Arvixe Reviews

Rated 3.99 / 10 by 109 Users
Visit Arvixe
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 3.99

Support: 3.12

Speed: 4.24

Features: 4.79

Uptime: 4.06

Value: 3.74

Hosting Expert

“Like so many other web hosting providers purchased by EIG, a great web host has been turned incredibly bad, or at least this was the case throughout 2016 & 2017.

After the Arvixe migration debacle there was a total break down in the support provided by Arvixe, along with lost files and broken websites resulting in the sacking of the majority of the Arvixe staff. "

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from Arvixe:

  • 30% Off Shared Hosting - One off
  • 20% Off Shared Hosting - One off
  • 10% Off Shared Hosting – for Life

Users Reviews (Rated 3.99 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 95 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.12

Support: 3.31

Speed: 4.41

Features: 4.91

Uptime: 4.11

Value: 3.87

Name:
Date: April 12, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 0.00

Arvixe is SOOOOO BAD! Don’t even think about it.

I had a web site up for 10+ years and the hosting company was bought by them. Without any notification they brought my site down and locked out all the functionality of my management dashboard. Getting them to validate me as the owner of the hosting account was an exercise in comedic idiocy. Like 3 stooges. Technical support referred me to management who referred me to billing who required I provide a long exempt credit card that had been used to pay for the previous year under the previous hosting. Strait to India, nobody had any expertise, authority or even common sense, just kept referring me to log into my dashboard and to contact billing.

HOWEVER, after 2 months of my site down and about 6 calls into these idiots, finally their semi-automated headless billing farm finally in-processed my account (from the other host) and sent me notification that my credit card would be billed for the next year. AND STILL WITH NO SITE ACCESS AND 0% UPTIME!. The CAPS came out, 2 more calls to support and billing, nobody could connect the dots.

Fortunately the Domain host was different from the web host, so I just got a separate hosting service and uploaded a backup (always keep a backup), pointed the DNS to that site, wala, website back up.

I hounded them for an additional 2 months, just out of principal, to get them to cancel their billing schedule, and it took that long to get someone competent enough to say the billing schedule had been canceled.

STAY AWAY!!!

Name:
Date: October 8, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

ARVIXE is a Scam- Be Warned!

No Service Level Agreements in place: that simply means you will not get any of your issues fixed! Incompetent Staff: these guys don’t have a clue what they are doing, I have tried with them for many years, and every step of the way they mess things up! Billed multiple times in error: these guys are still investigating why they billed me in error, this is almost month 3 and nothing! Major down times: If you value your website being up and available to your clients, then use Amazon AWS or Microsoft Azure or host it yourself, whatever it is, but DON’T use ARVIXE. Go with Arvixe if you are NOT serious about running a business or if you are doing a school project or something that’s not very important to you, oh, even those may have issues!

PLEASE, I DO NOT WANT MY WORST ENEMY FALLING INTO ARVIXE HANDS, ITS TOO PAINFUL AND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE. BE WARNED!

PS. They are owned by a company called Endurance International Group (EIG), you can see the parent company at www.endurance.com, maybe you should’t do business with any company owned by EIG either, I know I wouldn’t be doing business with them again and have already began migrating to Microsoft AZURE!

I felt as If I had a moral obligation to post this to ensure someone else reads and feels my pain and suffering with doing business with Arvixe. PLEASE, BE WARNED!

Name:
Date: May 10, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

My business mail @ gchris.com has been down for almost four days with no resolution. Many chats and promises of expedited fix by administrators. No fix and no indication of when it will be fixed. Unacceptable!
Name:
Date: May 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Only an idiot would ever do business with Arvixe. I was that idiot before, but luckily, I got smarter and cancelled all the services I had there.
Name:
Date: May 2, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

There was a time when Arvixe was great (thus the positive reviews of years ago), and I moved all of my websites to their platform, but after they were bought out things changed dramatically to the point where I moved everything away from them. I wrote my story about the problems they gave me in another place, but there is another issue I will address at this point.

