Namecheap Reviews - Page 2

Rated 6.10 / 10 by 53 Users

Visit Namecheap
Namecheap Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 6.10

Support: 5.57

Speed: 6.38

Features: 6.06

Uptime: 6.47

Value: 6.04

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“Despite Namecheap’s reputation being primarily for their domain hosting, they offer a comprehensive set of web hosting services.

Their focus appears to be providing rock solid reliable hosting at very affordable prices. You’ll find they use top of the range hardware, including full SSD Storage, but may be lacking on some advanced technologies such as OpCache.”

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from Namecheap:

  • 10% Off All Domains Names
  • 50% Off all Shared Hosting Plans
  • 25% Off VPS all Hosting Plans
  • Select domains $0.88, plus Private Email
  • All .com TLDs are just $8.88.
Namecheap Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

This is page two of our Namecheap review showing user reviews only. Click here to read our full commentary on page one.

Users Reviews (Rated 6.10 / 10)

We read every review left by our users, and mark the ones we consider as being the most helpful.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 53 reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 6.10

Support: 5.57

Speed: 6.38

Features: 6.06

Uptime: 6.47

Value: 6.04

Name:
Date: June 2, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 8.80

not sure why anyone would say their support is lacking, they have online support that literally gets you instant responses
Name:
Date: April 30, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Support was amazing and very helpful. I’ve used them for several years, but I’m transferring away now because their website is completely unresponsive. Luckily, it wasn’t difficult at all and I had no trouble transferring from them.

Pros: Great support They don’t hold your domain hostage

Cons: Unresponsive website

Name:
Date: September 21, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 10.00

They always seem to reply very fast, and when buying domains and SSL certificates you really won’t get cheaper. I struggle to see how some of the other reviews posted have had problems as I have found them exceptional in almost every way. I am actually thinking of upgrading to their new SSD hosting for my ecommerce site, so will let you know how I get on with that in due course. Highly Recommend Namecheap!
Name:
Date: September 21, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

These guys are pretty awesome. I buy all my domains and Namecheap as well as SSL. They are always very helpful, and one of the cheapest companies around. Their interface is really good for managing the domains, and don’t think I would ever buy a domain anywhere else. Highly recommended.
Name:
Date: July 3, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Simply great Customer support. I had a problem and quickly contacted their support to see what the problem was. They identified it and had my website back up in minutes. They were very friendly, and clearly knew what to look for and how to fix the issue without delay or spending 20 minutes consulting with colleagues.
Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

I’ve used NameCheap as my main domain registrar for years now, and I must say, I haven’t had any problems, and their support is indeed highly knowledgeable and helpful. I haven’t, though, used their hosting service, but I’m planning to. I checked out their reseller hosting plans, and they look promising. I really like that they have severs located in UK as well (most of my clients are from UK).
Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

All of my domains are registered with Namecheap. However, I don’t use their hosting service either. Not sure why. They really seem to offer a great service.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 25 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 6.00

Support: 5.40

Speed: 6.24

Features: 6.08

Uptime: 6.16

Value: 6.12

Name:
Date: June 2, 2018
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 8.80

not sure why anyone would say their support is lacking, they have online support that literally gets you instant responses
Name:
Date: November 1, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 10.00

Their customer service is awesome. I got help right away and my problem was solved.
Name:
Date: April 26, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I am on the school board of a small school, and use this company for hosting. Their service is terrible. You cannot call anyone … no live support, even if you want to pay. We have had one minor issue, which is still not resolved after weeks and weeks. They keep sending vague requests for more information, and with each step, you have to wait days or weeks for the next response to them. Every email we receive starts with the statement “We are sorry for the delay in responding,” almost as though it’s auto text. This is the worst customer service I have seen with any company, of any kind. I personally believe no one should use this company.
Name:
Date: March 5, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

The ultimate package is pretty good, and as a user of 8 months I can see myself staying with them. My website loads in udner 2 seconds, and while I have seen some downtime they didn’t last long.

The average reply for help on their live chat is less than a minute, and they were very helpful. The hosting is great, but it is their premium plan so don’t know much about the other plans.

