A2 Hosting Reviews

Rated 9.75 / 10 by 59 Users

Visit A2 Hosting
A2 Hosting Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 9.75

Support: 9.88

Speed: 9.68

Features: 9.78

Uptime: 9.81

Value: 9.59

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“A firm favorite with our users. What makes A2 Hosting special, is that no matter what type of hosting you need, they have it.

Windows, Linux, Unmanaged VPS, Managed VPS and even Managed VPS with root access. They offer technologies such as LiteSpeed, and LiteSpeed cache, Memcached, OpCache, HTTP/2, Railgun, Anycast DNS, plus much more.”

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from A2 Hosting:

  • 51% Off Shared Hosting First Invoice
  • 51% Off Semi-Dedicated Hosting First Invoice
  • 51% Off WordPress Hosting First Invoice
  • 34% Off Managed VPS Hosting First Invoice
A2 Hosting Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

Users Reviews (Rated 9.75 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 46 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 9.71

Support: 9.89

Speed: 9.65

Features: 9.74

Uptime: 9.78

Value: 9.50

Name:
Date: March 22, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

THANK YOU! Absolutely professional and soooo fast!!!
Name:
Date: January 16, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Great service
Name:
Date: January 14, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 9.80

So prompt, that I almost missed your follow-up e-mail acknowledging that my mind was indeed elsewhere. Nice, polite touch!
Name:
Date: January 5, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 9.60

I had an issue with DNS and my third mailer and A2Hosting were very good and patient with me in getting it sorted
Name:
Date: December 22, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Fast help, handled the issue right away which was mainly due to me not yet being familiar with the interface. This is so much better than GoDaddy!
Name:
Date: November 27, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I chose A2 Hosting because I can contact them via phone, not just chat with a person in some far away country. I do not need much customer service, just the original set-up and a few times for new website FTP set-up. I would recommend them for those who might need to speak to somebody right away.
Name:
Date: November 25, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 8.80

Yeah, i like A2 Hosting! Fast and Friendly !
Name:
Date: November 24, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

I just switched from Hostgator to A2Hosting , i haven’t tested the host yet , but the support is the best i have seen till now. I am sure it will be better than Hostgator, I have paid them for 3 years they made mistakes while migrating my files, they don’t give me a refund even that they made the mistake, so i decided to let them keep my money and switch hosting provider. A lot of friends who use A2Hosting recommended me to join them, so now i am here.
Name:
Date: November 24, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

Fast and willing support.
Name:
Date: November 8, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: Coded myself

User Rating: 10.00

A2 Hosting is a reliable (non-EIG owned) web hosting service. I’ve been using them for a few years now and I’m very satisfied. Their support team responds quickly to my questions. They offer reliability, speed and security. They’re everything you want from a web host plus more.
Name:
Date: October 21, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

After nearly a year with A2 Hosting, I’m very pleased. The support is great and my websites are way faster than before. Definitely recommended!
Name:
Date: October 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Jeff W. was amazing and he went above and beyond what may be required but he understood my situation and lack of knowledge. Jeff is really professional and gave a level of understanding to my situation and that things would be alright. Very Very Much Appreciated!!!! This unfortunate situation also created a confidence in having A2Hosting for my hosting service and them as my Team Support. I will share and recommend to others for sure.
Name:
Date: October 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

A2 has been a dream come true. Anyone needing hosting that SIte5 used to be, we have been overjoyed by the services, ease of use, support and the over delivering we have experienced.
Name:
Date: September 29, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Brilliant company for hosting your site :)
Name:
Date: September 28, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Quick and efficient service with no difficulties. Great work.
Name:
Date: September 21, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I got a fast and helpful answer to my question with an offer to provide more support if needed. Couldn’t ask for more. Their support is always great. I have multiple clients hosted with A2 hosting.
Name:
Date: September 16, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I am very happy the best support I got from a hosting company was from a2hosting.

100% recommended

Name:
Date: September 8, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Thank you for A2 hosting team for their patience helping zero IT experiences like me. :)
Name:
Date: September 4, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

They were extremely fast in answering my question and solving my issue.
Name:
Date: August 15, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Always support the provision and exceeding expectations. Thanks for the differential.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 5 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 10.00

Support: 10.00

Speed: 10.00

Features: 10.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 10.00

Name:
Date: January 28, 2018
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting
Platform: html

User Rating: 10.00

A2 Hosting support is absolutely top-notch. They attack the problem until it is completely resolved. And, their response is very fast. Their VPS hosting is full-featured and up-time excellent. Love it!
Name:
Date: December 7, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting
Platform: Tomcat/Java

User Rating: 10.00

Professionalism,to say the least. Excellent prices,services and lightning speed fast replies. Impressed !
Name:
Date: July 2, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

What an incredible support team. They have solved every issue in the shortest period of time. They answer to any ticket and give me a brief of everything. Amazing hosting services, full managed VPS with great support.
Name:
Date: June 28, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Fastest support ever. Migration progress run in a minute.
Name:
Date: March 17, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

About the support from A 2hosting: Quick and accurate solutions solves my issues. Great Support…!