Five days ago I received an email invoice from them telling me that they were going to charge me for another year. I wrote them back and explained that I no longer used their service so the invoice can be cancelled. I had previously allowed them to take my hosting charges from Paypal and despite my email they took my money anyway.

I was able to get someone on chat and they were unapologetic. It was explained to me that they did not refund money for “old accounts” (this contact was literally hours after my money was taken) and my only option was to log into my portal and make the request there. If accepted, I would receive credit, not a refund.

Fortunately, Paypal returned my money and I guess they will deal with Arvixe. So if you decide to be drawn in the low monthly charge (the phrase “you get what you pay for” applies here) then understand that there could be grief down the road. My recommendation is that you look through reviews to find a company that does not have experiences such as mine, and they despite what you end up choosing, the company could be eventually bought out and things could turn sour (this was my second experience of this happening).

Name:
Date: February 21, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Monday, February 20, 2017 - Yes Presidents Day. If you needed tech support for your website and called Arvixe you were rudely told that phone support was no longer supported and the call disconnected.

I am not a supporter of chat support especially at Arvixe since they chat staff is clueless and can easily screw-up your account (like they screwed-up my PHP configuration by making unrequested changes), continually asking you to wait making the time wasted an hour or more before they give up an put in a ticket that, currently, I’m waiting over 24 hours and it’s rated normal when it was supposed to be urgent (site is inaccessible). FYI The chat agent I dealt with was the same one that screwed up my php configuration causing me to connect with another agent why, after an hour, was unable to correct the issue. Yes, I called support and was finally able to repair the damage.

Tuesday, February 22… After the warning that Phone Support was going to be discontinued I’ve now been on-hold with phone support OVER 3 Hours. During this time I have backed up my site locally along with database in preparation of moving to another host. OF COURSE MY WEBSITE IS STILL INACCESSIBLE!

Listening to 1980’s advertising of (for that time) exciting features you can add to your Arvixe hosted website are as much as a joke as the “timeless” hold music.

This is a business account I’ve had over 4 years.

Don’t waste your time with this host.

Name:
Date: January 11, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Today is 1/11/2017… I have a Windows hosting plan…

The LATEST version of PHP provided is v5.5.4

PHP v5.5 status

  • Released 2013/Sept/19 (see secure.php.net/releases/)
  • EOL and UNSUPPORTED for the PAST SIX MONTHS (see: php.net/eol.php)

PHP v5.6

  • Released 2014/Aug/28
  • Oldest version that’s still being supported (see php.net/supported-versions.php), though only security fixes/etc

PHP v7.0

  • Released 2015/Dec/3
  • Oldest ACTIVELY supported version (see php.net/supported-versions.php)

PHP v7.1

  • Released 2016/Dec/01
  • CURRENT active/supported version

So, to recap… the server isn’t running the latest released version (OK, it’s only a month old)… it’s not running the latest major version (really? a year old?)… it’s not running the oldest supported version (seriously, two years ago?)… it is instead running an UNSUPPORTED version that was released more than THREE YEARS AGO.

When asking about this in the Live Chat (specifically whether an upgrade was planned), I was told “I cannot assure you that there will be any upgrade now”

Whether this is the fault of EIG or anything else is irrelevant.

I will be finding another hosting company, soon.

Name:
Date: January 1, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Arvixe has shut down both phone lines (recording stating unavailability) and the ability to submit a ticket! The only way to contact them is through online chat and let me emphasize - because I deal with them several times a day - these are NOT technicians, they’re simply people trained to hit buttons for auto responses. The server our site is on has been down for TWO DAYS and we’re losing business. Stay far away from this online disaster! Arvixe has NOT improved as one review stated. Its as bad as ever. Over 2 weeks we had a site unavailable because of a domain error that Arvixe caused when they set it up. I could spend all day sharing horror stories. Just stay away!
Name:
Date: October 18, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Since Arvixe was bought out it is total incompetence. They did a migration and our sites have been ruined ever since. Calloused incompetence and very little communication. Any good reviews must be before they were bought out. Also our level is business class so I can’t imagine what regular customers are getting. There is NO support and if you get a chat they are incompetent. Arvixe is over.
Name:
Date: October 17, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

