A Small Orange Reviews

Rated 3.41 / 10 by 77 Users

Visit A Small Orange
A Small Orange Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 3.41

Support: 2.81

Speed: 3.74

Features: 3.90

Uptime: 3.27

Value: 3.34

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“Like so many other web hosting providers purchased by EIG, a great web host has been turned mediocre, or at least this was the case throughout 2016 & 2017.

After their sister brand was purchased by EIG in 2015, everything went wrong for EIG and their hosting brands. See the Arvixe migration debacle for details. Whilst things are improving, many people now seek to avoid any EIG-owned brands. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from A Small Orange:

  • 15% Off all Shared Hosting Plans
  • 15% Off all VPS Hosting Plans
  • 15% Off Reseller Hosting
A Small Orange Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

Users Reviews (Rated 3.41 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 59 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 3.66

Support: 3.07

Speed: 3.97

Features: 4.10

Uptime: 3.64

Value: 3.54

Name:
Date: November 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: Custom coded

User Rating: 1.20

Run! Run with your money, or they will.

I asked them for a dedicated IP and asked can I have a separate domain on a dedicated IP within the same cpanel account. A support person over the chat said that I can. I thought, well, great, no need for another account. I buy the IP.

A ticket was opened for this IP so billing could follow up and all.

Then another guy comes to reply to the ticket saying I actually do need a 2nd cpanel account for it. Oh, well…

I go and buy a 2nd account.

Then go back to the ticket and tell them I bought it and that they should now assign the IP to that 2nd account.

A third guy comes to reply to the ticket and tells me they actually cannot apply the IP to that 2nd account because they run some OS there that doesn’t support that…. Are you f***** kidding me?!

I had it. I asked for a refund for both IP and the new account that I pad an annual price for.

They refunded the IP. And here comes the crown jewel…

They didn’t want to refund the new hosting account because per their terms any non-first time account is not eligible for a refund.

I told them they told me to get a 2nd account in order for the dedicated IP to work with a separate domain. Can you believe that?! They ask you to buy it, they mess up and will not refund it because they will stick to their terms like it’s your fault?! INCREDIBLE!

Well, actually, now that I read all the bad reviews that piled up for them through the years I certainly can believe what just happened to me. Fits in just fine.

STAY AWAY, FOLKS!

Name:
Date: June 24, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am currently furious. My account was set to expire at the end of an annual billing cycle, and I wrote several e mails that I wanted a link to continue service. I was fully cancelled anyway, THEN they returned my e mail, asking if I’d like to set up a new account. I set up a new account, which still didn’t work, as I was not told that I needed to transfer certain files. no help. No phone contact, no computer support that’s worthwhile, also curt, unfriendly, and you have to pry answers out of them.
Name:
Date: May 1, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Oh how the mighty have fallen. ASO used to be a great (one of the best!) choices for low cost shared hosting, but since the EIG buyout, it has continually slid downhill. Avoid at all costs.
Name:
Date: April 21, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Worst Hosting Company! -No Customer support…..No Customer Support….. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT……!!!! -Tech Support on Live Chat are drones without the ability to help in any way, completely useless. -My problem was that my email stopped working. Their answer was to have a Senior Tech Email me…. I repeated, I believe about 6 times, that my email was not working so emailing me would not work and each time they would tell me that a Senior Tech would get back to me via Email. -NO PHONE SUPPORT!!!!!

So I moved my site to a new host. On the phone with the New Host they were able to resolve the issue with the email, which apparently migrated with the Cpanel BU, in about 5 minutes.

If you do cancel, which you should run to do, make sure you replace your credit card info with a gift card info, perhaps one that has a $1 on it. That way if they try to bill you they can’t. There is no way to delete your Credit Card info. Also make sure to tell them to DELETE ALL Billing and Credit Card Info.

My advise is to stay as far away from this company as possible. And for anyone who has had horrible dealings with them report them to the Better Business Bureau. These guys should not be in business.

