GoDaddy Reviews - Page 2

Rated 4.76 / 10 by 22 Users

Visit GoDaddy
GoDaddy Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 4.76

Support: 4.23

Speed: 5.00

Features: 4.77

Uptime: 5.05

Value: 4.77

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“GoDaddy is one of the largest web hosting providers in the world, and primarily focuses on small business owners.

They offer a great range of services and are ideal for people just starting out with their web presence. They are one of the most popular domain registrars. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from GoDaddy:

  • 30% Off All New Products
  • $1 pm cPanel Hosting
  • 28% Off VPS Hosting
  • $0.99 Top Level Domain Coupon
GoDaddy Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

This is page two of our GoDaddy review showing user reviews only. Click here to read our full commentary on page one.

Users Reviews (Rated 4.76 / 10)

We read every review left by our users, and mark the ones we consider as being the most helpful.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 22 reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.76

Support: 4.23

Speed: 5.00

Features: 4.77

Uptime: 5.05

Value: 4.77

Name:
Date: November 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: html, php and mysql based

User Rating: 10.00

EXCELLENT
Name:
Date: August 26, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I have used them since 2006, and despite a few problems they have always been very helpful. I really like all the different services they offer so I can deal with everything in one place.
Name:
Date: December 10, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I have been with GoDaddy for nearly 15 years with many different websites and projects. There support response times are always good, and I like their cPanel. Although I find it hard to find what I need to do, their support are very helpful when I ask them for help.
Name:
Date: December 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Like you, I have seen the many commercials put out by them. I admit, they sucked me in and made me remember them when I went to sign up for web hosting services. Because of their slick marketing campaign, they were the first people I checked out. After a lot of comparison shopping, I ended up going with GoDaddy’s CPanel hosting option.

I’ve been using it for about six months now. I got a pretty good deal for it as they were having a nice sale. Got about 30% off their usual plan (for life!) and it included free domain registration. So I was ready to go in as little as 48 hours once I created my account.

Using the CPanel is pretty easy. Everything is clearly labeled, although things can get a little cluttered and sometimes it takes me a few minutes to find the panel I need. But I attribute that more to my own Luddite lifestyle than their cruddy UI. (It’s not cruddy. I just make it cruddy.) Once I know where something is though, it’s easy for me to find again.

I had some difficult understanding online FTP and how to upload things. I ended up looking at a few Wikis provided by the website which were clear and easy to read. I also had a billing issue that made me panic a little (they were going to charge me for two years up front) and I had to get on the phone right away. I talked to a very nice lady. Real people? Plus! I’m not gonna pretend it was a quick and painless conversation, but she was very polite and did everything she could to get my billing issue sorted out. Twenty minutes later the double charge was redacted.

So there have been some bumps along the way, but for the most part I’ve been happy with my selection of their CPanel hosting service. Are there better service options out there? Undoubtedly. But for this geezer who can barely type most days, I find the easy to use interface of the CPanel exactly what I need. I would recommend it to hobby designers or people who only need to put up a quick and painless website.

Plus, it helps to have good customer service, and that’s exactly what I got. So props to them for that. I look forward to working with them some more!

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I don’t why people hate GoDaddy so much. When I started my WordPress Blog I was struggling with quite a few things, from setting up various plugins to how to customize certain things on the site. Despite always working on the site very late I was always able to quickly telephone them to get some help.

I thought that they would get fed up with me after the first couple of calls, but they remained very helpful and helped me fix all the issues I came across. I am most likely going to upgrade to their specialised WordPress hosting soon as well, as the support technicians seem to recommeA

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

As someone who is a GoDaddy Turnkey reseller I am perhaps best placed to offer a Review of their services. Without a doubt, they are one of the best value web hosting providers available. The new cPanel hosting is very very good, and the negativity that was very popular a year or so ago about their old dashboard is no longer relevant. They are a very different company now, and the service gets better and better all the time. Whenever you need help fast, you can quickly telephone them and get the support you need.

One of the great things though about them is the ease with which you can manage your hosting account with the brilliantly styled cPanel control panel. Plus, buying domains from them is one of the cheapest ways to do it, and they have great offers ALL the time.

So, can’t recommend them enough.