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 10.00

Support: 10.00

Speed: 10.00

Features: 10.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 10.00

Name:
Date: July 23, 2017
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

What make me proud was their amazing support. They provide a simple but powerful cpanel with a great cloud vps. Will definitely recommend anyone to a2hosting, the best hosting experience I ever had

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 10.00

Support: 10.00

Speed: 10.00

Features: 10.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 10.00

Name:
Date: July 27, 2017
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Having successfully migrated 3 websites to A2, I am very pleased with our experience with A2 and their support staff. We especially like the increased speed of our sites loading and the customer service we have received during a complicated process. Thanks, A2.
Name:
Date: June 5, 2017
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Great hosting solution for WordPress, Prestacart or just about any CMS. Plays nice with Cloudflare. I host almost all my client sites on A2 starting them on shared hosting then scaling up to VPS or dedicated as needed. Support is fast, friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 9.40

Support: 9.00

Speed: 9.00

Features: 10.00

Uptime: 9.50

Value: 9.50

Name:
Date: February 24, 2018
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting
Platform: Sandvox

User Rating: 10.00

Been using A2 Hosting a number of years now, and they always handle concerns quickly. Very satisfied.
Name:
Date: February 8, 2018
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 8.80

Appreciated the hands on help for me.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Website Builder Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 9.80

Support: 10.00

Speed: 10.00

Features: 9.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 10.00

Name:
Date: March 20, 2017
Hosting Type: Website Builders

User Rating: 9.00

Really helpful reply.

Only up to 20 reviews are displayed in each category.

To see all 59 A2 Hosting reviews click here.

Expert A2 Hosting Review Highly Recommended

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“A2 Hosting have created a very powerful product, promising all the latest technologies and fast support. This is definitely one to put on your shortlist.

We recommend their Turbo plan to take advantage of all their features (A2 Optimized Site Accelerator, Railgun, HTTP/2 and more), and includes significantly more resources per account. “

  • FREE site transfer or new site setup with 1-click install.
  • Turbo Server, SSD Unlimited Storage, Unlimited Data Transfer, and A2 Optimized Caching (includes LiteSpeed, Memcached, PHP 7 & OPcache).
  • FREE Hackscan, Backups, and Firewall.
  • A2 Optimized WordPress Plugin provides performance & security optimizations.
  • HTTP/2 Enabled Servers for greater speed over HTTPS.
  • Free CloudFlare CDN, with the option to upgrade for more performance optimizations.
Money Back Guarantee
30 days
Advanced Caching
Price
$3.92 - $10.78
Visit Website

It is not often we come across a shared web hosting provider with such powerful features. The way they have implemented those features while still allowing you the flexibility to modify cache times and other performance relating settings is about the best we have seen.

All other shared providers that offer the same kind of features do NOT provide this flexibility. Sure, the technology may be there, but it is incredibly powerful to be able to fine tune absolutely everything.

We are impressed. Correction. VERY IMPRESSED!

We have collated a detailed summary of the most important elements of A2 Hosting, and as you will see, there is much to discuss. A2 Hosting is one of the few web hosting providers that really take pride in allowing you to take advantage of the latest technology. This shows in our list below:

General Speed related features:

  • SSD Storage - Solid State Disk storage increases the performance of your website, but decreasing latency, I/O input, and throughput, as well as improving reliability.
  • Turbo Server - More resources, OpCache, Memcached and fewer accounts per server. It is definitely worth having to make your site super fast.
  • A2 Optimized Software - This ends the guesswork of how to get the fastest page loads for your software with preconfigured settings for W3 Total Cache, as well as various security settings.

A2 Optimized Site Accelerator

  • Turbo Cache - The entire HTML contents of a page is stored by Turbo Cache and served without running PHP for up to 20X faster page loads. This utilizes LiteSpeed which places it in a reverse proxy to Apache.
  • Memcached - Increases the speed of your MySQL databases by keeping your most important data in memory for quicker retrieval.
  • PHP 7 + OPcache - PHP 7 is significantly faster than the previous version 5.6, with some benchmarks indicating it can handle nearly double the number of requests per second. OPcache accelerates this performance by storing precompiled script bytecode in the memory.

SwiftServer Features

  • Choice of Server locations - Host your content nearer your visitors for increased performance.
  • CloudFlare Free - Free CDN and security from CloudFlare. You can read more about CloudFlare here.
  • CloudFlare Basic \ Plus - This is a premium version of CloudFlare with additional performance features such as image optimization.
  • Railgun - Railgun is a web optimization technology provided by CloudFlare that significantly speeds up delivery of non-cached web pages.
  • Anycast DNS -This accelerates the performance of DNS servers, providing faster response times during the initial hits to your websites by storing the DNS information at various points around the world.
  • HTTP/2 - This significantly improves the performance of your HTTPS website. It is worth implementing HTTPS for the speed increase, as well as the SEO benefits.