Name:
Date: March 2, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

We got this account thru a third party and it was managed by a partner who recently passed away.

We tried to get some help via a third party to manage the website, settings passwords and email, but they have been having a lot of problems with Namecheap support. Over 3 months of emails with Namecheap f (Tatyana Kozhushko-Customer Support), (Olya B-Risk Management), and (Nikita P - Risk Management) with requests for information regarding ownership. Every response takes weeks for them to deal with, and this has been going on since november 2016. This is terrible.

Name:
Date: February 28, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 7.00

I used Namecheap as a replacement for GoDaddy because they had special pricing over the holidays. Despite a fantastic price I am not happy with their recommendation to use canvas website builder. I tried to remove canvas so I can add other services but it does not work. I have tried to contact them, but it has been two weeks without a response.

I wish I had stayed at Godaddy as I could always get help fast. If you are unsure with what you are doing then I wouldn’t choose namecheap.

Name:
Date: January 14, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

Normally, I have have received good service from Namecheap. Virtually nothing to complain about. But just recently, one of my email addresses has been spoofed and no end of tinkering and changing security measures has stopped this. I also cannot received emails from Namecheap sent to another email address on my domain name. I have checked both email address and both are working normally otherwise.

There is something seriously wrong at Namecheap.

Name:
Date: December 13, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

They run unpatched cPanel and don’t care about the published root exploits. DO NOT HOST HERE.

As of December 2016, they’re running v52. That means this entire list of vulnerabilities:

forums.cpanel.net/threads/cpanel-tsr-2016-0006-full-disclosure.585082/

… affects Namecheap’s servers.

DO NOT HOST HERE.

Name:
Date: October 21, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

1st time I registered I had countless problems so cancelled within 14 days, refund OK. After I went to iPage where I encountered more problems & paid much more money. The 1 advantage of iPage they have telephone contact for cost of normal call. Then I decided to return to Namecheap to try again, OK for 8 months but s soon as I transferred another Domain into same account as an add-on recently I found the add-on functions but not original site! It has been out of action for 2 weeks, during this time I’ve spent half my life dealing with umpteen help people, all ask for repetitive information, screenshots etc. Eventually they offered 2 months free hosting, what’s the point if you can’t use the account? I’m seeking a new host now, any suggestions for a reasonable price? + PROS: Cheap & cheerful - CONS: HELP depends who you get, no continuity. For uploading problems I got replies from 4 different people, all asked the information/screenshots etc so downtime over 2 weeks.
Name:
Date: September 17, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

they suspend my account. i dont know for what reason. i have opened ticket about 24 hours ago but you didn’t solved yet. open my account so that i can copy my files and move to another provider. you peoples have no idea about business.

this is not request its warning. open my account otherwise i will go to court. because my websites are down from 24 hours & i am in big loss.

Name:
Date: July 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

The absolute WORST customer service anywhere!!!
Name:
Date: April 30, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Support was amazing and very helpful. I’ve used them for several years, but I’m transferring away now because their website is completely unresponsive. Luckily, it wasn’t difficult at all and I had no trouble transferring from them.

Pros: Great support They don’t hold your domain hostage

Cons: Unresponsive website

Name:
Date: February 18, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Great costumer service

Pros: Great Costumer service

Cons: Great costumer service

Name:
Date: February 16, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

We have used namecheap for two years now. They have been reliable and helpful and their chat support has been quick and helpful
Name:
Date: February 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

Namecheap security rules are excessive and too demanding. It’s excessive security is causing more harm to clients than actual good:

First, when I signed up for name cheap, the namecheap suspended my account for no apparent reason. I went through two weeks of hassle to prove my identity just to make a transaction of $17.25. It is ridiculous. I would rather choose someone to steal $17.25 from me instead of going through all that process and frustration. Simply it’s not worth it. It comes a point where the investment in security becomes a greater burden than the risk of insecurity itself. I’m pretty sure namecheap surpassed that line, and I advised them to soften their rules and security aggressiveness for only 10%. The Namecheap will still maintain the positive image of security it has, but it will be less painful for it’s sincere clients.