This company doesn’t even deserve a 1, their’s is a total Zero for ALL services. And NEVER should be a choice in the rating.

Name:
Date: April 12, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

ASO worked well for about a year and then they went downhill fast. This year, my service was interrupted 4 times - once for 24 hours. Support was not existent - “our technicians are aware of the problem and working on it” “no, we don’t know when it will be fixed”. There’s no possible way they have an up time of 99.9% - and their guarantee is nonsense.
Name:
Date: April 7, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I used to love ASmallOrange. They were one of the best hosts out there for customer service. As of late, they are total crap. Their hosting is spotty. Their help is terrible. Their live chat is worthless. Nobody knows anything. I really would steer clear of this terrible company. It’s too bad because they truly were wonderful at one time.
Name:
Date: March 22, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Read all the reviews of A Small Orange before you decide to pay for their services! Do you see a common theme?

ASO is a company that does NOT put any priority into providing support or service to their customers. The ONLY way to contact them is via their Live Chat or submit a ticket. If you’re new to this, let this be a RED FLAG. If a company doesn’t want to talk to you, then they really don’t care. I even had one chat specialist rudely end a chat while I was in the middle of pleading with him to help me resolve an issue. They will also promise things in a chat and then never follow through. Also beware, they will try to charge renewal fees (without notification) 15 day prior to the date they say they are due.

I have to echo the sentiments of so many others. I regret ever doing business with A Small Orange and recommend that everyone STAY AWAY from this company.
(By the way, Host Gator, iPage, BlueHost, SiteBuilder.com, and others are all owned by the same company as A Small Orange. I don’t know if all of them operate in the same manner, but be aware before doing business with any EIG company.)

Name:
Date: March 20, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I’ve been with ASO for 10 years. Until the last couple of years it had generally been excellent. Features and price were good, customer service and issue resolution were excellent. From the point they withdrew the ability to set a priority on a support ticket things got difficult. Then chat filled that void with urgent matters being actioned quickly. But then over the last two years, more outages, slow response, slow patching and updates. In the last six months, support is ridiculously slow.

For the last three weeks on shared hosting it’s not been possible to resolve “localhost” - pretty fundamental. They unlinked etc hosts from the bind-mount so there is effectively no host file within a user’s account, which causes all kinds of problems with scripts, cron jobs, mysql, etc. Chat operators just keep saying “we apologise” and “it will be fixed soon”. The senior technicians are yet to respond to the support ticket. This would take them 30 seconds to fix.

ASO is nothing like the company it used to be. Time to move to a new provider.

Name:
Date: February 3, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

If you are thinking of writing a blog, I recommend ignoring all of the promotions sent to you by A Small Orange.

Promotions from this company imply that payment to them is necessary to register the domain needed to write a blog. It is not necessary to register a domain with A Small Orange to write a new blog.

My recent experience with A Small Orange has been filled with exasperating frustration. This company automatically charged my bank account to renew my domain registration without advising me until the transaction had be processed and posted to my account. When I cancelled the domain registration account within the required time period, the company refused to refund the renewal charge.

The Terms of Service posted to the A Small Orange web site state that the company will bill their renewal fee, “up to 15 days prior to your renewal date.” The invoice billing my renewal is dated 20 days prior to my renewal date.

The Terms of Service state that the domain registration account must be cancelled, “at least 48 hours prior to the renewal date.” It states that if the customer does not cancel during this time period, the customer will be billed for the renewal and is responsible to pay the renewal charge. I cancelled my account 3 days prior to the renewal date.

The Terms of Service require the customer to contact its billing department by email if there is an error made by A Small Orange in their billing. When I attempted to email the billing department, my message received only an automatic generic message directing me to the company’s web pages for customer support and the chat page. The two days I attempted to connect to these web pages they were not functioning.

The $65.00 renewal fee taken from my bank account pays A Small Orange, a year in advance, for use of a domain that is cancelled and not in use. The $65.00 collected by the company amounts to a donation from a customer who will receive no service in return for the money paid.