Name:
Date: May 30, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

It was not our choice to leave them after countless wasted hours with your several of their tech support people we were finally told that their excuse for their systems not working was that we had Apple computers. The company is impossible to reach for support. Their technicians are badly trained. Their general arrogance is mind boggling. And finally their promised money back offer turning out to be a credit for services when we are leaving them is a scam. They can keep their credit. We have opted to put them into the stockade of public opinion via youtube, blog, email, and negative reviews every chance the people in our company have. Thanks for 5 years of excuses, spotty service, and poor business ethics. This was just practice for what we intend to say about your company in the future. They rank in the lower satisfaction ratings online and we now know why.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 15 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 5.73

Support: 5.20

Speed: 5.87

Features: 5.93

Uptime: 5.93

Value: 5.73

Name:
Date: November 9, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: html, php and mysql based

User Rating: 10.00

EXCELLENT
Name:
Date: October 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Once a good company but now they are upselling like WellsFargo. Stay away. Many better options. + PROS: Once a good company - CONS: upselling like WellsFargo. reducing space or storage or file limits or emails. Misrepresenting new product capabilities. Repeatedly needing to upgrade when little new added.
Name:
Date: September 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

They are an extremely shady outfit…while the prices are low, none of what they said on the phone turned out to be true and they kept charging my card. + PROS: Cheap - CONS: very shady…that refund policy was 30 days for me, and they ping-ponged me through customer service until it was 35 days then said I was out of luck
Name:
Date: August 26, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

I have used them since 2006, and despite a few problems they have always been very helpful. I really like all the different services they offer so I can deal with everything in one place.
Name:
Date: August 5, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I have a GD cPanel shared hosting account which include email accounts. I set up whatever email accounts I needed in cPanel for convenience. All was good until a couple weeks ago when all cPanel outgoing email started experiencing long delays (10 minutes – 12 hours). That’s right hours.

I thought it might be a temporary problem, but it didn’t improve. I called/chatted with tech support, tweaked a couple of settings but still no improvement. Eventually I was told, it was the norm on their shared hosting, accept it, and by the way we’d be happy to set you up with a separate email account that will work for an extra monthly charge.

I’m not sure if it’s an intentional slowdown to up-sell people to separate email accounts, or a severely under-resourced SMTP server. I have the feeling it’s an attempt by management to squeeze more revenue out of their customer base. Either way, it’s not right. Don’t include email with cPanel if it’s not going to work.

I only have a few email accounts to migrate but it’s still a hassle. I feel sorry for anybody that might have 100’s. I also feel sorry for the GD tech people that have no other option than to explain over and over that cPanel email doesn’t work and try to make the up-sell.

Name:
Date: June 17, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

This is by far the worst hosting company we’ve EVER used. From day one godaddy monitoring shows the site up and down numerous times most days. Now on month two I get a note saying they will be down while they upgrade to SSDs. Two days later the site begins constantly going down until eventually it’s down for the count. Perhaps a coincidence but two days after they say it will be down for maintenance and now they claim it’s due to ddos attacks. Down for a week and counting? Customer Services comments on support amount to basically saying “hurry up and wait”. Done! Absolutely horrid non-service. + PROS: Initially seems sort of ok - CONS: HORRIBLE conectivity issues and Customer Service doesn’t seem to care. They just keep sending messages saying fixed, down, fixed down etc yet it’s yet to be fixed despite their claims. After a week the server is still down. The worst we’ve ever used!!!
Name:
Date: May 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Cancellation Reason: Worse customer service ever! During sign up process the information provided was that I could enter the EPP number of the domain I want to transfer from GoDaddy after completion of sign up process. When I returned to the site to update EPP number, they asked for $15 fee to transfer, which I was willing to pay BUT the web interface kept saying product not in the cart to complete transaction. I chatted with their agent who was not helpful at all and opened a ticket After 2 days I opened another ticket but no response. For such a simple thing when you are acquiring a new customer, they have such BAD customer service… I just cannot imagine what it will be like afterwards. And they do not have any phone number to call either. Also, they said 90 days money back guarantee and now while cancelling they said my account was non-refundable… simply amazing customer service. I have NEVER experienced such bad customer service from anyone for new customers in my life even not from telephone service providers who are the worst. Gosh!

Pros: Attractive plans

Cons: Worst customer service

Name:
Date: December 10, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

Do not use GoDaddy. There are several better choices.

Cons: The resources are so low they are always trying to upsell, even after telling me that I would not have any problems with my current setup.

Name:
Date: December 10, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I have been with GoDaddy for nearly 15 years with many different websites and projects. There support response times are always good, and I like their cPanel. Although I find it hard to find what I need to do, their support are very helpful when I ask them for help.
Name:
Date: July 2, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Good for linux hosting not for windows hosting

Pros: Good for linux hosting

Cons: limited support limited size of sql server database

Name:
Date: December 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Like you, I have seen the many commercials put out by them. I admit, they sucked me in and made me remember them when I went to sign up for web hosting services. Because of their slick marketing campaign, they were the first people I checked out. After a lot of comparison shopping, I ended up going with GoDaddy’s CPanel hosting option.