#2 Auto Optimized Software takes care of all performance settings

After reading point number 1 above, you probably want to implement all those features but are wary about taking on such a big task.

Fortunately, A2 Hosting has automated the majority of the process, and for the rest, you can follow a very detailed tutorial on how to take advantage of every single bit of performance related technology they have to offer here:

We spent a whole weekend testing various setups at A2 Hosting, and asked quite a few support questions in the process, and are confident you will be delighted at the results when following our tutorial.

#3 Great security & reliability

Whether it is preventing intrusion, ensuring uptime, or just making sure you have a backup should you need one, A2 Hosting have you covered with the following features:

  • Server Rewind Backups - Available on all but their cheapest plan, you can restore files and databases as required. However, nothing is infallible so you should also ensure off-site backups.

  • Drop My Site Backups - Talking about off-site backups; this is A2 Hosting’s solution to ensure the reliability of backups and is available at a small additional cost. That being said, we would still recommend something like VaultPress if you use WordPress.

  • Free Hackscan

  • Patchman Enhanced Security Tool - This detects outdated software and emails you to upgrade. It also quarantines infected files and carries out automated patching of vulnerabilities.

  • 99.9 percent Uptime Guarantee - While we believe Uptime Guarantee’s to be worthless, 99.9 percent is respectable.

  • CloudLinux - Added security and stability due to isolation and limiting of hosting accounts.

  • Free SSL with Let’s Encrypt - Free SSL certificates, what is not to like?

#4 Good, helpful and fast customer support.

Our experience with their support has been very positive, with responses coming within the hour when using tickets. We never waited more than a minute for live chat, and they were quite knowledgeable, which is not always typical for live chat support.

They have an A+ rating with the BBB.

#5 Free Site Migrations

A2 Hosting will migrate your website for free.

#6 30 Day, Money Back Guarantee

Try them for 30 days and if you are not satisfied request a full refund of your hosting fee (add-on such as domains, CloudFlare plus, etc. are not included).

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“A2 offer a range of VPS plans to suit all needs. They offer both Linux & Windows, Unmanaged, Managed (without Root Access), and Managed (with Root Access). Choose from optional extras including Turbo Boost, Railgun and CloudFlare WAF.

Their managed plans feature worry-free Host-Guard management from a dedicated Guru Crew Support team and include free cPanel. “

  • FREE cPanel (Linux) or Plesk (Windows) Control Panel on Managed Plans.
  • Turbo VPS options for 20x faster page loads with LiteSpeed & LiteSpeed Cache.
  • SSD Storage for lower latency, and higher throughput.
  • HTTP/2, OpCache, Memcached, and Railgun are available.
  • Free New Relic Server Monitoring Setup & mod_pagespeed Setup.
  • Fully Managed with or Without root access available. Cheap unmanaged plans are available.
Money Back Guarantee
30 days
Advanced Caching
Price
$5.00 - $65.99
Visit Website

A2 Hosting offers both Linux hosting & Windows hosting with a choice of Unmanaged, Managed (without Root Access), and Managed (with Root Access). For the Managed Plans, you can choose between Linux or Windows, as well as a variety of optional extras, such as Turbo Boost, Railgun and CloudFlare’s WAF.

We would definitely recommend A2 Hosting.

We take a look at some of the main hosting features below:

#1 HostGuard Management

A2 Hosting provides comprehensive management with all managed plans. With HostGuard, they offer 247 support throughout the year, with the management of your account’s network, hardware, software, and security.

This level of management is perfect for those with absolutely no hosting or system admin experience. Just sign up and focus on your site.

Support can be obtained by Phone, Email, Ticket, and live-chat. Support is fully inclusive on managed plans, so no extra fee is payable.

#2 Root access

The problem with many providers is that they only offer a managed VPS plan, and heavily restrict what settings you can change as well as root access. A2 Hosting is different. Not only do they offer entirely unmanaged (and far cheaper) plans, but they also offer Managed Plans with and without root access.

You can, therefore, take advantage of full management and still tweak those PHP settings, install root keys, and tweak any other setting you want. Equally, you can sit back and let A2 Hosting do everything for you. It’s a win-win situation.

#3 SwiftServer platform

We have talked more extensively about the benefits of this in our Shared Hosting Review. Suffice to say; their Turbo VPS option offers up to 20x faster servers. A2 Hosting refers to it as Blazing Fast. Coupled with their A2 Optimized Plugin for WordPress, your site will be one of the fastest and secure out there.

The Turbo Cache utilizes LiteSpeed and the LiteSpeed cache to significantly speed up your website, all while using fewer resources. If you have a busy website, this, along with the free CloudFlare content delivery network is certain to reduce your hosting costs.

We highly recommend upgrading to the Turbo option on their VPS.

