Arvixe Reviews

Read our expert opinion of Arvixe, along with unbiased reviews from 87 real users

Like so many other web hosting providers purchased by EIG, a great web host has been turned incredibly bad. Check out the rating over time graph in the review dashboard, and you will see a clear contrast when our user reviews turned from high praise to outright disgust.

We first took note on how bad things had become, after the Arvixe migration debacle, and how there was a total break down in the support provided by Arvixe, lost files, broken website resulting in the sacking of the majority of the Arvixe staff. As you can see from that article, many people lost their entire websites, and support response times are timed in weeks, not hours.

Editor's note: We hate to be negative about hosting providers, especially when we have past dealings with them, but for the time being we recommend you avoid EIG owned hosting providers. Fortunately, you can filter out all EIG-owned hosting providers in our Hosting Review tables.

Arvixe key points

Platform

Linux, Windows

Developer features

Ruby on Rails, WP CLI

Expert Opinion

Arvixe Shared Hosting Review

Arvixe Shared Hosting Plans allow a choice between Linux and Windows.

Arvixe offers many different packages, including Business Hosting, VPS, Reseller and Dedicated hosting.  For the purpose of this Arvixe review, however, we are focusing on their shared hosting Personal Class plans.  You have a choice between "Personal Class" and "Personal Class Pro".  These are identical save for the number of domains allowed on each plan.  If you only need to host six domains or less the Personal Class plan is sufficient.  There are no other differences between the plans that we can see.

Arvixe plansThe plans are pretty comprehensive in that they support cPanel, and all the usual features you will find on a cPanel host.  Also, you will have access to Softaculous, Cloudflare one click installer, Ruby on Rails as well as R1Soft backups (last two days two weeks backups available for instant restore).

Regarding hardware, both plans include Raid 10 SSD Drives for database queries (this is where 4 SSD drives are mounted together, 2 of which act in parallel for increased speed and 2 act as a backup to allow for continuation should any drive fail), as well Firewall for security and DDoS Attack response.  This makes dynamically driven sites much faster.

Arvixe Control Panel

We are very pleased to note that Arvixe uses the standard cPanel for their control panel.  Not only does this make it extremely easy to move host should you ever need to, but as one of the most popular control panels around you will hopefully find it very familiar.  Unlike some other major brands they have not customized the look of the cPanel (or functionality) so you should be able to find everything you want very quickly, and any tutorials you view will be instantly familiar.

Apart from the standard apps and utilities, you will see a section for SiteApps (one click solutions to expand the functionality of any website i.e. social sharing) and SEO & Marketing Tools.  At the bottom, there are icons for quick access to Arvixe site, billing, and support, as well as some usage statistics.

Arxixe Support

Arvixe had around 90 employees by the latter half of 2013, all of which work remotely.

In our Arvixe Review, we tested their support on multiple occasions, including one where we raised a simple query relating to DNS propagation time Nameservers.  It took around 2 hours to get a response, with follow-up questions being dealt with within about 20-30 minutes.  Of course, we could have had an instant response by chatting to them on live chat or telephone.  For international customers, note that their Skype name is "Arvixe" in case you wish to avoid any telephone charges.

When you create a support ticket, they will send you a link that then asks you to fine tune the relevant topic for the support query.  This is to ensure that the right support specialists get the most appropriate questions.  This is an excellent idea, showed by a knowledgeable technician was able to deal with our query quickly and effectively. We would much rather wait a little longer for someone to fix the solution rather than get a response from someone who is clueless, so Arvixe ticks those boxes quite nicely.

Update 8th October 2015 - We are getting a few reviews being left complaining of poor support and increased downtimes.  We suggest reading the user reviews and coming to your own conclusion.

Further Update: Arvixe support is terrible, with response times in days, not hours.

Main Features

Arvixe does not offer any features that make you go "wow", or anything unique, with perhaps the exception of SSD hosting.  They do however keep up with latest developments offering Clef Two-Factor Authentication with new WordPress installs as standard, as well as some pretty significant tie-ups for Image Hosting . We guess what they focus on is doing "ALL" the basics extremely well.  Unlike other hosts, they offer Windows hosting as well as Linux hosting (we advise using Linux hosting unless you need ASP), Ruby on the Rails as well as an excellent upgrade path with their Business Hosting or VPS hosting.

