Just Host Reviews

Rated 3.74 / 10 by 14 Users

Visit Just Host
Just Host Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 3.74

Support: 3.14

Speed: 3.57

Features: 4.71

Uptime: 3.43

Value: 3.86

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“Despite looking reasonable on paper, as a brand they have difficulty shrugging off the fact that it is owned by EIG.

After the Arvixe migration debacle, another brand owned by EIG, many of the EIG brands suffered significant problems with their service throughout 2016 and 2017. The jury is still out. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from Just Host:

  • 50% Off All VPS Plans
  • 74% Off Shared Hosting
Just Host Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

Users Reviews (Rated 3.74 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 14 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 3.74

Support: 3.14

Speed: 3.57

Features: 4.71

Uptime: 3.43

Value: 3.86

Name:
Date: October 25, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: Use for email only

User Rating: 0.00

Truly poor service and support. I only use JustHost for managing email as I could not rely on their website hosting. Unfortunately, they have constant issues with their email hosting as well. A truly poorly managed company!
Name:
Date: December 9, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Justhost does not work, I buy the most expensive service that is Prime, never worked, my cpanel never worked and always says that it has an error: you need to communicate with the support service, the problem is that his support never answers the phone and his Chat does not work … then contact them via email and tell me that justhost is that I lost my money and there is nothing to do… If you lost you money JustHost is the best option…
Name:
Date: August 26, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

There is a reason why the positive reviews of JustHost over the internet are always many years old. It’s because this was a company that offered a good service in the past. Not in the last years. They have been facing quite a bit of spams and slow-downs. But the worse things happened to me int he last month. Keep reading, it will worth it, since I will save you future trouble.

After 7 years being a loyal costumer, last month my account was shutdown due to a payment being late. No problem, I contacted JustHost and asked if my data could still be recovered, since I was contacting in the last day of the deadline for the shutdown. In a chat session, support said that yes, they could. I paid for a month to see it that would be true. Nothing happened. I contacted the chat support again and informed the situation. The attendant said that no, actually all my files have been lost. I got upset, naturally. But in the middle of the session, the chat went offline. No problem, I tried a third time and after insisting on the situation, a senior specialist told that the information was incorrect: my files could be restored and in fact they were restored quite quickly to my File Manager within my CPanel.

However, my websites did not come on-line again. I did yet another fourth chat with the support team. I was told that I should only wait for the DNS addresses to be updated. Sure, I waited. After seeing that nothing happened, I tried another chat a day later. I was told the same thing again. Now, a month after that, and with yet another month paid, my sites are still offline. Guess what: today I did try another chat. I waited 20 minutes for an attendant to reply. Then, after 2 hours – yes, two hours – of chatting and waiting, I was told that my databases were missing! Yes, all my data gone. The attendant said he/she would search if there was a backup. Notice: “IF” there was backup – and I’ve been paying for that! At such point, my chat session crashed. What did I? Tried another chat session. This time a new attendant replied quickly, but took another 1 full hour to get to the same point where I was in the previous chat. He/she went even further and said that there were no databases associated to my account since before July 27th.

How can that even be possible? It seems that I was either 1) lied to when someone from the sales department said in July that if I paid the subscription the data would be restored; 2) lied to when told that my files and data were restored and that I should only wait for DNSs to be updated or 3) the support team of JustHost did recover my files but forgot to recover my databases! Please, I urge you to clarify which is the case. This treatment is absurd, fairly offensive I already contacted a lawyer in order to take legal actions against JustHost.

Name:
Date: May 17, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

JutHost will play with your credit card(i can prove it legally of course and they know what I’m talking about)- in UK we call these kind of people FRAUDSTERS and also nothing will ever work properly. JustHost is too expensive and their support team are clueless, so your stuff will never get straighten up EVER!!! My email hasn’t been working for almost 2 years…i just gave up of keep talking to them and basically waste my time. Many of their support team can’t even spell nor speak english. I mean its absolutely ridiculous. Bur listen to this: I will do anything & everything possible to take them down. That’s my promise to you! Might also help to google me (Cornelia Crisan) and understand how persistent & determined I am! Until then just try AVOID Justhost.

Pros: JutHost will play with your credit card(i can prove it legally of course and they know what I’m talking about)- in UK we call these kind of people FRAUDSTERS and also nothing will ever work properly. JustHost is too expensive and their support team are clueless, so your stuff will never get straighten up EVER!!! Stay clear !!! Run!!!

Cons: JutHost will play with your credit card(i can prove it legally of course and they know what I’m talking about)- in UK we call these kind of people FRAUDSTERS and also nothing will ever work properly. JustHost is too expensive and their support team are clueless, so your stuff will never get straighten up EVER!!! My email hasn’t been working for almost 2 years…i just gave up of keep talking to them and basically waste my time. Many of their support team can’t even spell nor speak english. I mean its absolutely ridiculous. Bur listen to this: I will do anything & everything possible to take them down. That’s my promise to you! Might also help to google me (Cornelia Crisan) and understand how persistent & determined I am! Until then just try AVOID Justhost.