#4 A2-Optimized Plugins

A2 has developed plugins for WordPress, PrestaShop, Magento, Drupal, Joomla, and OpenCart.

These will automatically make a number of optimizations, including (but varying slightly between the different software):

  • CSS, HTML, and JavaScript minification.
  • Database, object, and page caching.
  • Daily updates
  • Gzip Compression (Joomla)
  • URL aliases for SEO (OpenCart)
  • Browser Caching
  • And more. See here for full list.

#5 Free Control Panel on Managed plans

On Linux plans the popular, user-friendly control panel cPanel is included for free. On Windows Plans, you get Plesk, the most popular control panel for Windows servers.

cPanel is available on unmanaged plans for a small fee, or of course, you can install whatever control panel you wish provided you source your own license.

You can read more about the difference between cPanel and Plesk here.

#6 Ultra reliable

With expertly tuned servers monitored 247 and Perpetual security (Hackscan Protection, KernalCare rebootless kernel updates, brute force defense, dual firewall, Virus Scanning, and more), quadruple redundant Network and Redundant Power (UPS/Diesel Generator) all backed by a 99.9% uptime commitment you will find reliability extremely good.

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“A2’s reseller hosting is one of the best around. Unlike many hosts who keep all the best technology to themselves, A2 Hosting allows you to offer all the good stuff to your users, including the Turbo Server option.

All but the basic plan comes with free WHMCS or Blesta billing platform. You can also sell domains with a Free eNom Domain reseller account. “

  • FREE cPanel & WHM (Linux) or Plesk (Windows) Control Panel.
  • Unlimited websites and free dedicated IP address (if requested).
  • LiteSpeed Cache Plugins if Turbo option selected. Full SSD storage.
  • White Label Option for non-branded cPanel & Private DNS.
  • Free WHMCS and Free eNom Domain Reseller Account.
  • High resource allocations with 2 CPU cores (shared) & 1GB RAM per user.
Money Back Guarantee
Advanced Caching
Price
$0.00 - $0.00
Visit Website

A2 Hosting offer both Linux & Windows operating system with a choice of Unmanaged, Managed (without Root Access), and Managed (with Root Access). For the Managed Plans, you can choose between Linux or Windows, as well as a variety of optional extras, such as Turbo Boost, Railgun and CloudFlare’s WAF.

This is a very powerful hosting, with all the latest technologies. We would definitely recommend A2 Hosting.

We take a look at some of the main reseller hosting features below:

#1 Premium Hardware with Great Resource Allocations

At A2, Resellers do not play second fiddle with inferior hardware, resources, and limited features. You get all the options that A2 offers to their customers included, with the opportunity to add on their Turbo features for increased website speed. The Turbo Cache utilizes LiteSpeed and the LiteSpeed cache to significantly speed up your website, all while using fewer resources. If you have a busy website, this is certain to reduce your hosting costs.

In terms of hardware, the highlights include:

  • SSD Storage utilizes RAID-10 for improvements both in throughput and failover.
  • Fewer users per server, choice of server locations, HTTP/2, SPDY, Edge Side Includes.
  • 10 GB/s Redundant network.
  • All servers contain a minimum of 12 Cores and 64 GB RAM.
  • Each cPanel end user is allocated up to 2 CPU Cores (shared), and 1 GB Physical Memory.

#2 Reseller Hosting features

  • Free WHMCS or Blesta automated billing solution and Free eNom Domain Reseller Account.
  • Free Migrations - In most cases, they will migrate your website for you.
  • Server Rewind Backups - Easily restore your data from saved backups. Account backup snapshots are taken regularly.
  • Perpetual Security from A2 includes KernalCare, Dual Web Hosting Firewall, Brute Force Defense, Virus Scanning, Server Hardening, and 247 Security monitoring.
  • If you want to offer your clients fast support, you can get Priority Support for an additional fee. Get your help requests put at the top of the pile.

#3 Reseller Control Panel features

With a choice of cPanel + WHM for Linux Hosting, and Plesk for Windows Hosting you can efficiently manage all aspects of your reseller hosting account:

  • WHM allows you to create & manage cPanel accounts and hosting packages. Integrate with WMCS to automate the billing process and automatically create hosting accounts when a user signs up.
  • End users can utilize cPanel to manage their domains, software, databases, backups, and email.
  • Stamp your Brand on cPanel for the end users to see.

Similar features are available in Plesk.

#4 Client Control Panel features

  • Clients can access a branded version of the control panel.
  • Clients get access to Server Rewind Backup feature, allowing them to restore a snapshot from within their control panel.
  • Softaculous software installed allows your end users to install 100’s of different software with just a few clicks.
  • CloudFlare Free CDN is available from within cPanel.

Similar features are available in Plesk.

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“A2’s Dedicated Servers are available for those who require access to the entirety of the resources of a high performing, stable hosting environment.