Secondly, last days their sms verification system is broken, and the sms never arrived in my phone, and there was no option to call my phone. I spoke with one of their online agents, and they asked 1) address 2) phone number 3) paypal account 4) paypal transaction ID 5) account email 6) order ID. I was able to provide everything except order ID, because when they suspended my account you refunded the money to paypal account and never sent me the order id in my email. Afterwards I was forced to contact namecheap to ask them to send the order id and receipt to my email, and they said login to your account and you will find your order id under the billing info. But how can I login in my account without sms code working, and how can I remove two steps authentication without order ID, and I cant read order ID without login in my account? This is nuts. I was stuck in circle at this point. After trying many times for two days I had luck finally receiving the sms code, because all their support system was useless and frustrating.

I have two other accounts in FatCow and I never had any of these complications there, and you know why, because they DON’T have all this “nazi” security. I’m arguing here that moderate security is better than excessive security, and I would rather transfer my Namecheap domain to Fatcow, instead than transfering Fatcow domains to Namecheap.

Pros: Good user interface. Many features.

Cons: Their support is fast but not so helpful.

Excessive security that often complicate situations for no worthy reason.

Name:
Date: January 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

NameCheap has been one frustration after another for the year and a quarter that I’ve been a web hosting customer with them. Slow servers. Down time. Total crash of the server I was on and they hadn’t done backups for two days. They reverted to the old backup but that took a day to happen. Meanwhile all my email and web sites were down and I was loosing money. Then a few days later they disabled my account for excess CPU usage but the problem really stems from the whole issue with the server crash and the CPU usage needed to get everything back online and make new backups. They’re not at all helpful and delay things for five extra hours. There have been many problems and I’m not happy.

Pros: Cheap. But you get what you pay for I guess and with a name like NameCheap it’s worse.

Cons: Down time.

Name:
Date: September 25, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Staff very politely working on resolving my email issues and connection to gmail.

They will always keep my business for their support.

Pros: Helpful staff that is patient and fixed my issues connecting to gmail.

Cons: I was impatient.

Name:
Date: July 20, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I can prove everything I say with emails, copies of chats and head to head email disussions as well as forum encounters. They have: lied to me misdirected talked down to me mishandled my funds Held me up on domain moves They advertise 100% uptime - impossible after the fact new hold backs(INODES) I told them and will say it again. If they were the only way onto the internet, I would just not be on the internet. I have proven them wrong on every side.
2 current complaints to Icann pending now. There will be more at the current rate. I have removed several name accounts, all of my own hosting. Will remove 27 more over the next 248 days as they get close to expiring. They were told in time to save and obviously preferred to keep with their crap. I am very happy where I went and almost everything I asked for or had to fight for at namecheap was willingly taken care of or already done when I got there. domain names are less, space is more, every thing is more except less price.
Name:
Date: May 15, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Namecheap offers all the features needed for getting my WordPress website up and running. I didn’t have any problems getting them to work with them, who is my web hosting service. Anytime I needed some technical help, they were always available via chat. It seemed like their chat support people were efficient, polite and knowledgeable. I thought they were a company I could rely on. They also had great prices. I discovered they was headquartered where I live, and that was another reason why I wanted to go with the company. As a domain name host, they were great overall.
Name:
Date: February 19, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

Bad Bad Bad SERVICE! We had downtime twice in the last 3 months, first time was over 3 hours, second time over 8 HOURS our business went down. No contact phone number only online Chat with people that don’t understand language well. Highly NOT recommend this service!
Name:
Date: January 23, 2015
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Their hosting isn’t a hidden gem. In fact it is a nightmare ! STAY AWAY FROM IT. The reviewer has no idea what he’s talking about. All he cares is the affiliate $$. Had he hosted his website with them he wouldn’t be so positive. Worst review ever, worst hosting ever ! Period !
Name:
Date: December 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

When I Used Them I Had A Mostly Good Experience

I have used a lot of web hosting services and that is why I need to be sure that I share my experience with them. This service is something a lot of people don’t really know about, so I’ve decided to tell people what I have gone through when working with them.