Of course, some features we should highlight are:

  • RVSiteBuilder - Nice easy site builder to get you started.
  • Cloudflare CDN-ready
  • Softaculous Script Installer - Install all the standard software such as Wordpress quickly
  • Free Cheverato Image Hosting Script - See this post for more information about this offer, and Chevereto.
  • Attacta SEO ready - Always useful to get some extra insights into your site.
  • Siteapps - One click apps to increase the functionality of your site quickly (social shares and other neat things)
  • Daily Backups -
  • Ruby on Rails
  • Choice of PHP
  • Git preinstalled - Something for the developers
  • Free domain for life (rather than for just the first year)
  • Relatively generous 60-day money back guarantee

Arvixe Uptime

To understand why Arvixe Uptime is so good, you need to know about their data center partner - Softlayer .  Softlayer, acquired by IBM in July 2013, provides data center services in multiple locations around the world.

We could not see any advertised uptime figures on the Arvixe site, although they do offer a 99.9% uptime guarantee and you get 60 days to try them out.  Unfortunately, as this is a fairly new Arvixe review we have not yet got any of our own uptime figures (from our own tracking of sites known to exist on their Servers) available for Arvixe.  However, our overall impressions from our research are that they do not have any significant problems with downtime, and indeed, this is pretty much confirmed by our readers Arvixe Reviews at the bottom of this page. We will, of course, monitor them and let you know if our opinions change.

The Speed Test

Even if you do not want to spend much money on a web host, you still want it to be fast. We gave Arvixe a spin with a standard theme we got off Themeforest which while a little bloated it does provide a good test to gauge the speed of the server as it includes include PHP stylesheets that can be notoriously slow to load. We optimized the site using the W3 Total Cache as well as CloudFlare.  This theme is specially built to show a vast difference between hosts so the load time will always be higher than your typical site.  If you were to put this site (Best Host News) on Arvixe server, we would imagine the load time would be at around the half second mark, which indicates how pleased we are with this test result. 

arvixe speed test

Value - Is Arvixe worth the money?

Arvixe has just two plans, with the only difference being the number of domains you can have on the account.  For just $4.00 per month if you sign up for two years for up to 6 domains this represents incredible value.  What's more, that is before you even apply a coupon, and we have some great exclusive offers on that front too.  At the moment, you can choose between a one-off discount of up to 30 percent or a lifetime discount of 10 percent .  If you check out our readers Arvixe Reviews, you will find this is frequently mentioned as one of the things people love about Arvixe.

Unlike other hosts that will charge $50 of more for an SSL certificate, Arvixe costs just $25 per year, and a dedicated IP is just $2 per month, so again there will be no hidden surprises there.  Their domain prices at $9.95 are pretty awesome too!

Arvixe Reviews - Summary

Pros

  • Great price – These guys have to be one of our favorite budget hosting providers. SSD hosting and great performance for $2.80 per month (with our Arvixe Coupons)? We'll have some of that thank you!
  • 60 Day Money Back Guarantee - Allows you to try them thoroughly out risk-free.
  • A particular drive to do better – Arvixe have shown superior business acumen and a clear drive with over a decade of success.
  • Great reputation – Arvixe has garnered a great reputation over the last 11 years since their creation.
  • SSD Storage for MySQL – As a budget host they have shown a great choice by balancing speed with functionality with their storage configuration. By using traditional storage for files, along with SSD for Databases you get the best of both worlds. Large amounts of storage, with increased speed for Database driven sites such as WordPress.
  • Generous Resource Allocation – While Unlimited Hosting is not unlimited (i.e. check the Terms and Conditions), Arvixe has one of the largest resource allocations for a budget host. They allow up to 2GB RAM (most hosts have this at 1GB), and 700 CPU seconds, as well as 500 physical processes (most have this at 25 or 50).
  • Cloudflare integration – Our favorite and free CDN that significantly boosts the speed of your site.
  • Cloud Linux – Cloud Linux is quickly becoming the industry standard for isolating accounts from each other for maximum security, as well as isolating resource usage. This means no one user can hog all the resources, or infect other hosting accounts on the same server if they get hacked.
  • cPanel – This is our favorite control panel for hosting. It is incredibly easy to use, and full backups can easily be made for offline storage that includes all settings including email, crons, etc. It also makes transferring to and from different hosting providers incredibly easy.
  • Free domain – This is for life, not just the first year of your account.