The servers are available with and without Management and are perfect for intensive applications or for reselling hosting to other users. “

  • FREE WHM + cPanel Control Panel. Easily create multiple accounts.
  • HHVM, HTTP/2, OpCache, Memcached, and Railgun. Site Staging, Git.
  • Full Management, Monitoring with a Proactive response.
  • 247 VIP Support via phone, chat, and ticket.
  • Private DNS, with five free Dedicated IP’s. IP Tables Firewall.
  • Enterprise Intel Xeon Servers - E3-1230, E3-1270 or E5-2630 with SSD Storage.
Money Back Guarantee
Advanced Caching
Price
$141.09 - $290.49
Visit Website

A2 Hosting offers just Linux hosting with cPanel installed free of charge. You have a choice of Unmanaged, Managed (without Root Access), and Managed (with Root Access).

After choosing your chosen plan, you have a few configurable hosting options including:

  • Memory - With 8GB RAM as standard, you can upgrade to either 16GB or 32GB RAM.
  • Storage Upgrade - 2 x 500 GB SATA HDD disks come as default in Raid 1 (mirrored). You can upgrade to higher capacity HDD disks, or opt for faster (but slightly lower capacity) SSD storage.
  • Cloudlinux Licence - For additional isolation and security between cPanel accounts, with throttling to stop any single account using too many resources. This is great for reselling.
  • WHM Access - For no root access servers, you can select WHM access to manage multiple cPanel accounts. Perfect for resellers.
  • SSL Certificates - You can order an SSL certificate for a small additional cost.
  • IP Addresses - You can order up to 5 additional IPs.
  • R1Soft CDP Backups - You can order 1TB storage for Continuous Data Protection for your server. Unless you have your own backup solution, you will want this.
  • Turbo Boost - You can increase the performance of your web server by electing for their Turbo Boost option. This will install LiteSpeed, and LiteSpeed Cache.

A2 Hosting offers a great selection of hardware and software choices that are equally great for absolute beginners and experienced users alike. Furthermore, it provides an excellent upgrade path from their reseller hosting, which should give great peace of mind for anyone wanting to start their own hosting business.

HostGuard Management

With managed dedicated servers you get the full A2 Guru Crew support team backing you up. They will work tirelessly 247 to take care of your hardware, network, and server software.

HostGuard for Dedicated Servers include:

  • Smart System Notifier - A2 uses its own monitoring system that will immediately notify their support staff if it ever detects a hardware or network issue occurring on your server. In most instances, any problems will be resolved before you are even aware of them.

  • Notification Center - Even though the monitoring system will inform the support team of any issues, you can opt in to be notified too. It is perfect if you need to keep your own users in the loop (i.e., for resellers). You can also get notified on specific server events, such as high loads, full file system, and more.

  • Free Priority Support - All Dedicated server customers automatically receive their Priority Support service. All your support requests go to the top of the queue.

  • 30-Minute Server Deployment - All servers have been previously set up and tested. It should, therefore, be ready to go within 30 minutes.

  • Boot & Reboot Controls - Easily boot or reboot your server from within your A2 Hosting customer portal.

Other Great Features

  • Fully Isolated Environment - The power, stability and reliability advantages of a dedicated hosting server are down to the fact that you do not share the server with others. All the resources are yours.
  • Fast Server Upgrades - If you outgrow your server, A2 will smoothly and quickly provide upgrades to ensure your server meets your website’s needs.
Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

. Hosting Expert & Editor @ The Webmaster:

“While you can install and optimize WordPress on their shared hosting, they also offer fully Managed WordPress Hosting Plans that include their Turbo (LiteSpeed + LiteSpeed Cache) as standard. This comes on a more optimized platform with more resources and features to help manage your site.

Featuring the Plesk Control Panel, Site Staging, Automated Backups, and a Free Jetpack Personal Licence, it offers exceptional value.”

  • Perpetual Security provides proactive protection against hackers and security threats.
  • FREE WordPress transfer or installation with one-click.
  • A2 Optimized for pre-configured Security and Performance.
  • Automatic Updates, Site Staging
  • CloudFlare ServerShield helps determine the faster route over the internet (A limited version of CloudFlare Argo). CloudFlare Plus is available.
  • Turbo Server as standard, with more resources per user, OpCache and LiteSpeed Cache.
Money Back Guarantee
Advanced Caching
Price
$12.97 - $37.97
Visit Website

A lot of thought and effort has been put into their Managed WordPress Hosting solution. They tread a delicate, yet successful balance between control and freedom. By default, they take care of virtually everything. Your WordPress website comes preinstalled, pre-configured with performance and security optimizations.

Despite that, advanced users can tweak the settings to ensure the website is optimized for their use case (for example caching times). Besides, you still get the features typical with most hosting accounts, including control panel access to manage emails, files, backups and more.