Name:
Date: February 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Justhost seems good at first. Comprehensive cpanel, good price and package.

It has been a catastrophe. To summarise

-I had to pay 79eur to migrate my website -I experience frequent downtime -website and back end on Wp are extremely slow despite optimising database and images as much as possible -they dont respond to tickets. At best you get a canned response within a week. The only quick way to contact them is via the chat with a min of 20min waiting time -I am now trying to migrate to a new host and just host doesn’t provide the full cpanel back up making the migration a week later impossible to complete.

All in all just avoid!

Cons: It has been a catastrophe. To summarise

-I had to pay 79eur to migrate my website -I experience frequent downtime -website and back end on Wp are extremely slow despite optimising database and images as much as possible -they dont respond to tickets. At best you get a canned response within a week. The only quick way to contact them is via the chat with a min of 20min waiting time -I am now trying to migrate to a new host and just host doesn’t provide the full cpanel back up making the migration a week later impossible to complete.

All in all just avoid!

Name:
Date: February 10, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

WITH THIS KIND OF HOSTING YOUR SITE WILL NEVER GET A SINGLE VISITOR FROM SEARCH ENGINES, nightmare hosting for ORGANIC TRAFFIC. Don’t host on their servers even for free. just host is screwed, no support, no maintenance, servers, hacked, servers down for more than a month No proper reply. No monitoring of servers, all they ask for is to upgrade to dedicated or vps if you get an answer. Support takes almost an hour to connect , if it connects otherwise you could be sitting there all day. No on replies on support ticket for more than 10 days about server was down for nearly a month.

zero support, very poor technical maintenance of the hosting servers, almost negligent monitoring of server. My server was down for almost a month and admins had no idea and support didn’t even reply in 10 days.

Pros: none

Cons: no maintenance of servers. technically challenged admins of server. i had almost 70% downtime on my server, no reply from support after 10 days, live chat connects for sales but either it doesn’t connect for support or if it does they ask you to contact other department and this goes on until you move your site

Name:
Date: October 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

As for speed, I don’t know how they are since I don’t have Website. As for uptime, above I am referring to the problem lately of not being able to send and receive emails reliably.

Pros: Low cost

Cons: Poor support and poor service. Have had a terrible time with email syncing with IMAP accounts and significant problems recently concerning sending and receiving emails. It not worth my time to deal with all of the issues! If I’m not mistaken, I’ve been on the phone [perhaps around 1 12 hours and now things are worse, I can’t send and receive emails! Most of the time I’ve been on hold.

Name:
Date: June 3, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I spent hours on the phone today attempting to contact this company to resolve an issue. They never sent me any reminders of payments, even though they were due. Once I realized there was a problem and tried making them aware of it, there is still no resolution. I called the number that was designated for UK customers and I was given the runaround before being routed to the correct department. As I am writing this, I am waiting for the quick resolution that I was promised. This is a terrible situation to be in.

Pros: There aren’t many of them.

Cons: The service is purely diabolical.

Name:
Date: May 8, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Stay far, far away from this company. If you are interested in terrible email service and extended amounts of downtime, you will love them. I probably cannot write an honest review at this point because I am beyond frustrated. If you believe that not answering a support ticket after four days is acceptable, there is something wrong with you. This is not good JustHost. Not good at all.

Cons: There are too many to count

Name:
Date: December 14, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 7.00

Of course, the one thing that will make your entire hosting experience more pleasant will be the use of a decent host. The question I set out to explore was if it was possible to buy decent hosting very inexpensively, and JustHost seemed like a good website host to try. They offer really cheap prices for shared hosting, and I’d heard pretty good things about them on hosting forums.

I had to send in a few tickets. Most of these were in the beginning. They weren’t from real problems, but they were things that could have been documented a bit better. It turns out that most of the time, these things were really simple to understand, so I many have been over thinking everything a bit.

Anyway, the staff was really friendly when I did send in support tickets. They didn’t mind helping me resolve issues or answering my questions. The support team is great, and I believe that I got more than my money’s work out of the support team.

Support is mostly through email or a chat box. You really can’t expect to get one-on-one support over the phone or in person for this price. However, I think most of my emails got responded to very quickly, and I often got good answers during times when I didn’t even expect to. So, somebody’s staying up at night and on the weekends to babysit the tech support desk. That gives me a good feeling because my websites run 247.

Besides hosting for all kinds of websites, you also get email and other goodies with this host. For example, they make it very easy to set up WordPress sites and sites with other common types of software packages. On some cheap hosts, they just give you hosting with no email, so you end up spending more for extras. They do not seem to be playing these kinds of games.

Most of the time, everything runs just fine or is easy for me to figure out on my own. So, after getting my sites set up and running, I really didn’t contact them a lot.

Again, I have to say that the host company was very friendly and helpful when I did need them, so I can’t see why things would be different now. However, to be fair, I have not needed to contact the tech support desk for quite a few months. Of course, that is a good thing!

My experience is with the cheaper plan, and I’ve been pretty happy. If you really get a lot of traffic, you may want to do some research on other options. My site only gets a few hundred visitors a week, and the performance has been fine.