Cons

Arvixe Shared Hosting Review

Editor's Expert Opinion

Editor's opinion: Do we recommend Arvixe?

Before EIG purchased Arvixe last year, they were one of our Recommended hosting providers.  Unfortunately, we are seeing increasing complaints (about Support times, and down times) which have caused us to reconsider this status.  We recommend reading the latest user reviews below and coming to your own conclusion.

For the time being, we have removed Arvixe as one of our recommended hosting providers, and actively recommend that you avoid them at all costs.

Arvixe Frequently Asked Questions

What people are saying

Find out what people are saying about Arvixe below, or alternatively, if you have experience with them yourself, feel free to leave your review.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Since Arvixe was bought out it is total incompetence. They did a migration and our sites have been ruined ever since. Calloused incompetence and very little communication. Any good reviews must be before they were bought out. Also our level is business class so I can’t imagine what regular customers are getting. There is NO support and if you get a chat they are incompetent. Arvixe is over.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

email down on 10/14/2016. What did they mess around with now?!?
I contacted support 2 times already. So far no action taken by Arvixe to this point other than creating support tickets. Oh and by the way there is no one to talk to on weekends other than the chat line (no phone support)! The chat folks seem to like the phrase ‘sorry for the inconvenience’. Perhaps they they should be directed to use the phrase ‘sorry for the crappy service, but our management just does not care.” This would be closer to the truth, I think. Thankfully our site is currently hosted with another company so only the email is currently messed up. BTW, this is on one of their business class accounts! Wonder how many days this will go on…

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

The last year with Arvixe has been terrible – support requests sometimes going a month or more without a response. I had a bunch of domains registered with them and getting them to let them go is like pulling teeth. Web sites would go down constantly and stay down, sometimes for days. It’s taken me almost a year to unwind all my business with them and it’s still not completely done. I wish I’d left the moment I learned of the EIG takeover but I didn’t and I’ve been paying for it ever since. I would never – EVER – recommend staying with any provider that EIG buys out. Lesson learned the hard way.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.4
Support
2
Features
6
Speed
6
Uptime
4
Value
4

Averagely the support take 2 weeks to reply an email.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.2
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

“HOST WITH ARVIXE AT YOUR OWN RISK”, Arvixe has deteriorated horribly since 2014. ticket response has become all but nonexistent. Website redundancy along with backup and restore are not a priority anymore so prey your site doesn’t go down because site restore from backup no longer works. {Insider tip off of impending DOOM} Safe to say if you haven’t already jumped ship you better do it soon or you will loose everything. {if its even operational} “OCTOBER 2016”!
+ PROS: Systems updated to SSD 2015
- CONS: Everything about Arvixe is HORRIBLE 2016 Completely useless, illiterate and unintelligent support staff.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

HI this post so emotional
i have same bad experience my web
they are not profesional delete my data until 1 week not resolve you can imagin 1 week
they just send email
We at Arvixe experienced a technical error during an emergency maintenance that inadvertently deleted customer data. We are in the process of full data restoration, and anticipate this being fully completed by 11:00PM GMT.
We can appreciate how frustrating this may be for you and your business. As such, we want to take accountability for our actions and provide you financial relief for any inconvenience. Therefore, we will be issuing you a 3-month credit to your account with us.
i not need credit..jut open cpanel and let me download my data..
very bad services

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.6
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
4
Uptime
5
Value
2

Arvixe SUCKS. I’ve been with them for close to 10 years and truly the last 2 years has been HELL. Now any ticket i submit just doesnt get responded to and when i contact them via a live chat session, after waiting for an average of 10 minutes to be responded to. they only tell me that they have escalated the ticket and sadly that only doesn’t produce any results. As I type this review, i submitted a ticket 7 days ago and after 2 days of waiting for NO RESPONSE, I contacted them via life chat. The Agent told me my ticket has been escalated to a SENIOR TECHNICIAN who will resolve my Problem in the NEXT 2 Hours. 4 Days later, I’ve had to start another chat session to be told the SAME STORY. PROBLEM STILL UNRESOLVED.
Save Yourself the headache. They are NOT worth it
+ PROS: Good Value. Great Feature
- CONS: Poor. Poor. Poor Customer Service

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

This is the worst hosting provider around. DO NOT waste your money. their customer support is impossible to deal with and they WILL NOT provide a refund when you find out how horrible they are (even within the 60 refund guarantee period).