I’ve been using it for about six months now. I got a pretty good deal for it as they were having a nice sale. Got about 30% off their usual plan (for life!) and it included free domain registration. So I was ready to go in as little as 48 hours once I created my account.

Using the CPanel is pretty easy. Everything is clearly labeled, although things can get a little cluttered and sometimes it takes me a few minutes to find the panel I need. But I attribute that more to my own Luddite lifestyle than their cruddy UI. (It’s not cruddy. I just make it cruddy.) Once I know where something is though, it’s easy for me to find again.

I had some difficult understanding online FTP and how to upload things. I ended up looking at a few Wikis provided by the website which were clear and easy to read. I also had a billing issue that made me panic a little (they were going to charge me for two years up front) and I had to get on the phone right away. I talked to a very nice lady. Real people? Plus! I’m not gonna pretend it was a quick and painless conversation, but she was very polite and did everything she could to get my billing issue sorted out. Twenty minutes later the double charge was redacted.

So there have been some bumps along the way, but for the most part I’ve been happy with my selection of their CPanel hosting service. Are there better service options out there? Undoubtedly. But for this geezer who can barely type most days, I find the easy to use interface of the CPanel exactly what I need. I would recommend it to hobby designers or people who only need to put up a quick and painless website.

Plus, it helps to have good customer service, and that’s exactly what I got. So props to them for that. I look forward to working with them some more!

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I don’t why people hate GoDaddy so much. When I started my WordPress Blog I was struggling with quite a few things, from setting up various plugins to how to customize certain things on the site. Despite always working on the site very late I was always able to quickly telephone them to get some help.

I thought that they would get fed up with me after the first couple of calls, but they remained very helpful and helped me fix all the issues I came across. I am most likely going to upgrade to their specialised WordPress hosting soon as well, as the support technicians seem to recommeA

Name:
Date: May 30, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

It was not our choice to leave them after countless wasted hours with your several of their tech support people we were finally told that their excuse for their systems not working was that we had Apple computers. The company is impossible to reach for support. Their technicians are badly trained. Their general arrogance is mind boggling. And finally their promised money back offer turning out to be a credit for services when we are leaving them is a scam. They can keep their credit. We have opted to put them into the stockade of public opinion via youtube, blog, email, and negative reviews every chance the people in our company have. Thanks for 5 years of excuses, spotty service, and poor business ethics. This was just practice for what we intend to say about your company in the future. They rank in the lower satisfaction ratings online and we now know why.
Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

I have nothing good to say about GoDaddy. I hosted my very first site with them a few years ago, and as many of the commentators already stated, the support was practically none existent. However, who knows, maybe they have bettered themselves since then.
Name:
Date: November 19, 2013
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

I moved my successful running website to them and had a hard time to make my website run in the new environment, since basic stuff like sending email is blocked. I managed to bring the website up and it was running fine for few months. Then they moved it to a new environment, without telling me what has changed, just blaming that my code was the problem, when the site did not run anymore. I spent months and ten thousands of USD just to figure out what they did. In the end I gave up.

You should be more careful about your assumptions (like: If your site is so critical, and complex …, you should try another hoster, …) before you want to advice other people. The facts are:

  • My website did run without any problem with ANOTHER hoster for 5 years ! Unfortunately, I could no longer host there, so I moved to GoDaddy

  • My website used to run fine with them !!! Until THEY moved it to another server.

  • I spent several months of MY TIME (>100000$), believing their support that all is my mistake.

  • Their support has absolutely no understanding of ASP.NET. Example: They said my session configuration was wrong because of a funny IP address in it. But if they would understand anything about ASP.NET session configuration, they would know that with InProcess management, ASP.NET does not read the IP parameter at all. This was even highlighted in the link to Stackoverflow they provided. Which shows that they don’t read/understand the links they provide.

  • Their support does not know what their own engineers are doing. Some support people kept telling me that my website runs now in a farm, while other support people kept telling me that it is not. When I highlighted this discrepancy to them, they apologised saying the other support person is wrong.

  • I could go on and on with obviously and utterly wrong answers from their support

  • They are even not able to provide session management settings for their own environment. The settings I chose worked with the previous hoster, with the old server and on my laptop. I don’t know the difference between the 2 servers, but they really should know. I asked them many times for sample settings, they always refused to do so,

I didn’t move to a new hoster yet, For months I thought I am close to getting up again, then I run simply out of time. Please note that this is not a commercial website, but a website I wrote for discussion among my friends.First I thought if it is down for few week that is not so bad. But now it has become months,

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 5.00

Support: 4.00

Speed: 5.50

Features: 4.50

Uptime: 5.50

Value: 5.50

Name:
Date: June 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am starting a business with fairly limited funds. On 416, I purchased the website builder and domain. Bc my funds are limited, I paid for 5 years of service upfront. I was trying to build an online store but I could not get the look that I wanted. So I called Go Daddy to cancel & they suggested that I upgrade to their store front platform. So I did but because the storefront is more expensive, I had to add $300 to my credit so that my next payment would not be until 2018.