email down on 10/14/2016. What did they mess around with now?!? I contacted support 2 times already. So far no action taken by Arvixe to this point other than creating support tickets. Oh and by the way there is no one to talk to on weekends other than the chat line (no phone support)! The chat folks seem to like the phrase ‘sorry for the inconvenience’. Perhaps they they should be directed to use the phrase ‘sorry for the crappy service, but our management just does not care.” This would be closer to the truth, I think. Thankfully our site is currently hosted with another company so only the email is currently messed up. BTW, this is on one of their business class accounts! Wonder how many days this will go on…
Name:
Date: October 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

The last year with Arvixe has been terrible – support requests sometimes going a month or more without a response. I had a bunch of domains registered with them and getting them to let them go is like pulling teeth. Web sites would go down constantly and stay down, sometimes for days. It’s taken me almost a year to unwind all my business with them and it’s still not completely done. I wish I’d left the moment I learned of the EIG takeover but I didn’t and I’ve been paying for it ever since. I would never – EVER – recommend staying with any provider that EIG buys out. Lesson learned the hard way.
Name:
Date: September 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Averagely the support take 2 weeks to reply an email.
Name:
Date: September 19, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

“HOST WITH ARVIXE AT YOUR OWN RISK”, Arvixe has deteriorated horribly since 2014. ticket response has become all but nonexistent. Website redundancy along with backup and restore are not a priority anymore so prey your site doesn’t go down because site restore from backup no longer works. {Insider tip off of impending DOOM} Safe to say if you haven’t already jumped ship you better do it soon or you will loose everything. {if its even operational} “OCTOBER 2016”!

  • PROS: Systems updated to SSD 2015
  • CONS: Everything about Arvixe is HORRIBLE 2016 Completely useless, illiterate and unintelligent support staff.
Name:
Date: September 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

HI this post so emotional i have same bad experience my web they are not profesional delete my data until 1 week not resolve you can imagin 1 week they just send email We at Arvixe experienced a technical error during an emergency maintenance that inadvertently deleted customer data. We are in the process of full data restoration, and anticipate this being fully completed by 11:00PM GMT. We can appreciate how frustrating this may be for you and your business. As such, we want to take accountability for our actions and provide you financial relief for any inconvenience. Therefore, we will be issuing you a 3-month credit to your account with us. i not need credit..jut open cpanel and let me download my data.. very bad services
Name:
Date: September 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Arvixe SUCKS. I’ve been with them for close to 10 years and truly the last 2 years has been HELL. Now any ticket i submit just doesnt get responded to and when i contact them via a live chat session, after waiting for an average of 10 minutes to be responded to. they only tell me that they have escalated the ticket and sadly that only doesn’t produce any results. As I type this review, i submitted a ticket 7 days ago and after 2 days of waiting for NO RESPONSE, I contacted them via life chat. The Agent told me my ticket has been escalated to a SENIOR TECHNICIAN who will resolve my Problem in the NEXT 2 Hours. 4 Days later, I’ve had to start another chat session to be told the SAME STORY. PROBLEM STILL UNRESOLVED. Save Yourself the headache. They are NOT worth it

  • PROS: Good Value. Great Feature
  • CONS: Poor. Poor. Poor Customer Service
Name:
Date: August 31, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

This is the worst hosting provider around. DO NOT waste your money. their customer support is impossible to deal with and they WILL NOT provide a refund when you find out how horrible they are (even within the 60 refund guarantee period).
Name:
Date: August 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

rosebloom web mail has been down for three weeks and they tell me they’re working on it. At least I could get a reasonable explanation when it was with the original owner. Not at all happy! If my staff took this long to restore a web site I’d have replaced them all. I suspect they were trying to upgrade and screwed it up.
Name:
Date: August 17, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

If you want a hosting company that has a lot of erors for your site and bad resposne time for when you need help, then Arvixe is for you. I got a hosting account with Arvixe for less than 4 months. During that time, I had nothing but problems with them. My site kept getting error messages, the first being a 552 Disk full error, in which I didn’t have much information on my site. Then, the next month, I got a file system error. SO, the following month later, I got a 502 Bad gateway. Later, more problems with my website going down. I couldn’t even change my PHP version…in which I got errors. I contacted support…it took them 17 days to respond…during that time I got a new hosting company. I can’t get a refund or any money back from this crappy company. The support team seem to all be located in India. Arvixe is the worst hosting company I have ever experienced. The are a bunch of crooks that take your money.