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

rosebloom web mail has been down for three weeks and they tell me they’re working on it. At least I could get a reasonable explanation when it was with the original owner. Not at all happy! If my staff took this long to restore a web site I’d have replaced them all. I suspect they were trying to upgrade and screwed it up.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

If you want a hosting company that has a lot of erors for your site and bad resposne time for when you need help, then Arvixe is for you. I got a hosting account with Arvixe for less than 4 months. During that time, I had nothing but problems with them. My site kept getting error messages, the first being a 552 Disk full error, in which I didn’t have much information on my site. Then, the next month, I got a file system error. SO, the following month later, I got a 502 Bad gateway. Later, more problems with my website going down. I couldn’t even change my PHP version…in which I got errors. I contacted support…it took them 17 days to respond…during that time I got a new hosting company. I can’t get a refund or any money back from this crappy company. The support team seem to all be located in India. Arvixe is the worst hosting company I have ever experienced. The are a bunch of crooks that take your money.
- CONS: Bad customer support and Downtime

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.8
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
3
Uptime
2
Value
2

After 3 years I will be forced to leave this hosting provider. I have shared hosting packet, they were good until last few days my site is offline most of the time and I can’t even access to WordPress dashboard because of 503 service unavailable error. I had contacted support before and I always got answer in few hours. Now my ticket is open for 3 days and no final solution for my site. On chat they say they are working on solution but I don’t get that solution.
+ PROS: price
- CONS: everything else

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

5.2
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
7
Uptime
9
Value
1

They suspended our sites for using too much resources. Even it was an easy issue to fix they took days, seven days to be exact to get the site online again. Now we ran in another issue and they suspended our sites. We submitted a ticket over two days ago and no response yet. Talk to Meghashree on live chat and she told me that our support ticket moved to priority and it’s been over twelve hours and no response yet. I wonder how they are managing to stay in business. This is our last attempt to try to solve this issue.
+ PROS: Any hosting is good, as long as we don't get into any issues.
- CONS: Their service. They won't even check their support ticket for days.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.4
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
3
Uptime
6
Value
6

Support is non existent. I bought a SSL cert almost 6 months aho, it still hasn’t been installed, and support does not contact me back. I’m currently looking to fire Arvixe, the danger is buying into a subsidiary. I own a lot of domains, they’re only hurting themselves.
+ PROS: Cheap.
- CONS: Support is non existent. I bought a SSL cert almost 6 months aho, it still hasn't been installed, and support does not contact me back. I'm currently looking to fire Arvixe, the danger is buying into a subsidiary. I own a lot of domains, they're only hurting themselves.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

5.4
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
6
Uptime
8
Value
6

I’m current customer of Arvixe but for past several months their services are going down the hill.

Support response time is extremely slow and poor.

Thought of moving out of Arvixe by transferring my domain to another registrar but sadly due to Auth Code having special characters in it, new registrar failed to have it transferred.

Support ticket created but no response. Regeneration of Autho Code return same code.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Domain wouldn’t resolve for over 2 months. No access to the web hosting folder either. Told by customer support “You aren’t the only one having problems.” – like that is any consolation. Had to move to another host. Arvixe refused any refund.

Since being bought up by EIG, there is no aspect of Arvixe hosting that is any good.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Very poor…. Poor . Frustrating service i get. My site down 3-5 days sometime 2 week. i try all shared , Business Windows , Linux hosting.
Its wastage of money and time.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.4
Support
1
Features
2
Speed
1
Uptime
2
Value
1

Used to be a great service provider!
Do not ever never use their service even for FREE.
There is nothing called Customer Service at this so-called company, no more!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I’ve cancelled my Arvixe account due to problems with their service and they are still trying to bill me a year later! Their customer support is horrible! Find another hosting service as this one is brain dead.
+ PROS: None!
- CONS: Non-functional tech support! Billing you after canceling!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.8
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
5

Arvixe is hands down the worst hosting company that ive ever dealt with. As stated, uptime is a huge issue. When your site does go down, it takes hours to get a hold of anyone if at all. When you do get a hold of someone, all they do is open a ticket for you and tell you that someone will be contacting you. Then, 2 days later, you'll get a vague email from them requiring you to email them back again and wait another day. I had registered 3 hosting accounts with them and put in a request to cancel all of them two weeks ago. It is now 2 weeks later and they are still showing as active.