When I started looking at the varying options out there, I noticed that they prided themselves on privacy and also the fact that they are behind freedom on the Internet. This is refreshing because a lot of those hosting services out there are all about making money and that’s about it when you look at what their ads and the like show to people. I think that it’s great to finally have a place that is good at showing me that they appreciate a free Internet and encourage it even.

There are a lot of prices that I found to be way more than other options. When I used their service, I wasn’t able to use a coupon code or anything like that to help me to save money as a new customer. However, I wasn’t too shocked at the amount that I had to pay, it just was something I was a little alarmed with because I’m always able to find discounts and the like with other services. They are good for the money, but they could do with having discounts now and again.

I did have to use their support page to help me to get my site back to running well again. There were too many times when I had to deal with other services and they weren’t able to get back with me for a few days. Thankfully, when I used their support, they had someone come work with me in just a few hours online and that was awesome. They also provide phone service, but I dislike sitting there waiting on the phone so I always use an email service option and their has to be one of the easiest to work with I’ve used for a while.

Now that I have shared more about my experienceit’s easier to see if you are going to enjoy their services. I like to be sure to help people decide so I can get more business to companies that deserve it. Overall they’re decent, but there are still cons.

Name:
Date: September 16, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

These guys have terrible support - absolutely horrible!

Their livechat support takes 5-10 minutes to chat too… they should really hire more support staff so you can always get hold of someone without waiting an entirety. But it gets worse! You finally get through to support and they are obviously juggling about 100 customers at the same time, as it takes them 5-10 minutes between each question. This means a quick chat takes an entirety. I mean how long does it take to follow up “What’s your name” with “What domain are you referring to?”. Come on, these are basic questions that doesn’t necessitate a lengthy delay.

I highly recommend you don’t use Namecheap if you want decent support. Absolutely horrible.

Name:
Date: July 3, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

Simply great Customer support. I had a problem and quickly contacted their support to see what the problem was. They identified it and had my website back up in minutes. They were very friendly, and clearly knew what to look for and how to fix the issue without delay or spending 20 minutes consulting with colleagues.
Name:
Date: June 8, 2014
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

You say in your review that “You cannot go wrong hosting with this company” …well you are wrong… I have hostings at Godaddy, Host9, Hostgator, Crazy Domains and one other …all are fantastic compared to Namecheap. I have just cancelled my account at the end of its term with them due to continued issues with hacking into their servers. I have so many support tickets apologising for the poor customer service issues that I have lost count. Even management didn’t reply to my messages of concern at my experiences. Some to the support tickets were so unreadable, english was clearly their 3 language. I should have listened to others posting warnings that NameCheap is a domain name company and hosting is out of their league…I am posting this to save others the heartache and financial loss I have experienced. You are right, “Namecheap don’t offer anything spectacular, or innovative” and on the basis on my personal experience relative to other quality providers in the market place, the should be avoided.

Tony Adams

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 9.80

Support: 9.00

Speed: 10.00

Features: 10.00

Uptime: 10.00

Value: 10.00

Name:
Date: August 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 9.00

Began to use their services for domains and SSL. I considered using their VPS and dedicated hosting and began chatting with their support two times to understand all details. All clarifications were provided by experienced and welcoming. Began to use their hosting a few weeks ago and I find their services dazzling! They make available a wealth of tools and well prepared documentation. Their support people are nice and helpful.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 8.20

Support: 8.00

Speed: 7.00

Features: 8.00

Uptime: 9.00

Value: 9.00

Name:
Date: July 30, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

I have been using Namecheap for a few months, and have had about 5 minutes of downtime between about 50 websites. (in the middle of the night) For the cost of what they offer (I am using multiple re-seller accounts) and the fact that your domain and DNS is right there too, it’s super-convenient and a great value. OF course you really aren’t supposed to put all your eggs in one basket. But… 10.00 versus 15.00??? (Domain Registrations) As long as you are plenty technical-savvy. If not, it’s not the best choice for a host. I migrated from Bluehost which has turned to be a nightmare in 20152016. (BH used to be awesome, 2013-2014) at least for me. Took weeks to migrate everything correctly by myself, but it was worth it. + PROS: 2.00 SSL - CONS: No Phone Support