  • CONS: Bad customer support and Downtime
Name:
Date: August 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

After 3 years I will be forced to leave this hosting provider. I have shared hosting packet, they were good until last few days my site is offline most of the time and I can’t even access to WordPress dashboard because of 503 service unavailable error. I had contacted support before and I always got answer in few hours. Now my ticket is open for 3 days and no final solution for my site. On chat they say they are working on solution but I don’t get that solution.

  • PROS: price
  • CONS: everything else
Name:
Date: August 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

They suspended our sites for using too much resources. Even it was an easy issue to fix they took days, seven days to be exact to get the site online again. Now we ran in another issue and they suspended our sites. We submitted a ticket over two days ago and no response yet. Talk to Meghashree on live chat and she told me that our support ticket moved to priority and it’s been over twelve hours and no response yet. I wonder how they are managing to stay in business. This is our last attempt to try to solve this issue.

  • PROS: Any hosting is good, as long as we don’t get into any issues.
  • CONS: Their service. They won’t even check their support ticket for days.
Name:
Date: August 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Support is non existent. I bought a SSL cert almost 6 months aho, it still hasn’t been installed, and support does not contact me back. I’m currently looking to fire Arvixe, the danger is buying into a subsidiary. I own a lot of domains, they’re only hurting themselves.

  • PROS: Cheap.
  • CONS: Support is non existent. I bought a SSL cert almost 6 months aho, it still hasn’t been installed, and support does not contact me back. I’m currently looking to fire Arvixe, the danger is buying into a subsidiary. I own a lot of domains, they’re only hurting themselves.
Name:
Date: July 22, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I’m current customer of Arvixe but for past several months their services are going down the hill.

Support response time is extremely slow and poor.

Thought of moving out of Arvixe by transferring my domain to another registrar but sadly due to Auth Code having special characters in it, new registrar failed to have it transferred.

Support ticket created but no response. Regeneration of Autho Code return same code.

Name:
Date: July 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Domain wouldn’t resolve for over 2 months. No access to the web hosting folder either. Told by customer support “You aren’t the only one having problems.” – like that is any consolation. Had to move to another host. Arvixe refused any refund.

Since being bought up by EIG, there is no aspect of Arvixe hosting that is any good.

Name:
Date: July 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Very poor…. Poor . Frustrating service i get. My site down 3-5 days sometime 2 week. i try all shared , Business Windows , Linux hosting. Its wastage of money and time.
Name:
Date: June 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Used to be a great service provider! Do not ever never use their service even for FREE. There is nothing called Customer Service at this so-called company, no more!
Name:
Date: May 31, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I’ve cancelled my Arvixe account due to problems with their service and they are still trying to bill me a year later! Their customer support is horrible! Find another hosting service as this one is brain dead.

  • PROS: None!
  • CONS: Non-functional tech support! Billing you after canceling!
Name:
Date: May 25, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Arvixe is hands down the worst hosting company that ive ever dealt with. As stated, uptime is a huge issue. When your site does go down, it takes hours to get a hold of anyone if at all. When you do get a hold of someone, all they do is open a ticket for you and tell you that someone will be contacting you. Then, 2 days later, you’ll get a vague email from them requiring you to email them back again and wait another day. I had registered 3 hosting accounts with them and put in a request to cancel all of them two weeks ago. It is now 2 weeks later and they are still showing as active.

Pros: price

Cons: everything else

Name:
Date: May 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

no phone support, ignorant customer support people, support really sucks !!

LEAVE !

Pros: cheap

Cons: no phone support, ignorant customer support people, support really sucks !!