Pros: price

Cons: everything else

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

6.6
Support
0
Features
8
Speed
8
Uptime
8
Value
9

no phone support,
ignorant customer support people,
support really sucks !!

LEAVE !

Pros: cheap

Cons: no phone support,
ignorant customer support people,
support really sucks !!

LEAVE !

paulrety24.org

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.8
Support
0
Features
6
Speed
7
Uptime
8
Value
3

Just quit Arvixe. Uptime was great, and the platform is user friendly... but the support was absolutely terrible! I had two big issues: a third-party service was getting a 406 http error when trying to crawl my site (I suspect this happens to everyone who's hosted with them), and 90% of emails sent to my site's email account were NOT arriving. Well, the support guys basically showed ZERO genuine interest in helping me... they copy-pasted something useless and generic every time, and what's worse: when my tickets (this happened in both occasions) were upgraded to be looked into by a chief technical person, I never heard back from them ever again. So degradating! And apart from that, there's no way I can remove my cc or paypal account from their system... no link or place to do that. That tells you a lot about their philosophy :(

Pros: uptime, user-friendly

Cons: support, technical stuff, impossible to remove your cc or paypal

languagelustreview.com

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.2
Support
5
Features
7
Speed
7
Uptime
2
Value
0

Down time is unbelievable!!
Left down for 24 hours (still down), I'm certainly losing business with ****** Arvixe!!!
No recommended at all.
If you send a support ticket, it will be answered immediately--after the problem is solved, which might take a few days!!! I contacted billing on a very urgent issue that should have been resolved BEFORE renewal. They replied about 10 days after renewal!!

Cons: Miserable up time. Very poor, unreliable service.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe is the WORST hosting company. The wait time is ridiculous and when you do get through to someone, they can't help. All you are getting is a call center located aboard. My site has been down for over a day and counting (not to mention all the other times). And now when I reach their 'support' there are little kids screaming in the background. Their overseas call center must be located in a Chucke Cheese. I have been with them for years, but this past year is has gone from bad to terrible. Time to dump them.

Pros: no pros

Cons: cons - see my post.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.0
Support
2
Features
2
Speed
4
Uptime
0
Value
2

Not sure how Arvixe is getting such positive reviews.

We purchased 3 different hosting plans, none of them went smooth to start with.
Not sure, whats the technical glitch that goes bad during the setup.
And your account gets screwed. We spent 3 days for the setup.
But still no proper solution.

Support team gives excuses of 5 mins to look at the ticket / talk to the engineers.
Finally come up with sad response, the team is looking into it.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

6.0
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
8
Uptime
8
Value
5

Rather sorry to have to be leaving this review, but recent experience compels me to, and I see I am not alone. I moved several sites to Arvixe a couple of years ago. No real problems in the migration and, as the main review indicates the features offered were unbeatable at the price. I would have to say that when all is running well I am getting good speeds and good uptime (although when the server does go down, why am I the first one to notice?) But, if there are problems, forget it. Effectively there is no support. Most recently some crucial emails failed to get delivered and I discovered that the cpanel mail trace function had been removed when they put an outgoing spam filter on the server, without notifying customers. No problem, support could arrange a trace. And then support disappeared. No reply for weeks. Still waiting.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

My company had been with Arvixe for about five years. After they "upgraded" our server last month our web sites were down more than they were up. We have moved the hosting to another provider. Since then, I have spent two weeks trying to get a valid authorization code to transfer the remaining bit of involvement we have with Arvixe. Arvixe support is incompetent. They don't bother reading about the problem and keep sending generic try again messages. I have filed complaints with the BBB and ICANN. The farther I can distance my company from Arvixe the better.

Pros: Competitive price

Cons: Support is worse than incompetent. After a recent server "upgrade" our web sites were down more than they were up. I don't care what it costs. If your web sites are down there is a negative value.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I have been with Arvixe for a number of years and until recently, was fairly satisfied with them. The last several months have seen a steady decline in their ability to keep my website online. At this point, the site it down for some amount of time nearly every day. When I call, I get people who have no idea what they're doing other than to open a ticket and push it to the Windows App team, whatever that means. They also promise to keep me informed as to progress via email. The problem is that my email is on the same server (Rosebloom) and is also down. It's ridiculous. Don't use them. In fact, run. Screaming.