Below are some of the highlighted features:

Built for Speed

The backbone of A2’s Managed WordPress Hosting is based on a finely-tuned version of their SwiftServer platform. This includes:

  • Solid State Drives (SSDs) - These sign
  • CloudFlare ServerShield CDN - This helps determine the fastest route over the internet (A limited version of CloudFlare Argo).
  • LiteSpeed cache (LSCache) - This is built directly into the server (faster than a PHP-based solution) communicates with your Turbo server and LSCache to statically cache your dynamic WordPress pages and significantly reduce your site’s page load time.
  • Turbo Servers featuring up to 20x faster page loads.
  • Highly optimized WordPress installation with their A2 Optimized Plugin.

WordPress support

Coupled with pre-configured security and performance optimizations out of the box, it is incredibly easy to manage your site with integrated Git, Site Staging and CloudFlare ServerShield. The A2 Support team will ensure that both your WordPress installation and plugins are kept updated.

Furthermore, although they cannot (for obvious reasons) debug core WordPress functionality or 3rd party plugins, they do have a team of WordPress experts that can help troubleshoot issues.

Retain Control

Unlike some Managed WordPress Hosting providers, you will still retain much-needed control over your account:

  • You have access to the Plesk Control panel allowing you to manage files, emails, databases and more.
  • You will also be given access to a WordPress Toolkit that will help you carry out tasks such as add plugins, change your theme and more.
  • You will be able to stage a copy of your website to test changes and updates before pushing the staging copy live.
  • WP-CLI comes pre-installed to enable you to manage your WordPress sites from the command line.

Perpetual security

A2’s Perpetual Security offers free HackScan Protection, KernelCare rebootless kernel updates, brute force defense, a dual firewall, and many other security features to help keep your site secure.

Features (Rated 9.78 / 10)

To get the most out of A2 Hosting look for the plans that come with A2 Accelerator and Turbo. In the case of the VPS and dedicated servers, you can select Turbo as an Addon.

Server Technology

  • A2 Hosting’s Turbo Servers offers LiteSpeed (drop-in Apache replacement that uses less CPU and Memory and handles connections faster), fewer users per server, A2 Optimizer (see next point), and provides more resources per user.
  • A2 Optimizer features pre-tuned software (WordPress, PrestaShop, Drupal, and more) that comes with powerful pre-configured site caching. This is powered by Turbo Cache (LiteSpeed Cache), APC \ OpCache, and Memcached.
  • HTTP/2 provides significantly faster website load times when using HTTPS. SSD raid-10 storage comes as standard for lower latency and higher throughput.

Software & Ecommerce

  • Use the most popular control panels to manage your hosting; cPanel for Linux plans, or Plesk for Windows plans.
  • The Softaculous installer allows you to install many different website applications, including WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal. For website builders, there are many options including A2 Hosting’s own sitebuilder. If you prefer WordPress, you can even use an array of front-end WordPress site builders such as BoldGrid, Divi Builder, or Forge.
  • For E-commerce, choose between Magento, PrestaShop, and Opencart among others.

Backups & Security

  • The A2-optimized plugin for WordPress auto-hardens your WordPress install, including setting up a unique WordPress login URL, automatic WordPress updates, and ReCaptcha required for logins.
  • CloudLinux isolates each account for security. It also prevents one account utilizing too many resources. This overuse would slow down the server for everyone.
  • As part of their Perpetual Security, they offer free Hackscan Protection, KernalCare rebootless kernel updates, brute force defense, dual firewall, Virus Scanning, and more. Rest easy knowing that your website is safe from being hacked with A2. Couple this with Server Rewind automated backups and optional Drop My Site Offsite backups, your sites are in safe hands.

Support & Reliability

  • A2 Hosting Support is available 247 365 days per year. The US-based support team offers support via email, live chat, phone or ticket. Their “Guru Crew” contains specialist support engineers, including a team devoted to WordPress Support, that can help you with any web hosting query. Whether you need help installing a blog, such as WordPress, or need help with PHP settings they can help.
  • They can maintain an impressive uptime due to its automatic rebootless kernel updates, its impressive security features mentioned under our “Backups & Security section” and optimized WordPress plugin that helps secure WordPress against malicious attacks. They offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee.
  • Their support team comes highly praised in our readers’ reviews, with them consistently going above and beyond what you might expect. They have an A+ rating with the BBB.

Server Locations

A data center near your users you can decrease server response times. A2 Hosting has data centers in the following locations:

North America
  • Michigan, US
  • Arizona, US
Europe
  • Amsterdam, NL
Asia
  • Singapore, SG
Australasia
  • None
Africa
  • None
South America
  • None

Support (Rated 9.88 / 10)

A2 Hosting Support is available 247 365 days per year. The support team is US-based and are split into teams focussing on

Support Methods

  • The US-based support team offers support via email, live chat, phone or ticket.
  • Hand-picked support teams containing the only the most knowledgeable, friendly and patient technicians will offer help for all levels. Whether you have never used hosting before, or are an expert requiring advanced assistance they have you covered.
  • They have a comprehensive knowledge base that can help guide you through many tasks yourself, including Domain Name configuration, SSL, cPanel, Plesk articles.