LEAVE !

Name:
Date: May 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Just quit Arvixe. Uptime was great, and the platform is user friendly… but the support was absolutely terrible! I had two big issues: a third-party service was getting a 406 http error when trying to crawl my site (I suspect this happens to everyone who’s hosted with them), and 90% of emails sent to my site’s email account were NOT arriving. Well, the support guys basically showed ZERO genuine interest in helping me… they copy-pasted something useless and generic every time, and what’s worse: when my tickets (this happened in both occasions) were upgraded to be looked into by a chief technical person, I never heard back from them ever again. So degradating! And apart from that, there’s no way I can remove my cc or paypal account from their system… no link or place to do that. That tells you a lot about their philosophy :(

Pros: uptime, user-friendly

Cons: support, technical stuff, impossible to remove your cc or paypal

Name:
Date: May 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Down time is unbelievable!! Left down for 24 hours (still down), I’m certainly losing business with ****** Arvixe!!! No recommended at all. If you send a support ticket, it will be answered immediately–after the problem is solved, which might take a few days!!! I contacted billing on a very urgent issue that should have been resolved BEFORE renewal. They replied about 10 days after renewal!!

Cons: Miserable up time. Very poor, unreliable service.

Name:
Date: May 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Not sure how Arvixe is getting such positive reviews.

We purchased 3 different hosting plans, none of them went smooth to start with. Not sure, whats the technical glitch that goes bad during the setup. And your account gets screwed. We spent 3 days for the setup. But still no proper solution.

Support team gives excuses of 5 mins to look at the ticket / talk to the engineers. Finally come up with sad response, the team is looking into it.

Name:
Date: May 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Arvixe is the WORST hosting company. The wait time is ridiculous and when you do get through to someone, they can’t help. All you are getting is a call center located aboard. My site has been down for over a day and counting (not to mention all the other times). And now when I reach their ‘support’ there are little kids screaming in the background. Their overseas call center must be located in a Chucke Cheese. I have been with them for years, but this past year is has gone from bad to terrible. Time to dump them.

Pros: no pros

Cons: cons - see my post.

Name:
Date: April 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

Rather sorry to have to be leaving this review, but recent experience compels me to, and I see I am not alone. I moved several sites to Arvixe a couple of years ago. No real problems in the migration and, as the main review indicates the features offered were unbeatable at the price. I would have to say that when all is running well I am getting good speeds and good uptime (although when the server does go down, why am I the first one to notice?) But, if there are problems, forget it. Effectively there is no support. Most recently some crucial emails failed to get delivered and I discovered that the cpanel mail trace function had been removed when they put an outgoing spam filter on the server, without notifying customers. No problem, support could arrange a trace. And then support disappeared. No reply for weeks. Still waiting.
Name:
Date: April 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

My company had been with Arvixe for about five years. After they “upgraded” our server last month our web sites were down more than they were up. We have moved the hosting to another provider. Since then, I have spent two weeks trying to get a valid authorization code to transfer the remaining bit of involvement we have with Arvixe. Arvixe support is incompetent. They don’t bother reading about the problem and keep sending generic try again messages. I have filed complaints with the BBB and ICANN. The farther I can distance my company from Arvixe the better.

Pros: Competitive price

Cons: Support is worse than incompetent. After a recent server “upgrade” our web sites were down more than they were up. I don’t care what it costs. If your web sites are down there is a negative value.

Name:
Date: March 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I have been with Arvixe for a number of years and until recently, was fairly satisfied with them. The last several months have seen a steady decline in their ability to keep my website online. At this point, the site it down for some amount of time nearly every day. When I call, I get people who have no idea what they’re doing other than to open a ticket and push it to the Windows App team, whatever that means. They also promise to keep me informed as to progress via email. The problem is that my email is on the same server (Rosebloom) and is also down. It’s ridiculous. Don’t use them. In fact, run. Screaming.

Pros: none

Cons: too many to name

Name:
Date: March 16, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Never Ever pay Arvixe account!! worst ever!