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 24 Domain Registrar Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 6.39

Support: 5.88

Speed: 6.79

Features: 6.21

Uptime: 7.00

Value: 6.08

Name:
Date: February 27, 2018
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 9.00

Adriana was clear and direct in responding to my questions.
Name:
Date: June 15, 2017
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 4.00

I purchased around 17 domains with namecheap in Nov 28, 2014, my last update to renew the domains was invoice ID 23231187 on Oct 25, 2016. Today i noticed something weird with one of my domains, the emails was not working and the mx records and nameserver changed, but when i logged in to my namecheap account the nameservers was still correctly pointing to the custom name servers i have set when i bought the domain. So i contacted live support and first was told that this domain is no longer registered with Namecheap. There is ghost record in our system !!!! so i asked how is it possible, since i renewed it and it is still showing active in my account on namecheap. I was then told – “According to our check, the issue was caused by a one-time glitch in our system, as the result, the domain renewed in the order 23231187 on 10/25/2016 did not have its expiration date updated to one more year, regretfully.” So that mean all 17 domains i renewed and paid for is now lost because of a glitch !!!!!!!!! I renewed the domain domain on Oct 25, 2016 and it is still showing active in my account !!!!!!!!!! I was then offered a coupon to register a new domain === what a slap in the face — i had 7 sub domains on the lost domain, each with 5000 mail accounts , so it mean 35,000 email accounts is now lost and i need to go explain to my customers that all their mails are gone…. and that is just 1 of 17 domains !!!!!

I have always spoken highly of namecheap but this is really outrages when your registrar lose 17+ domains of yours because of a glitch then they offer you a $20 coupon . I am sorry but i think that it is time to move to the competition with all my domains .

Will wait and see what their investigation comes up with

Please see Namecheap support ticket : BED-388-82546

Name:
Date: November 14, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 3.00

I’ve never had so much trouble setting up a website and email before registering my domain name with this company. I’ve literally wasted a month trying to get my website and email up and running!!

When I do live chat with them, they’re barely there answering. It can take up to 10 minutes for them to answer a simple question. when I write”are you still there?“, they answer after a minute or so, “yes”. I then have to ask if they read my last question and then it’s silence again. Worst customer service ever.

I want to cancel with them but they won’t refund my money because that’s their policy. They keep the money and that’s your tough luck. Go somewhere else and save yourself the headaches!

Name:
Date: November 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 1.00

Terrible support. Issue with Google Apps left me absolutely furious

When I bought my domain from Namecheap, I bought 1 month of Google Apps (no option to auto renew at point of purchase).

The subscription expired and I had to access to my emails, files, calendar etc. Clients were contacting me and I was losing potential business. I spent literally days on live chat with Namecheap, paid them more money to re-activate the subscription, but after 3 whole days, nothing had been done, even after taking my money.

There was also a “critical” support ticket that received very slow, unhelpful responses. I was just told to wait and wait and wait.

In the end I contacted Google directly who are now asking them to disconnect my account so I can be billed by Google directly.

I will never use Namecheap again and advise that no-one else does either. In a time when I really needed help, and with an issue that should only take 1 hour to fix, even after taking my money, they absolutely left me feeling abandoned and in the dark.

Name:
Date: August 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 6.00

I have purchased two domains through NameCheap however in the past year I stopped managing one of the sites and assumed I would just let the domain run out/lapse. I received an email saying my WhoisGuard would be renewing in 1 month (from the email date). I did not receive any notification that the domain itself had renewed, which took place on the day the email was sent.

I contacted customer support and asked if they could cancel the renewal and refund the money. The first support agent I spoke with simply told me “That is not our policy” and the chat ended. I then got an email saying that I had ended the chat before it had finished and that they do offer a “one-time” reversal, but it’s subject to review by their staff and isn’t guaranteed. They also kept mentioning that it would be $200 to get the domain back later on if I wanted to renew it (which I had no intent of doing, but they kept warning me about the $200 fee). After chatting with another support agent for twenty minutes they were able to authorize the reversal but asked me to hold while they contacted billing. Another twenty-five minutes later the agent sent a message “I’m sorry, is there anything else I can help you with today?” So I sat there for 45 minutes waiting for them to resolve this and they forgot they were even talking to me.