Response Satisfaction

  • The main reasons people love their excellent customer support is the response times and helpfulness. They will respond and action your issue within the hour.
  • They have developed tools to make many hosting tasks easier. Their Managed WordPress Hosting will pre-configure your WordPress installation security right out of the box, and their A2 Optimized Plugin will help optimize it for speed with just a few clicks. With all this at your disposal, they can talk you through optimizations in minutes.
  • They have an A+ rating with the BBB.

Speed (Rated 9.68 / 10)

A2 Hosting has every conceivable technology you would want. From SSD Storage, HTTP/2, and Railgun to Memcached, Memcache, XCache, APC, Varnish, LiteSpeed, LiteSpeed Cache for WordPress, and Varnish, they have it.

They offer the latest version of PHP which is almost twice as fast as the previous version (PHP 7 vs. PHP 5). For more performance try out the PHP replacement built by Facebook; HHVM on their Cloud.

They even advertise their servers as Quic ready, a technology that browsers are only just gearing up to support. It lowers latency by creating multiplexed connections between computers.

The great thing is that you can utilize the best of this technology with little knowledge using their A2 Optimized Site Accelerator. You can follow our complete guide to Optimizing A2 Hosting with WordPress here.

A2 Optimized Site Accelerator

  • Optimized Software — Offering preconfigured WordPress settings for W3 Total Cache, as well as a range of security hardening measures, this will significantly increase the performance and security of your website.
  • Turbo Cache — The entire HTML contents of a page is stored by Turbo Cache and served without running PHP for up to 20X faster page loads. This utilizes LiteSpeed that is placed in a reverse proxy to Apache.
  • Memcached — Increases the speed of your MySQL databases by keeping your most important data in memory for quicker retrieval.
  • Performance Plus — Purchase additional resources instead of having to upgrade to the Cloud or VPS.

SwiftServer

  • Choice of Server locations — Host your content nearer your visitors for increased performance.
  • CloudFlare — Utilize the CloudFlare CDN (including CloudFlare Page Rules for full page caching) and Railgun to speed up the delivery of files and web pages around the world.
  • Anycast DNS — This accelerates the performance of DNS servers, providing faster response times during the initial hits to your websites by storing the DNS information at various points around the world.
  • HTTP/2 — This significantly improves the performance of your HTTPS website. It is worth implementing HTTPS for the speed increase, as well as the SEO benefits.

Uptime (Rated 9.81 / 10)

A2 Hosting offer a 99.9% uptime commitment. In their terms and conditions they state:

We will use our commercially reasonable efforts to provide the Services twenty-four (24) hours a day, seven days a week.

However, in order to operate in an efficient and secure manner, servers and network equipment require routine maintenance and upgrades (“Scheduled Downtime”) and you acknowledge that from time to time the Services may be unavailable for various reasons, including due to Scheduled Downtime or causes beyond our control.

This is a pretty standard type offer from a web hosting provider, with an offer of reimbursement of 5% of the fee paid for that month for every hour of downtime.

Overall, Uptime Guarantee’s are pretty worthless. It is more important to choose a hosting provider with a record of good uptime. In this case, this is evident from the feedback given in our user reviews.

      Value (Rated 9.59 / 10)

      With A2 Hosting it is all about the quality and features. While the starting plans are very affordable, it is worth going for the higher priced plans for the A2 Accelerator and Turbo. Money well spent, and very reasonable compared to other hosts with similar features.

      Typical A2 Hosting Prices

      Hosting TypePrice Range
      Shared Hosting$3.92 - $10.786 plans
      VPS Hosting$5.00 - $65.996 plans
      Reseller Hosting$0.00 - $0.004 plans
      Dedicated Hosting$141.09 - $290.493 plans
      Managed WordPress Hosting$12.97 - $37.973 plans

      Payment methods accepted: MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover. It also accepts PayPal, 2Checkout, bank transfer, PayU Latam (selected countries), Skrill, check, and money order.

      A2 Hosting Hosting Plans

      Shared Hosting Plans

      Plan NameSpaceBandwidthPanelNo. of SitesPrice
      LiteUnlimited GBUnlimitedcPanel1$3.92More Details
      Windows Lite [1]Unlimited GBUnlimitedPleskUnlimited$4.90More Details
      SwiftUnlimited GBUnlimitedcPanelUnlimited$4.90More Details
      Windows SwiftUnlimited GBUnlimitedPleskUnlimited$5.88More Details
      Turbo [2]Unlimited GBUnlimitedcPanelUnlimited$9.31More Details
      Windows Turbo [3]Unlimited GBUnlimitedPleskUnlimited$10.78More Details

      Notes:

      • [1] All plans include Free SSL.
      • [2] Includes A2 Site Accelerator & Turbo
      • [3] Includes A2 Site Accelerator & Turbo