When I read through the Terms of Service for all of the services offered by A Small Orange the general message becomes clear. The proprietors of the company, Garret Noling and Mohsin Kamal, designed and operate A Small Orange so that it will exploit a popular social trend, mislead and confuse the prospective customer, promote a service fee as necessary when it is not, collect as much money as possible, and perform absolutely no customer support for domain registration customers.

The proprietors of the web site even boldly and arrogantly state in the last sentence of paragraph 6.7 of their Terms of Service, “ In addition, A Small Orange reserves the right to refuse a refund at any time for any or no reason.”

You can register a domain with other web hosting services such as Wordpress.com for a much lower fee. You can write a blog without the frustration of associating with companies like A Small Orange.

Name:
Date: January 26, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Completely worthless company, stay very far away from this company of amateurs and charlatans (kindest way I can put it).

I have had hosting accounts with many different companies, some good and some bad. These guys are in a league of their own when it comes to terrible hosting services. For the purpose of this review and brevity I will focus on my main two problem areas.

Support - does not exist. Almost convinced that their support team are bots. You will receive the exact same canned response over and over again. Literally the exact same words be it email or chat message. I received the exact same email three times in a row in response to my responses. Then same thing via chat. If they are not bots, then it’s just people copy and pasting canned messages, what’s the point.

Uptime. This is a real problem area, particularly how they handle this issue. Their servers went down, my site was offline and it wasn’t until a few days later when a client asked me about an unanswered email that I realized it was down. DAYS, not minutes or hours, DAYS. No one contacted me or sent an email to my alternate email address informing me of the issue. Every provider I have ever had, has had the courtesy and professionalism to give me a heads up when it’s going to take a few hours to resolve a more challenging issue. Not these guys. When I contact their support department, they mentioned they were working on it and would get back to me. Never got back to me (obviously not surprising), a week later (A WEEK for god’s sake) server and site were still down. At which point I migrated my site to another service after losing a decent amount of business and revenue.

In sum, just avoid this company at all cost, not worth any savings you may get. You’re better off paying a couple bucks more and going with a real company.

Name:
Date: January 17, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

The mark of a good hosting company is not necessarily its size, but the quality of its services and customer support. A small orange horribly falls short of the mark in these two critical areas. My site was down every other week costing me a great deal of business and hurting my reputation. Customer support which I later learned was outsourced to India is shameful. I had become accustomed to waiting 10-15 minutes between responses only to be asked to elaborate my query. My three years with ASO is an experience I want to quickly forget. If you care about your business stay away from this hosting company.
Name:
Date: December 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I would never recommend ASOJ to friends, family or anyone I know. The reason is quite simple: after years of being a faithful customer, they took my entire website down, my livelihood, without warning on Christmas Day because my site reached a bandwidth quota. I didn’t get the notification until I had over 100 customer complaints about my website being down until the next Monday. I had to give out tons of refunds. Considering legal action against ASOJ…DO NOT use this host!!
Name:
Date: November 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

WARNING!!!!

ASO is a horrible company. They took my site down for not renewing the URL/domain name, but I paid for the URL/domain name and ASO applied the payment to a different URL – they then refused to rectify their mistake. It’s not the money that is the issue here ($22), it’s the fact that I paid the bill on time and they screwed it up and then refused to even acknowledge that they made a mistake.

Contacted their live chat on three different occasions and was told three times “it sucks to be you”…

Don’t use this company, you’ll regret it. They basically are con-artists, the only reason they put all the crap on their site about their “great” customer service is to con you into buying their services. Once they’ve got your money, you can go and F*@& yourself as far as they are concerned.

Seriously, I’m so upset right now, I’ve copied the live chat conversation and I’m posting it to my Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest accounts etc. so I can let everyone I know what a POS company ASO / EIG is.

I’ve spent over eight months perfecting the CSS on my wordpress site to get it perfect, as soon as these creeps figure out that you’ve put some time and effort into your site they start thinking “now we’ve got ’em where we want ’em” and they start playing their BS games.