Since this is shared hosting, there is always a risk of things slowing down if your site or another one on your server gets really busy. But this is true of any shared host.

Name:
Date: October 16, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 7.00

There are a lot of inexpensive hosts on the market these days, but using one that doesn’t provide good support will just end up costing or losing money. I am happy to say that I count JustHost among the reliable inexpensive hosts that I use. I actually spread my websites out along a bunch of different sites because I work for different clients, and I don’t like to keep everything in one basket.

If you are like me, and you just need cheap hosts with the basics, you may be interested in knowing what I think about this solution. I don’t have experience with their upgraded plans, so you will have to do more research on your own for that.

Anyway, most of the features are pretty intuitive, and I haven’t needed a lot of support from the help desk. However, when I was getting everything set up, I did have a few questions that I didn’t think were that clearly answered in the help files. I communicated with them, and the tech guy went out of his way to set things up for me. In fact, he even offered to do things for me, and that offer was way beyond what I expected.

Like any cheaper shared host, you know you are sharing your server with a bunch of different websites. You have to rely upon the company to keep performance high even if one of those sites, or yours, gets hit with a lot of extra traffic. I’m happy to say that they have been pretty good.

There have been a couple of times that things slowed down, but the tech guys seemed to stay on top of it. I sent in a tech question, but I noticed that things got faster before I even got an answer. When I did get a reply, very quickly afterwards, I was happy to report back that everything seemed fine. The tech guy said he had balanced the load and sent a warning out to a site that needed to upgrade off of the shared hosting plan.

So, if you have a very large site that already gets tons of traffic every day, this cheaper hosting plan might not be the right solution. If you are like me, and you prefer quality traffic over massive quantity, or if you spread your traffic out between multiple sites and hosts, this is a great solution for you.

Really, the only thing they could do is have a better FAQ page and documentation. It seems like a few things about this host are unique, and they don’t really go into details, so that can get frustrating. As I wrote above, I use a lot of web hosts, so I think I should be able to find what I need without a lot of help.

However, the great support sort of makes up for it. I don’t know why they don’t save themselves some trouble in the future by updating their documentation and help files.

Name:
Date: September 27, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

We were stung after doing research into Justhost by checking out many different reviews, all of which ranked them in their top 3, boasting of great uptime, awesome performance and incredible customer service. We chose to go with them based on these reviews, and this turned out to be a massive mistake.

Starting with performance, all I can say is that it was terrible. We have a very small site that does not use many resources, but we found the site slow, with the site being throttled on many occasions with simple queries taking 5-10 seconds when they should be almost instantaneous. Raising these issues with their support didn’t help matters either.

For some reason our support tickets would take around 15 hours to get a response, give or take a few hours. What is worse is that the replies never really dealt with the issue and were more of a generic type answer to get us off their backs. Unfortunately, when each reply takes that length of time you end up banging your head against a brick wall. Eventually, after complaining about the slow support response times, the matter was put in the hands of a manager who apologized and said they were going to handle it personally. They never responded after that, and the issue remains outstanding.

After several more days, I decided to take the matter into my own hands and arrange to move to a new hosting provider. I just thought I would try one last time via their livechat to get a resolution to all of this, but it took 30 minutes to connect. The person on the livechat was useless, and after a while they escalated it to someone else. UNfortunately that person also had very little technical knowledge so I advised they should either contact my developer, or issue a refund. All they did was offer for a Director to contact me to try and resolve the issue.

So there we are, I have now moved to InMotion.

Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I just recently had a rather unpleasant experience with JustHost. I own 3 websites, which I was hosting with a German hosting company. I wanted to move because the websites I own target US visitors, and I wanted to move my sites to a US based host, hoping that the move will be good for SEO. I signed up with them because it did seem to offer a good deal at a rather cheap price. Unfortunately, though, just a few minutes after I had signed up and spent quite a bit of money, I realized that they are not for me. The problem was that while they let you host unlimited amount of sites, you have to have a main site, and the other sites must be on the sub-domains of your main site. Of course I wasn’t gonna make two of my niche sites sub-domains of my third niche site, so there was nothing left for me to do expect for ask for a refund (which I haven’t yet received, btw) and look elsewhere.

Nevertheless, I wouldn’t say that they are definitely a bad choice. If you are looking to host a single site or are okay with the sub-domain thing, they might just be all you are looking for.

Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

My experience with JustHost is not that good either. I decided to go with them because they offer ad credits worth $175. However, after I signed up, and went to claim my ad credits, they informed me that free ad credit offer is only for those located in US. Why does it not say that on the front page of their website?

Frequently asked questions

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

About the author

Editor at The Webmaster.

Jonathan Griffin has been the Lead writer at The Webmaster for the last 5 years. Having provided technical SEO, WordPresss development, and hosting services for clients, his passion remains to help small businesses and bloggers develop their online presence.

In his spare time, he loves to push his technical knowledge further, and regularly undertakes professional courses on subjects ranging from python development, digital marketing, and Google Analytics.

Find out more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.