Pros: NONE

Cons: Servers are more down that up! customer support.. there is none! arvixe servers have been hacked serveral times!!

AVOID!!!

Name:
Date: February 16, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

the worst hosting services provider ever!!

If you create an invoice with fake name

arvixe will delete your account and steal your money

ask for a refund is a hardest and useless job.

Live support is a joke.

Pros: don’t get any

Cons: full of bad experience

Name:
Date: February 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

This is one of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with - I recommend that you do not use them as your hosting service. Dealing with this company will make you appreciate good companies. Their web page states “contact us and you will experience the true meaning of customer service.” What a big fat lie or a joke on their customers!!! You are constantly on hold and they do not answer complaints or service tickets.

Their billing is not in accordance with the terms and agreements and just try to get their billing department to answer a call.

Pros: There are no pros - None. This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked with - I recommend that you do not use them as your hosting service.

Cons: Their web page states “contact us and you will experience the true meaning of customer service.” What a big fat lie!!!! You are constantly on hold and they do not answer complaints or services tickets.

Name:
Date: February 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Run as fast as you can. Been with Arvixe 5 years. Customer service was great until late 2014. Customer service is now literally non-existent. Constant server migrations and a data center migration left us without email for days twice all the while excuse after excuse. We will be moving from Arvixe ASAP. If you want customer service over the weekend, LOL, good luck. Three times for 30 minutes each time waiting on live chat with no response. Sent support ticket in on Friday. no answer. Replied two more times over the weekend. No response. Called Monday morning and waited 40 minutes on phone before getting someone with horrible VoIP from some distant land with dozens of people talking in the background. He absolutely refused to give me tech support telling me everything is handle by the ticketing system. We have major problems going on and we’re just not going to go back and forth with tech support via email. They give their new customers windows 2012 servers with SQL 2014 but refuse to upgrade their loyal PAYING customers who have been with them for years to new technology so their old customers languish on MS Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008. Heck I have SQL 2016 at home and the databases I build with it can’t even be uploaded or restored to a 2008 SQL server even targeting the database for SQL 2008. AS STATED RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN. WE’RE DONE WITH ARVIXE!!!

Pros: None!!!

Cons: Everything is a con with Arvixe.

Name:
Date: February 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I was on hold for up to 3 hours on the phone. This is definitely the worst customer i have ever heard of. Please, do go with a different company.

Pros: There are none, the servers crash ever other day. You can tell that this company is not maintained.

Cons: Everything. I would never recommend this company to any one else, ever.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 5 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.24

Support: 0.60

Speed: 1.00

Features: 2.40

Uptime: 1.20

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: August 29, 2018
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 0.40

DO NOT USE ARVIXE FOR WEB HOSTING! Whomever you choose as a hosting company, just make sure it is NOT Arvixe VPS. The horror stories I can tell you about their poor customer service, their very untalented support personnel, the long wait times to try to reach someone. They even recently disabled the ability to turn in a trouble ticket, for pete’s sake! Lack of reimbursement or remuneration for problems they caused, and on and on.

I have been in the computer industry since 1978 and have had a number of different web hosting companies for my business since 1996. I have a ton of experience in this arena, and I can say that by far, hands down, without a question, Arvixe is the WORST choice I have ever made. Go with Databank or CF Web hosting - any one but Arvixe!

Worst. Hosting. Service. Ever.

Name:
Date: February 22, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

ARVIXE IS A IMPOSTOR, period.

NOTE: I am not sure this website is working with Arvixe or is neutral in this regard. I assume it is neutral. I have been with Arvixe for almost 3 years. Since they screwed up recently (know the story) I have had constant VPS server failures since past one year. As a semi retired I spent almost all my saving and it took over 1.5 year to complete the complicated coding of my website. exactly when I had no more money but ready to start my young/new business the trouble with Arvixe started. As example, since past 60 days I have had only about 6 days of running web site (all records are archived). I have lost: 1- My business (almost) 2- SEO rank (plus costs) 3- Customers 4- Reputation 5- My Money 6- My confident

ARVIXE IS AN IMPOSTOR, DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM.

