 per month for a faster response to outages. I found that highly disappointing.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.70

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 4.00

Uptime: 1.50

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: September 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

This used to be a great host, one I was very happy with. In the last 6 months they went down the drain. Truly awful. Their support is a joke. I have cancelled my reseller accounts and will move elsewhere very soon. These people are DESPICABLE. Fraudsters. Shame on them
Name:
Date: February 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I work at the web development company and has recommended Small Orange to my clients in the past. I probably brought 200+ clients over to ASO singlehandedly. I have now moved close to half of my clients away from them and planning to do the same with others.

Their customer support used to be top notch. It was near instant on the live chat, support staff was knowledgeable and helpful and the uptime was great. None of this can be applied to them now.

Chat support doesn’t want to do anything - they just relay information to the “techs” and create tickets for you. I have now being sitting at “We’ll be right with you” window for 1hour+. My sites are down all the time for 15minutes+ and no responses whatsoever except for the standard “we’re working on it”.

Here is an example of what I had to wait for days and something other companies give you ability to do yourself in a matter of few minutes - I could not register my nameservers. There was no option on the website and chat support said that I’d have to create a ticket. 5 Days later(and few angry comments of mine later) I finally received a response from them saying that they did it. 5 days when I should have been able to do it instantly! Latest news is that they charge extra for “premium” customer support that allows you to skip the queue. Considering that I haven’t being able to get to their support in weeks, it is either pay and get smth or don’t pay and don’t get anything.

In short, they are not what they used to be and seem to be going downhill only from here. Stay away!

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.00

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: March 19, 2017
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

My dedicated server had been unavailable for the last 5 days. My support tickets have been closed without an answer. They list the issue as resolved on their network status page which is a lie. I am not the only one affected by this issue. Stay as far away as you can from this so called host. Their live chat support person provides the same copy amd paste answers. Stay away!!!
Table of Contents