Stay away from ASO or any other brand owned by EIG (Endurance Investment Group).

Name:
Date: October 21, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I’ve parked about 10 or 11 domains at ASO over the past 4 years and have never had a bad experience. Support has been good the few times I’ve needed it. For the most part I’m running WP based sites and my hosting package has no problem running multiple installations of WP simultaneously. Not sure how others are using it, but it works great for me! + PROS: Very little downtime, handles multiple installations of wordpress, and speeds fast enough for me. - CONS: Invoicing has always been confusing to me. I’m not sure why as it should be straight forward, but I just can’t follow what’s happening when invoices arrive.
Name:
Date: September 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

So I started using this service because it was affordable. But recently I had to cancel my account because I couldnt afford to keep it running. Unknown to me. They still billed me the full amount for a service that I had cancelled. After multiple emails and complaints about getting a refund they have still not issued my refund. The customer service is really bad and if you bring up issues like mine they will stop responding to you. Don’t waste your time and money on this company because you’ll either end up disappointed or your money stolen.
Name:
Date: September 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

This is absolutely the worst company in existence, not just as a web host. Charlatans, scoundrals, they need to be crucified or hung. Imagine the shit one has to go through to say this shit. + PROS: Doesnt even deserve a pros section - CONS: Does not fit into box
Name:
Date: September 9, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

They are Thieves, they can use your credit card when they want and add you service you never accept. TAKE CARE OF THEM + PROS: Affordable - CONS: Terrible Support Slow servers
Name:
Date: August 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

THESE GUYS ARE THE WORST. THEY LIE, THEY ARE THIEVES, THEY ARE 34.5% UPTIME AND THEY ARE THE WORST IN THE MARKET. NO IPHONE LIVE CHAT ONLY STUCK TO A COMPUTER.
Name:
Date: August 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

4th day since ordering hosting and domain, still no Welcome email, nor response to polite note 2 days later. They DID manage to send several ‘upsell’ efforts, which we won’t be availing ourselves of. Considering decent price ($150 for 3 yrs incl 1 yr of free domain reg), have to give two thumbs down, and recommend that webmasters look elsewhere. Very rude not to respond to email several days. A Small Orange is small, indeed, quality-wise + PROS: decent price ($150 for 3 yrs, incl 1 yr free domain) - CONS: 4th day, still awaiting Welcome email No response to courteous email, 2 days + 2 days Quite rude not to respond
Name:
Date: July 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

I cancelled my website due to their poor ticket support. I contacted them back a month later to ask them if they are willing to work with me and restore my account, they wanted a 150.00 fee for restoration even though it was their fault that they haven’t responded to 3 of my tickets. + PROS: Good price - CONS: horrible support and uncare for their customers

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.70

Support: 1.00

Speed: 6.50

Features: 4.00

Uptime: 5.00

Value: 7.00

Name:
Date: April 14, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

I have a reseller account for shared hosting, as well as a medium size VPS with ASO. I’ve been a loyal customer for five years. Like others here, I rate their customer support as bottom of the barrel these days. Everything takes a long time, if you are lucky and get help at all. Zero respect for their customers, based on their actions.
Name:
Date: March 17, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

ASO was an excellent support and host years back. This past year and a half has been a nightmare, however. Support is absolutely pointless and solely in place to delay the customer or “Hold them off”. Tickets take days, sometimes weeks to answer. Great product and great pricing with horrible support (beyond horrible: unethical almost). Avoid like the plague.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 13 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 2.51

Support: 2.31

Speed: 2.92

Features: 3.15

Uptime: 1.77

Value: 2.38

Name:
Date: January 10, 2017
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

@asmallorange Ticket #ZUG-825-55952 pending from past 12 days, no response. Pathetic Service #WorstHosting Once, they get payment they simple forget customers. Whenever i raise a ticket they never respond, I have to tweet, write review, post on different forums in order to get reply of ticket. Never, get trapped by asmallorgange
Name:
Date: September 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