Pros: none

Cons: too many to name

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Never Ever pay Arvixe account!!
worst ever!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Servers are more down that up!
customer support.. there is none!
arvixe servers have been hacked serveral times!!

AVOID!!!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

the worst hosting services provider ever!!

If you create an invoice with fake name

arvixe will delete your account and steal your money

ask for a refund is a hardest and useless job.

Live support is a joke.

Pros: don't get any

Cons: full of bad experience

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
2
Speed
1
Uptime
3
Value
1

This is one of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with - I recommend that you do not use them as your hosting service. Dealing with this company will make you appreciate good companies. Their web page states "contact us and you will experience the true meaning of customer service." What a big fat lie or a joke on their customers!!! You are constantly on hold and they do not answer complaints or service tickets.

Their billing is not in accordance with the terms and agreements and just try to get their billing department to answer a call.

Pros: There are no pros - None. This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked with - I recommend that you do not use them as your hosting service.

Cons: Their web page states "contact us and you will experience the true meaning of customer service." What a big fat lie!!!! You are constantly on hold and they do not answer complaints or services tickets.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Run as fast as you can. Been with Arvixe 5 years. Customer service was great until late 2014. Customer service is now literally non-existent. Constant server migrations and a data center migration left us without email for days twice all the while excuse after excuse. We will be moving from Arvixe ASAP. If you want customer service over the weekend, LOL, good luck. Three times for 30 minutes each time waiting on live chat with no response. Sent support ticket in on Friday. no answer. Replied two more times over the weekend. No response. Called Monday morning and waited 40 minutes on phone before getting someone with horrible VoIP from some distant land with dozens of people talking in the background. He absolutely refused to give me tech support telling me everything is handle by the ticketing system. We have major problems going on and we're just not going to go back and forth with tech support via email. They give their new customers windows 2012 servers with SQL 2014 but refuse to upgrade their loyal PAYING customers who have been with them for years to new technology so their old customers languish on MS Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008. Heck I have SQL 2016 at home and the databases I build with it can't even be uploaded or restored to a 2008 SQL server even targeting the database for SQL 2008. AS STATED RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN. WE'RE DONE WITH ARVIXE!!!

Pros: None!!!

Cons: Everything is a con with Arvixe.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I was on hold for up to 3 hours on the phone. This is definitely the worst customer i have ever heard of. Please, do go with a different company.

Pros: There are none, the servers crash ever other day. You can tell that this company is not maintained.

Cons: Everything. I would never recommend this company to any one else, ever.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.4
Support
1
Features
10
Speed
5
Uptime
5
Value
1

Before EIG acquisition, they were fantastic in all senses, and did not make things like "selling domain privacy" .

Now they do it, support has vanished and I am migrating my things before my server goes definitely down. E.g., sent a request 10 days ago about my mails taking hours to enter and leave, and got a response today asking me for a code I will find... blabla.

I expect Arvand Sabetian to lose all the money he earned selling this "hidden gem" to such a bunch of pirates. I will never trust again in a business run by him.

Pros: Lot of features...

Cons: ...but useless because nobody support them.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe hosting company is very very very irresponsible and horrible company whole the word. They are Lier, if you want to add problems you can choose it. you can not cancel service and dilling Service too. Nobody answer you by ticket and when you have any relationship with their stuff you fill yourself like a homeless dog

Pros: Pros ? ?? They do not have any pros, it's real.

Cons: they have only cons.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.6
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe customer since 2011. The PersonalClass ASP Pro package was used to host my personal websites and a website for a non-profit entity. Great service, great experience up until 2015. By May, email access was failing sporadically. By September, many users of the non-profit website were reporting infrequent website outages. In November 2015, complete service was lost for a week, including all websites and email access. Repeated contacts with Arvixe service were not returned until a week later.

There was no warning that maintenance was going to be performed. My Arvixe service expires in January, 2016 which made it an easy decision to research and move to a competitor of Arvixe.

Heads-up to all current Arvixe customers - I disabled the auto-renew function shortly after the outage lasting a week back in November. When I checked the account again at the end of December, Arvixe had removed the ability to disable auto-renew. Had I not gone through the account termination steps, I would have been incorrectly billed for another year. Arvixe has historically charged my credit card at least a couple of weeks before the end of the subscription date. Don't wait until the last day of the service to cancel - you may have already been billed for the next renewal period.

Cons: Frequent interruptions in service for both website and email.
Frequent "out of memory" issues on mail server.
20 to 30 second response time on any action performed in webmail client.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

The support is terrible !!!