A couple days later I received confirmation from their billing department saying that the reversal was approved and that the funds “had been credited to my account funds.” I checked my NameCheap account and the money was not refunded to my bank account, it was simply credited to my account on their site. So I contacted support for the third time, told them the whole process is ridiculous and demanded they refund the money to my bank account. “Sir, it is not our current policy to refund to bank accounts….” they replied. I informed them of both previous conversations I had with agents and said I expect my money to be refunded. They then informed me they can refund it but there’s a $0.99 processing fee. I demanded they refund the money and not charge me for it. I stated that I wasn’t informed of the renewal, I wasn’t informed that the “refund” wasn’t going to my bank account and that I will not be paying to have the money refunded.

It has been 30 minutes and I’m still waiting for the agent to reply. They said they were contacting billing.

Name:
Date: March 25, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 3.00

  1. their auto renewal process is broken, lost two domains to redemption. Unforgivable.

  2. you cannot call a number and talk to a senior exec. should have checked this before starting with namecheap.

  3. they are reselling for enom, so are limited in terms of what they can do when problems like this arise.

Pros: reasonably cheap and efficient… but see cons. I have been a customer for many years but will now leave.

Cons: 1. their auto renewal process is broken, lost two domains to redemption. Unforgivable.

  1. you cannot call a number and talk to a senior exec. should have checked this before starting with namecheap.

  2. they are reselling for enom, so are limited in terms of what they can do when problems like this arise.

Name:
Date: February 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 9.00

I am currently NameCheap user and I have more than 20 domain registered with them. I found this Registrar best ever. They provide vip support for every customer and quick response. I plan to use them in future as my primary domain registrar. I have also good experience with Godaddy, NetworkSolutions, iwantmyname, enom, and name.etc.
Name:
Date: February 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 10.00

No issues transferring domains. I have a few domains, and ssl packages through name cheap and I’ve never encountered any confusion. The service is incredible. Maybe you got unlucky and ended up with a poor knowledgeable rep.

Pros: Everything is a PRO

Cons: No cons located.

Name:
Date: February 20, 2016
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 1.00

Transferred from Google to them and I do say that the transfer was a very unpleasant experience. I wasn’t sure what was happening and what was being transferred. When I moved from Godaddy to Google all my DNS settings were moved across. These numpties couldn’t do it and had lots of excuses. My biggest beef was that nothing is explained before the transfer so you are left completely in the dark. Avoid.

Pros: nice interface I guess. But you pay extra for masked whois

Cons: rubbish transfer process and useless support

Name:
Date: December 6, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 1.00

On 11/10/2013 I purchased a domain name on Namecheap.com, paid $10.87/year and received a confirmation of account approval from them.

Ten days later, I found I couldn’t log in with my ID and password, and therefore I contacted Namechaep. As a result, they said I was flagged as fraud by their system, so they locked my account and canceled my purchase. I’m not fraud! I’m just a normal person buying a domain for my own business.

I was not notified when they canceled my purchase, which was authorized and the payment was received by them. My domain name was then released to the market and was purchased by someone else. As of now, the domain name I legally purchased from Namecheap is owned by a Chinese website. I not only lost my domain name, but lost all my business because that domain name was what I purchased for my business. That was my business name.

I asked for a reason why I was flagged fraud but they refused to do so. I contacted their customer service but they ignored me. They don’t reply to my email in timely manner and try to ignore my questions and requests.

As of now it is December 2015 and I am still struggling on this issue with them. So I asked to delete my account because I couldn’t trust them and did not want to have any business with them. But they keep ignoring my request and refuse to delete my account.