A Small Orange used to be good until they were bought out. The service is horrible and the uptime is terrible. My site is completely down for the second time this month due to them having problems handling their VPS’s. The first time it was a short blip, maybe the site was down for an hour. This is the second time and my site has been down for over 24 hours now. I have no timeline on when the issue will be fixed. I should have switched LONG, LONG, before I let it get to this point, but I didn’t. This is THE WORST hosting provider that I’ve ever had to work with. I wouldn’t host my website here even it was free. The money I would lose due to downtime would be much more expensive than any other provider in the world. + PROS: None anymore - CONS: - Bad Uptime - Bad Customer Support - No urgency level on ticketing system
Name:
Date: August 2, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

First attempt at a VPS. Never got set up because it never left pending status. Bluehost had me up and running in a couple of hours. + PROS: None, VPS never left pending status. - CONS: VPS Order said 24 hours, a week later still in pending. Opened support ticket, no response a week later. Online chat sat in open window that said 5 minutes, then any minute and an hour later, gave up because no response. Signed up with bluehost, had VPS ready to go within a couple of hours.
Name:
Date: February 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

After EIG purchase, ASO has become one of the worst webhost I have ever used.

Pros: Decent feature-set. If it worked…

Cons: We purchased a medium sized VPS. Their constant excuse for crashes was, “You are using too much memory.” Alright, I can accept that, so I would upgrade, same deal. I eventually tired of long support waits, and non-stop downtime. I switched to another host with the EXACT same specs, we never have down-time. Let me clarify. We switched to another host with exactly the same specs purchased as ASO, and we run twice as many sites now with no down time. ASO are bullshitters of the highest degree. Thank EIG. Any web-host they buy is destroyed within a year.

Name:
Date: January 19, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I came on board to ASO 2 years ago. Their service and support rocked and I was totally pleased. Earlier this year, things started slowing down. Their support began to dwindle. I just noticed that towards the end of the year, even their SUPPORT Phone Number had been taken off the site.

Live chat is now a joke, you need to fill out a form when you have an issue with their service. Which is fine if they’re going to answer the flippin’ ticket. Instead, the copy and paste their responses. I had a request about my server different than what is was about when it was down, they simply copy and pasted a response to my ticket and it had nothing to do with the issue at hand.

I also noticed that my server had intermittent down time. I would receive an email from site monitor ( pingdom.com ) that I had down time. With this year, I had 48 times that it showed me that I had down time. Most were a few minutes, some were about an hour and it wasn’t until December 2015.. nearly a week straight… twice. The beginning week and the last week….

They’re a waste of your money… STAY AWAY.

If you don’t mind wasting money, by all means, join their company.

A Small Orange is there too… Sad Company to host with… STAY AWAY!

I don’t know how many times I can say this…. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Poor Service Support No Phone Support SLOW VPS Slow Ticket Response times DOWN SERVERS— TOO MUCH!

Name:
Date: January 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I had a similar issue to a few of the other posters. I did my homework prior to going with ASO comparing them to other hosting providers. I went out of my way to set up an account with them because of their customer service. When I set up my account (over a year ago) the service was amazing and trouble shooting issues was also extremely easy with their system. I am not familiar with running a VPS so their help was very appreciated.

Now, their chat system is very laggy, if you time out, it will close the chat all together and you’re waiting in queue again for 3-20min. The support staff is very rude, to the point and act as if they’re incapable of answering anything or assisting with small issues. DNS issues being rerouted to a ticket to support? You’re telling me that a support tech can’t check settings during a chat?

They’re very hands off now and the entire experience is starting to feel a lot like it was with Fatcow. Maybe the experience is different for those who pay the extra $15 a month for “priority” support.

In regards to the downtime, 7-11 days is a long time for a server to be down. Especially for a design agency that is a reseller for their service. In that time frame we had to deal with many upset clients about their sites/email being down in addition to our own email being down.