      VPS Hosting Plans

      Plan NameSpaceCPURAMBandwidthPrice
      Unmanaged Entry [1]20 GB1 CPU Cores0.52 TB$5.00More Details
      Unmanaged Mid30 GB1 CPU Cores12 TB$10.00More Details
      Unmanaged Elite50 GB4 CPU Cores12 TB$15.00More Details
      Managed Power+ [2]75 GB4 CPU Cores42 TB$32.99More Details
      Managed Prestige+ [3]100 GB6 CPU Cores63 TB$46.19More Details
      Managed Pinnacle+ [4]150 GB8 CPU Cores84 TB$65.99More Details

      Notes:

      • [1] All VPS are configurable. Add Turbo boost (Litespeed \ Litespeed with LSCache+LiteMage)
      • [2] Windows server available at small extra cost. Available with or without Root Access.
      • [3] Windows server available at small extra cost. Available with or without Root Access.
      • [4] Windows server available at small extra cost. Available with or without Root Access.

      Reseller Hosting Plans

      Plan NameSpaceBandwidthPanelNo. of SitesPrice
      Bronze [1]30 GB400 GBcPanel \ WHM40$More Details
      Silver [2]75 GB600 GBcPanel \ WHM60$More Details
      Gold [3]150 GB1 TBcPanel \ WHM80$More Details
      Platinum [4]200 GB2 TBcPanel \ WHM100$More Details

      Notes:

      • [1] No WHMCS. Priority Support, Turbo boost available as an extra on all plans. Windows server available on all plans for additional cost.
      • [2] Free WHMCS
      • [3] Free WHMCS
      • [4] Free WHMCS

      Dedicated Hosting Plans

      Plan NameSpaceCPURAMBandwidthPrice
      Sprint [1]2 x 500 GBIntel 3.1+ GHz810 TB$141.09More Details
      Exceed2 x 500 GBIntel Xeon 2.4+ GHz815 TB$207.49More Details
      Mach2 x 1000 GB2x Intel Xeon 2.1+ GHz820 TB$290.49More Details

      Notes:

      • [1] All Dedicated Servers are configurable. SSD and other options available. Comes with either Root or no Root Access.

      Managed WordPress Hosting Plans

      Plan NameSpaceBandwidthPanelNo. of SitesPrice
      1-Site [1]10 GBUnlimitedPlesk1$12.97More Details
      3-Sites [2]25 GBUnlimitedPlesk3$19.48More Details
      Unlimited [3]40 GBUnlimitedPleskUnlimited$37.97More Details

      Notes:

      • [1] Includes website staging, backups, JetPack. No addon domains allowed. 2 CPU cores. 2GB Physical Memory. 8 GB Virtual Memory.
      • [2] Includes website staging, backups, JetPack. 2 addon domains allowed. 3 CPU cores. 3GB Physical Memory. 12 GB Virtual Memory.
      • [3] Includes website staging, backups, JetPack. Unlimited addon domains allowed. 4 CPU cores. 4GB Physical Memory. 16 GB Virtual Memory.

      Other Hosts Vs A2 Hosting

      A2 Hosting v SiteGround (2018)

      If you ask us to pick between these two equally great hosts we would have a difficult time giving you an answer. We love SiteGround for its absolutely insanely fast support respons... Read Full Comparison

      A2 Hosting vs SiteGround

      Rating: 9.75

      Read Review

      SiteGround vs A2 Hosting

      Rating: 9.70

      Read Review

      Frequently asked questions

      Does A2 Hosting Offer Linux and Windows hosting plans?
      Yes, they offer both Linux and Windows hosting.
      Where is A2 Hosting located?
      A2 is located in Ann Arbor, Michigan USA. They also have also expanded into India, and have an office in Gujarat, India.
      Do they offer a money back guarantee??

      Yes, they offer what is called an “Anytime money back guarantee.”

      If you request a refund in the first 30 days, they will provide a refund with no questions asked. Otherwise, you can request a pro-rated refund after 30 days, however, please note that you will be billed for any time used at a non-discounted rate (i.e., without any initial discount). Add-ons, such as domain registrations are also not included.

      What payment types does A2 Hosting accept??

      All major credit cards are accepted, including MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover. It also accepts PayPal, 2Checkout, bank transfer, PayU Latam (selected countries), Skrill, check, and money order.

      At present they do not accept Bitcoin. If paying by Bitcoin is essential we recommend Namecheap, and you can find some great discounts here for them.

      Can I pay monthly??
      Yes, but it works out significantly more expensive to do so. We recommend paying for at least a year and taking full advantage of our exclusive discount.
      Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

      About the author

      Editor at The Webmaster.

      Jonathan Griffin has been the Lead writer at The Webmaster for the last 5 years. Having provided technical SEO, WordPresss development, and hosting services for clients, his passion remains to help small businesses and bloggers develop their online presence.

      In his spare time, he loves to push his technical knowledge further, and regularly undertakes professional courses on subjects ranging from python development, digital marketing, and Google Analytics.

      Find out more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.