My MySQL database is already offline for weeks.
The Supoort repeatedly written ...
Support tickes be deleted, closed, or get no answer (wait for weeks).
In Live Support I keep getting the same answer which is an admin will take care of it, and I soon get a mail ... I wait and wait!
Website usage is no longer possible, customers disappear money away !!

Conclusion: Stay away from this provider!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

6.0
Support
1
Features
10
Speed
8
Uptime
7
Value
4

I had two business accounts with them, one was private for my own development testing and the other was for my client web sites. Both Business Class ASP Pro accounts
I bought the second on a Black Friday special ($25.00 off).
Even before the buyout, things were going south, increased downtime of email servers, slow or no support for days at a time.
Eventually, i cancelled my first business account and merged everything into the Black Friday business account. On Christmas Day i got notification that my next invoice will be $75.00, less the $25.00 for the special. That means my payment has effectively doubled, with no prior warning. I opened a ticket straight away, but have still not had any response. Currently in the process of moving to a new host. I'm tired of having to apologise to my users for email interruptions, and there is no way i am paying double for rubbish service.

Pros: They do have a lot of features, SQL Server, MySQL etc.

Cons: It doesn't help having all those features if you have to wait a week for support when something goes wrong. Arvixe has become a victim of its own success. Be prepared to wait ages for support, and you will never be told what the problem was.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.8
Support
1
Features
5
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I have been with Arvixe for a few years, but after learning they were taken over by EIG I started looking elsewhere as I knew this would all end in tears.

The company have gone from a hidden gem to a complete mess and customers leaving in their drovers, WHT Forum reviews how bad this company has become.

I have been contacted them for around 3 weeks to change an IPS TAG for me and every time I go on (daily) for an update - I get the response this will be changed immediately.

Having contact Arvand on LinkedIn about these issues there has been no response and still waiting for an IPS TAG change to be done with them.

So anyone looking for a cheap price hosting company this is your best choice, but the amount of problems you will encounter is not worth the eye catching prices!

Pros: The amount of features are good

Cons: TERRIBLE SUPPORT SINCE EIG TAKEOVER.
SPEED OF WEBSITES HAS DROPPED DRAMATICALLY - SLOW AS DEATH.
UPTIME - IS PATHETIC - EXCUSES SUCH AS "we are currently migrating to faster servers (I never knew it took 4 months)
VALUE - WAS GOOD, BUT HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE FOR THE PRICE NOW

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.4
Support
6
Features
6
Speed
4
Uptime
1
Value
5

I used to love Arvixe and rarely had issues with downtime. Since the buyout though that has changed and now my site is frequently down.

Pros: Decent features. Accessible and responsive customer support.

Cons: Site goes down multiple times per week. Often stays down for 12-24 hour periods.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.6
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
6
Uptime
2
Value
1

No more support from Arvixe, nobody, no more service.
Worst hosting ever.

Pros: Nothing

Cons: No support

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.8
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
8
Uptime
6
Value
1

Having been a customer for a year, started off OK and was really pleased in particular with unlimited MSSQL database hosting and Windows hosting. So average features and speed was OK.

Was going to move around 20 additional domains and services but then noted things were not as they seemed with the 10 domains already in use.

When you get a problem, past two months in particular, have been absolutely dire to get things resolved - if ever. Almost incompetent and disjointed in the way things are handled. So support is 0.

More you complain, more you get ignored.

Ultimately the cost to use Arvixe may be encouraging but this has proven to cost much more to resolve afterwards. The time wasted is absolute days, so really at the end of the day, was a totally bad business/personal decision to use in the first place. So value is actually 0.

Since moved all my services to a brilliant Windows VPS company (hostwinds.com) and so I can now control all ourselves. Hostwinds Service and support is 120% and a completely very different positive experience.

Bottom line is, would never use, or recommend, Arvixe again. Shame.

Pros: Windows hosting MSSQL good pricing
Control Panel (opensource websitepanel.net)
Hosting Flexibility with Customer Access.

Cons: Unacceptable Support
Uninterested in customers, only sales
Unhelpful when releasing any domains, so do not transfer any to Arvixe
Use Nameserver only.
Avoid at all costs...