I wanted some sort of credit for that time we were down. Couldn’t find a number anywhere. Everything leads to their ticketing system. The ticket was in for nearly 2 weeks before anyone answered it and they said “You’re service has been up for the past 7 days. If you’re still having issues please advice.” It didn’t address my concerns or acknowledge the issue was entirely on them and didn’t make any attempt to smooth the inconvenience over.

I am extremely disappointed with ASO right now and there’s really no way to tell them that. Except to put tickets in that they get around to answering in two weeks.

Pros: Great Value Easy to set up and manage. CPanels Plays nice with Wordpress

Cons: Uptime Support Staff is Rude Timely Support Ticket System is slow

Name:
Date: January 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I moved from Arvixe to Site5 about 5-6 months ago since Arvixe recently bit the dust and converted into an absolutely horrible hosting service.

Sadly, I’ve come to find out that the company that bought Arvixe, EIG, has also bought Site5 and it has fallen to the same fate.

In the past 2 weeks, I’ve experienced several hours of downtime daily with my website and associated e-mail address, missing out on important business e-mails and potentially losing customers trying to access my site.

Their support has been slow and in the end, absolutely useless.

I would do yourself a favor and check out EIG’s site and make sure to avoid any brand that they own. Every host they buy they turn to crap.

www.endurance.com/our-company/our-brands

www.digitalfaq.com/editorials/websites-blogs/hostgator-alternatives-eig-pt1.htm

Name:
Date: January 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I came on board to ASO 2 years ago. Their service and support rocked and I was totally pleased. Earlier this year, things started slowing down. Their support began to dwindle. I just noticed that towards the end of the year, even their SUPPORT Phone Number had been taken off the site.

Live chat is now a joke, you need to fill out a form when you have an issue with their service. Which is fine if they’re going to answer the flippin’ ticket. Instead, the copy and paste their responses. I had a request about my server different than what is was about when it was down, they simply copy and pasted a response to my ticket and it had nothing to do with the issue at hand.

I also noticed that my server had intermittent down time. I would receive an email from site monitor ( pingdom.com ) that I had down time. With this year, I had 48 times that it showed me that I had down time. Most were a few minutes, some were about an hour and it wasn’t until December 2015.. nearly a week straight… twice. The beginning week and the last week…

They’re a waste of your money… STAY AWAY.

If you don’t mind wasting money, by all means, join their company.

In a post earlier by JACK, he wrote about the company being purchased by: EIG…

Here’s their website with their company names: www.endurance.com/our-company/our-brands

A Small Orange is there too… Sad Company to host with… STAY AWAY!

I don’t know how many times I can say this…. STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Poor Service Support No Phone Support SLOW VPS Slow Ticket Response times DOWN SERVERS— TOO MUCH!

Name:
Date: January 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

They have had multiple VPS outages, leaving several of my business clients without a website for nearly 14 days now!!! Run!!!!

Pros: None worth mentioning anymore.

Cons: Massive VPS outages. Equipment failure. Slow tech support.

Name:
Date: January 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Their VPS is not reliable. Very poor servers and experience over the past year with my sites going down every two weeks at best and every day at the worst.

Pros: They have 24 hour live support chat. They can help with most things.

Cons: I have had a VPS plan for about two years. The first year was fine but the last year I have had so many issues with my servers going down. I wouldn’t wish this on any of you. If you like having a website that is online then I don’t recommend using their VPS plan. At the same time, I have had a shared hosting plan with them and it hasn’t gone down.

Name:
Date: December 28, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Up until recently, ASO was my go to web hosting company. It wasn’t the pricing, features or speed (which were all good) but the customer service that was simply exceptional.

That customer service has been harder and harder to come by in the last few months. Not sure if they’ve been sold or are outsourcing their lower tier servers but the support I loved has waned in 2015.