Name:
Date: February 14, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Our nightmare began over the Christmas season, core application and website down, no email, and no support from Arvixe. It was unbelievable. Apparently due to DNS configuration problems at Arvixe. We temporarily used another web hosting provider to restore email and website, as it took Arvixe weeks to (partially) sort out their problems. We still have unresolved issues and the response from Arvixe “support” staff is abysmal.
Name:
Date: February 3, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I got Arvixe VPS since 2015. At the beginning it was good. As soon as they were bought by an other company they started screwing my website by their migration. My website is HIGHLY dependant to its two static IP addresses for API communication with other servers. By adding a third IP and switching the IPs they completely screwed up my system and my business operation. Only in 2016 I had about 25 DAYS server down time. It ruined my just-started business and the SEO including the money I spent for that. Their support is basically a joke. I AM HOPING BY WRITING THIS REVIEW I SAVE AT LEAST ONE PERSON FROM THEIR DISASTER.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 7 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.54

Support: 3.00

Speed: 5.14

Features: 5.43

Uptime: 5.00

Value: 4.14

Name:
Date: July 10, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

Arvixe is fine until you need support from them. I signed up for a VPS and everything was running smoothly, except that Reverse DNS was not configured. I sent a request to support to set it up (which cannot be donde from end user side) but is very simple to do. After one month and countless times of contacting them via their live chat, ticket system and even phone, the Reverse DNS has not been setup. Thus I have opned a VPS account at another host and guess what, after less than one hour of setting up the new account, PTR (reverse DNS) has been setup. Arvixe support is unexistent and when they do appear are utterly incompetent. Stay away people.
Name:
Date: May 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

After being with Arvixe for years I finally gave up with them. I had both BusinessClass and VPSClass subcriptions which both withing last 12 months are more suitable for hobbyist.

VPS used to be rock solid but nowadays is online maybe 50% of the time. Live chat went from stellar to a joke in less than 6 months.

Do your research if you are looking for a host and avoid anything which relates to EIG. Arvixe is perfect example of EIG’s skill of destroying a good hosting companies.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Support has no idea what they are doing Real uptime is around 60-70%, not 99.9% Live chat with support is useless

Name:
Date: May 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Horrible. Used to be good. Support is now horrible. They changed phone support to 9-5 then got rid of it all together. Their network goes down every month or two. We had their cloud server. Cancelled it and then they billed us for the extra ssd drive and then refused to refund the money. How they justify billing for a serverless ssd is unbelievable. We moved to liquidweb. 1000x better. Support by chat or phone is very quick and support personnel are knowledgeable and caring. This was true of Arvixe phone support if you waited an hour to speak to one. But that’s gone now. Also lots of billing issues. Clearly Arvixe was acquired and new owner is moving the business into cash cow mode. If you need support stay away from Arvixe. Go to liquidweb. We got a dedicated server that is far superior for the same price and vastly superior support.

Pros: Used to be good.

Cons: Slow servers. Abysmal support. Billing errors. Poor uptime.

Name:
Date: January 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

ARVIXE is going down the hill. I started using their services a while ago (maybe 5 years ago) they were amazing, but recently they have gotten terrible. You call them, the rep says I cannot do anything, you chat with them they say I cannot do anything. So they create a ticket for you which takes for ever to get resolved. I asked to talk to the people responsible and the management team, the rep told me you have to email [email protected] I asked for a number, nothing! Apparently the company is becoming a virtual company now! No one cares about you, and no one is there to help you if you run into an issue. I have 2 services with them, a VPS and a Pro windows hosting account, but they just dont care about costumers! Stay away from them!

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

Name:
Date: October 29, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

A couple of days ago I purchased the VPS Class package. Before I bought it, I asked Arvixe’s support team if they had servers on EU. Once I found out that there were servers on EU, I attempted to purchase a VPS package. However, during the buying stages, I wasn’t asked for server locations I wanted, so I initially set them on US servers. The pain began when I opened up a support ticket to migrate over to EU. Another ticket got opened on the issue by a support staff member. After a couple of hours, I was asked for my permission to have all data wiped.