After several calls/texts to Go Daddy tech support over the next few weeks, I find out that I cannot add any social medial pixels for tracking or do subscription billing bc THE ONLINE STORE DOESN’T ALLOW FOR HTML CODES! I immediately ask for a refund but they denied my request. The suggested that I upgrade to a different product. My obligation was only month to month but they are trying to keep my money bc I paid in advance ($611.40 total). WHAT A SCAM!!

I am disputing this charge thru my bank. BUYER BEWARE!! + PROS: none - CONS: tech support is limited. overpriced compared to competitors. server is super slow

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

As someone who is a GoDaddy Turnkey reseller I am perhaps best placed to offer a Review of their services. Without a doubt, they are one of the best value web hosting providers available. The new cPanel hosting is very very good, and the negativity that was very popular a year or so ago about their old dashboard is no longer relevant. They are a very different company now, and the service gets better and better all the time. Whenever you need help fast, you can quickly telephone them and get the support you need.

One of the great things though about them is the ease with which you can manage your hosting account with the brilliantly styled cPanel control panel. Plus, buying domains from them is one of the cheapest ways to do it, and they have great offers ALL the time.

So, can’t recommend them enough.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.80

Support: 1.00

Speed: 2.00

Features: 2.00

Uptime: 2.00

Value: 2.00

Name:
Date: April 6, 2017
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Ordered product on 3/22/17 and after working with filling shop with products, proceeded to work on other items along with SEO. I found a glitch in the SEO software and called Tech Support on 3/30/2017. Spoke to 4 different tech support “experts” before Tanner helped me a little. He said he would put a ticket into Advanced Tech support to fix the glitch (he admitted glitch was on their end). I gave them about a week before I called back and spoke to Mike in tech support. He said Advanced Tech support was aware of glitch, but hadn’t been fixed yet and couldn’t give me a time frame to be fixed (He also admitted it was a glitch on their end). Asked for supervisor and spoke to Tucker. He said same thing, that it could be a year or more before glitch was fixed. Then I called customer service for a refund, but they said no refund on monthly products, even though it was a defective product.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Managed WordPress Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.00

Support: 1.00

Speed: 1.00

Features: 1.00

Uptime: 1.00

Value: 1.00

Name:
Date: March 7, 2017
Hosting Type: Managed WordPress Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Terrible. I paid $80 to for Expert Services WordPress Performance Review to get the speed on a website faster. I was told it would take 24 to 72hrs to get an expert to check it out, give me recommendation and perhaps even fix it.

4 days passed and I got an email from the wrong department to create a whole new website… I called in. You guys apologized for the delay/mistake and placed my request on priority. I was told it would take up to another 24hrs to get an email with recommendations and/or the site would go faster.

I got an email a few hours later. It was crap and not truthful. I said that my site loaded under 6sec. It does not, it takes 13.6 per GTmetrix. I got nothing for $80. The recommendations were not useful and written for someone completely inexperienced. My programmer even told me to ask for a refund.

I want my money back or someone who will actually try to help. I had also mentioned that there is a 5 second lag from request to first byte received (we think that it is a server problem - no one addressed this). Also, there is 21 second load time for images (totally not acceptable and again potentially a server issue.) Oh, one more thing I forgot to mention, I was told that I would be able to talk to the person making the recommendations, if not email them… I was not able to email them since their email came from no-reply@godaddy.com and I was not able to talk to them either when I called.

Really disappointing. I will not recommend this service to any my clients ever again.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Domain Registrar Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 1.60

Support: 2.00

Speed: 2.00

Features: 0.00

Uptime: 2.00

Value: 2.00

Name:
Date: August 21, 2018
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 1.60

I see all of this wonderful hype about Go Daddy … I purchased my domain name, their website builder and paid for them to host everything. Over the course of 2 years I received numerous contact from their affiliates around the world trying to sell me their services … obviously my domain name was passed around! I did not receive one business inquiry in 2 years. I just received an auto-renewal notice and their hosting fee is now up to $360 +/-. I have recommended GoDaddy to associates but not anymore, there is no web “exposure” unless you purchase add-ons .. very disappointing and I’ve cancelled all accounts!
Table of Contents