Pros: Exceptional customer service

Decent VPS pricing and options

Branding is on point

Cons: Waning support

Less than 95% uptime in 2015 (a far cry from the 99.99% they purport)

They’ve changed their chat and support interface which makes it next to impossible to talk to someone.

Name:
Date: August 11, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Avoid - constant maintenance for hours at a time.

Pros: Our site time improved vs media temple.

Cons: Constant downtime and system maintenance. Site down for hours twice this month for “maintenance”. Amateur.
If you want your site to actually be online consistently go somewhere else. Their “99.9%” uptime guarantee only applies to cheap accounts. We’ve consistently been way below that and they don’t ever do anything about it.

Name:
Date: July 2, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Overall PRetty Good.

Pros: I’ll start with the positive because there’s a lot to like about A Small Orange. The customer service is generally excellent. Also, my website sometimes has huge spikes in traffic, and ASO has been able to handle those spikes while other hosts have failed. For VPS plans, ASO expects you’ll have a tech background, but if you run into some issues with migration as I did, the customer service team will quickly help you resolve those issues.

Cons: Now for the negative. A Small Orange advertises a 99.9 percent uptime guarantee, but it should be noted that this only applies to shared hosting plans. ASO wants you to believe that you’ll have even better uptime with VPS, but that has not been my experience. I have had several outages (from one to four hours) in recent months, and when I contacted customer support, they told me VPS plans are excluded from their uptime guarantee. If there is an outage, VPS customers are last in line to have service restored. ASO’s response was that I could pay an extra $25 to $100 per month for a faster response to outages. I found that highly disappointing.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.70

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 4.00

Uptime: 1.50

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: September 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

This used to be a great host, one I was very happy with. In the last 6 months they went down the drain. Truly awful. Their support is a joke. I have cancelled my reseller accounts and will move elsewhere very soon. These people are DESPICABLE. Fraudsters. Shame on them
Name:
Date: February 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I work at the web development company and has recommended Small Orange to my clients in the past. I probably brought 200+ clients over to ASO singlehandedly. I have now moved close to half of my clients away from them and planning to do the same with others.

Their customer support used to be top notch. It was near instant on the live chat, support staff was knowledgeable and helpful and the uptime was great. None of this can be applied to them now.

Chat support doesn’t want to do anything - they just relay information to the “techs” and create tickets for you. I have now being sitting at “We’ll be right with you” window for 1hour+. My sites are down all the time for 15minutes+ and no responses whatsoever except for the standard “we’re working on it”.

Here is an example of what I had to wait for days and something other companies give you ability to do yourself in a matter of few minutes - I could not register my nameservers. There was no option on the website and chat support said that I’d have to create a ticket. 5 Days later(and few angry comments of mine later) I finally received a response from them saying that they did it. 5 days when I should have been able to do it instantly! Latest news is that they charge extra for “premium” customer support that allows you to skip the queue. Considering that I haven’t being able to get to their support in weeks, it is either pay and get smth or don’t pay and don’t get anything.

In short, they are not what they used to be and seem to be going downhill only from here. Stay away!

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.00

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: March 19, 2017
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

My dedicated server had been unavailable for the last 5 days. My support tickets have been closed without an answer. They list the issue as resolved on their network status page which is a lie. I am not the only one affected by this issue. Stay as far away as you can from this so called host. Their live chat support person provides the same copy amd paste answers. Stay away!!!

Only up to 20 reviews are displayed in each category.

To see all 77 A Small Orange reviews click here.

Frequently asked questions

What sort of support is available?
Telephone and live-chat support is available for technical issues. Ticket support is available for billing issues.
Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

About the author

Editor at The Webmaster.

Jonathan Griffin has been the Lead writer at The Webmaster for the last 5 years. Having provided technical SEO, WordPresss development, and hosting services for clients, his passion remains to help small businesses and bloggers develop their online presence.

In his spare time, he loves to push his technical knowledge further, and regularly undertakes professional courses on subjects ranging from python development, digital marketing, and Google Analytics.

Find out more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.