I responded immediately and received a response telling me that my new service was on a provision queue and that the server would be ready shortly. It took over a day, and then I received an email asking for my permission to have the data wiped. My previous permission was somehow ignored or lost. I sent another approval, however the server status stayed stuck in setup. (At that point it should have been at provisioning). I then attempted to contact live support. For a really long time I never got the right answer. Maybe it was because it was the weekend. To make a long story story, the whole process took almost 3 days to be migrated over to EU.

Also, the EU server’s bandwidth appears to be weak. I didn’t ask to get a full refund since I don’t want to have to start all over with the setup. Arvixe seems somewhat overrated in my opinion.

Name:
Date: July 25, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I have tried multiple hosting providers over the years, and Arvixe certainly ranks up there with the best of them. I have a small business, so I tried their VPSClass Pro service. This service provides unlimited bandwidth, 100GB of disk space, and other bonuses such as Google Adwords credits, WHMCS license, all for a low fee of $70! In the 7 month time span that I have been with Arvixe, I haven’t had any issues with my VPS server going down or losing service. There were a few minor issues I ran across when first setting up a custom DNS, but thankfully the Arvixe support staff was incredibly helpful, and I was able to get everything resolved in a very timely manner. Whether your company is big, small, or a full sized corporation, I strongly suggest giving Arvixe an opportunity to provide you with hosting. You won’t be disappointed.
Name:
Date: May 20, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

My website is down a lot of the time. I hate to have to deal with all the hassles of moving my site, but I have decided it is time for me to go.

My email ip is blocked so much that it is tagged for spam. It’s been a big headache to get Comcast and other ISPs to unblock it.

It’s time for me to move someplace else.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 2.80

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: June 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Arvixe used to be a great company with great service. We as an Internet Service Provider in California are just waiting on deploying our own in-house server to finally get rid of Arvixe once and for all. Too sad to see good companies going down the hill. Their support is terribly awful like many other reviews say.

  • PROS: Uptime.
  • CONS: Non-existing support.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 2.60

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 5.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 5.00

Name:
Date: May 22, 2017
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I’ve been with Arvixe for several years, and while they were good in the beginning, I’ve recently had to cut ties due to their complete and utter incompetence. The price of their service is good, but you ultimately pay for it.

I’ve had slow/completely unhelpful ticket responses before, and even had a customer service agent tell me that they’d complete an action on my account that they never did (I had to go back a second time to another agent to have the problem fixed), but last month I reached the breaking point. I had my yearly hosting renewal coming up for a business that had closed, so two weeks beforehand I went in to my account to close things down only to find that my credit card had been charged earlier than they’d previously indicated it would. I was very willing to be reasonable and allow them to rectify this mistake, but unfortunately all I received was a maddening back-and-forth of canned responses telling me that they wouldn’t provide a refund and that all they’d do was give me a ‘credit’ on my account for future purchases. Considering how helpful they’ve been thus far, I had absolutely no interest in any more of their ‘services’. Now I’m out $60 for a year’s worth of hosting.

Bottom line: look elsewhere. There are plenty of other services that provide much better customer care than this. I wouldn’t waste your time or patience trying to deal with this company.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a money-back guarantee? If so how long?

Yes, Arvixe offers a 60-day money-back guarantee for new shared hosting accounts. Refunds are available for hosting costs only, with add-ons such as domain registrations or SSL certificates specifically excluded. Any claim must be made within 60 days of opening your hosting account with Arvixe.

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

Editor, SEO Consultant, & Developer.

Jonathan Griffin is The Webmaster's Editor & CEO, managing day-to-day editorial operations across all our publications. Jonathan writes about Development, Hosting, and SEO topics for The Webmaster and The Search Review with more than nine years of experience. Jonathan also manages his own SEO consultancy, offering SEO developer services. He is an expert on site-structure, strategy, Schema, AMP, and technical SEO. You can find Jonathan on Twitter as @thewebmastercom.

Read more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.

Table of Contents