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.8
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
8
Uptime
1
Value
1

For over a week now, my site, msrwasc.org, has been down. They migrated me to a new server and my site has not been accessible since. Their written instructions (in case of rare failure) say to point to new nameserver, but tech gives a different address (like a subdomain name) for the new nameserver. One tech says wait 24 hours, another says 48 hours...REALLY? How could they set up an entirely new site in minutes, yet it takes days to move one that already exists? I would leave them today, but I foolishly paid for hosting for several years. Recently a tech nervously told me she/they did not know what the problem was, nor when they might get around to fixing it, if ever. You do get what you pay for with Arvixe...STAY CLEAR OF ARVIXE!!!

Pros: cheap

Cons: support is practically non-existant!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe used to be a reliable, cost-efficient web host. All that changed in 2015. There are frequent down times (our site and mail have been down for a week as of this posting) and customer support is vistually non-existent. After 6 years with them, we have to scramble to find another, more reliable web host. It's a shame.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: You get what you pay for

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.0
Support
1
Features
7
Speed
5
Uptime
5
Value
2

My only comment is that apparently they have gone really, really downhill. I feel like they are trying to pretend nothing is wrong. I cannot trust company whatsoever.

Pros: When it works, it works. I originally chose them because they supported Windows servers at a fair price. Things were great until things came to a sudden halt.

Cons: A week ago, I was notified that our website was down. At first I could not access my server. I investigated and found a server report page that said our server was being migrated. They never warned us of this. The website is still down. I have tried calling. Often, I wait for half an hour and they hang up. Or it's just a busy signal. I have tried submitting tickets and they do not respond. I have tried chatting and it takes an hour if you're lucky enough to connect. They lied to me and told me my website worked fine, then back-tracked and told me the server is being migrated. My clients are completely unhappy as their business website is important. Time is money. We will not be renewing. I will be moving files just as soon as I can access via FTP. My development copy is not completely synced so I want the files from the server. I can log into cpanel so I might just manually download every file and go somewhere else. Very infuriating. Stay away!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe support took 4 days in mid Oct.2015 to fix their server configuration even after we told them exactly what to do. Two weeks later the identical situation happened and it's been 6 days. There has been NO phone support for 6 days and chat support is useless. Chat support wait times has been 2 hours+. One time I waited at 0 minutes queue for 45 minutes after waiting 2 hours.

We have had to move our website on an emergency basis just to get running again.
I would not recommend any EIG websites including Arvixe. If you value your time or your business steer clear of this hell hole.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: No tech support
Misconfigured Server Twice in Oct.5
Does not care
Website down twice for 5 days+

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.4
Support
1
Features
7
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe was good till end of 2014, now No support available. they respond after 12 hours doesn't care about the problem..

Cons: Terrible support system

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

My website goes down several times each day

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Arvixe is down since October 1st, 2015 for our sites. Customer support non-existent. They just don't reply. They even don't reply to account closure requests. All tickets we submitted wrere ignored. Arvixe chat is unplugged.

We relocated to another host and will be calling our bank to chargeback these folks. Arvixe is not a company anymore as it looks it has been run into the ground. Total demise.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

The fact that Arvixe has a rating above 0 tells me everything I need to know about being able to use besthostnews as a source for identifying reliable hosting providers. Arvixe no longer provides customer support. They fired all of their support staff. They took my money and did not respond all 10 of my support tickets over a 2 week period. Filed a charge back.

Pros: Cheap prices; get what you pay for.

Cons: Arvixe is a scam of a company

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.0
Support
2
Features
6
Speed
6
Uptime
2
Value
4

I joined Arvixe two years ago after my previous host left me high and dry, selling his company to an unscrupulous bigger one, and in the beginning Arvixe were great.

No downtime, fast server speeds, excellent support.

And then the warning signs appeared, and history looks as if it might repeat itself. Downtime, email not working, DNS issues, slow loading speeds, were all issues I had experienced previously when my old host gave up the ghost, and when Arvixe began to display the same issues it was time to leave.

Arvixe have seemingly been swallowed by a much larger company who have got rid of what made Arvixe a great host and instead employed a much inferior model.

Arvixe are a shadow of the company they were, and while their offering looks good at face value with plenty for your cash, it is unacceptable, especially if running a business to experience the sort of levels of downtime and incompetence that I did, and if you value your business online I'd look elsewhere.

Check out our top user-rated host: SiteGround
Need help choosing a hosting provider?
Check out our top user-rated host: SiteGround