What they did wrong: 1. They refused to provide a reason why I was flagged as fraud. Fraud is a crime. They need an evidence to accuse me so. 2. They canceled my purchase and released my domain name that I paid for without noticing me. I lost my domain name and it caused serious damage to me. 3. They refuse to delete my account. I am the account owner, I have the right to have it deleted. 4. They ignore my request and refuse to contact me or provide a phone number that I can call.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: 1. They cancel your account without notice 2. They release your domain to the market without notice. So if you are buying to domain for business or serious purpose, avoid Namecehap. 3. It took them more than one day (>24 hours) to reply your question. And they don’t understand your question. They even ignore you on purpose. If you need any help, including technical support, it will be a nightmare.

Name:
Date: October 23, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 5.00

A few years ago I transferred all my domains (over 70) from godaddy to namecheap. Things were fine for a while however in the past couple of months they have changed their customer interface for domains. I contacted support and was told, sorry, get used to it. No option for the previous version of the account interface. New version is not intuitive and makes me have to do two or three steps for what used to take only one.

Sorry namecheap. I will now transfer my domains elsewhere!

Pros: Affordable domain names

Cons: Doesn’t offer a quick way to transfer out your domains to another registrar. Holds on to them as long as they can.

Name:
Date: September 23, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 6.00

N/A

Pros: cheap, good sales, never a problem with domain.

Cons: I strongly disagree with the fact that they advertise their business on your new domain. And i also strongly dislike how they allow random ads to come up on your domain you just purchased for which they properly get revenue for. ITS MY DOMAIN, DONT USE IT FOR ANYTHING.

Name:
Date: September 4, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 2.00

The support folks say they will help you with services they do nto list like DNSSEC. This is a lie and do not fall for it like I did, I waited weeks for support to do a two minute update. Their security is downright bad….their renewal rates and transfer fees are higher then most registrars. NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Pros: They are cheap with an easy interface

Cons: Support is awful No DNSSEC support

Name:
Date: September 3, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 3.00

I give them a score of no more than a two, and here’s why:

Pros: competitives prices

Cons: Namecheap has stolen upwards of 10,000 traffic from me by suspending my account. After having over several domains accounts registered with them for close to 10 years, they claimed that I did not verified my whosi guard which I had 10 days to do so, since I did not do it within that time frame.

Therefore I was subject to their 2 Factor Authentication.

I had recently changed my cell phone and my old cell phone number was listed in my Namecheap account. So I could not access it to update it with my new cell phone number, nor could I change it by way of getting a text message from them with my old cell phone. I explained to them they sould have a better system to assist customers to make it as convenient as possible and not to handle the situation like a suspected criminal.

“They claim that they regret to cause inconveniences to me, but this document is necessary for us to make sure that you are the rightful account owner since client security is our highest priority.” Really?

I explained to them that I still can not gain access my account folowing their instruction of “2 Factor Authentication feature”

Namecheap states that once I log into my account I can update via the 2 Factor Authentication feature?

They stated If I am not able to log into your Namecheap account and wish them to remove 2 Factor Authentication feature, please provide them with the following details to verify my account and disable 2 Factor Authentication:

Local address under account: Email address you signed up with: Zip code: Namecheap order ID: Depending on the payment method used - First 4 and last 4 CC digits / PayPal unique transaction ID and email associated with PayPal (if you paid with PayPal or Google Wallet) / transaction reference ID (if you paid with Bitcoin): Domain name:

I had ask their team support previously to by pass this stupid BS step so I can get into my account and update my info, but they insisted to annoy me by taking a firm stance

So who is the real thieves here?

Namecheap claims that they are protecting me from who?

The real crooks have already done their dirty work…..

I have yet to receieve any reply from them since I sent over my Driver License (blocking out my id# like they suggested I do)now I quess they will want my SSN?

Name:
Date: May 8, 2015
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 7.00

Everything was going great, and then I made a big mistake. I purchased a domain name on behalf of a friend, and used their card. That is what I believe must have caused the problem anyway. Namecheap said I had to reply to an email in two days that they sent me about a charge back. I don’t read my email every single day, so I missed it. Then they sent me an email stating that I had lost that domain name I purchased.

I figured I could just use their reliable support. No, I couldn’t use chat support. They locked me out. There also isn’t any phone support. I tried logging into my account. However, they had suspended by entire account. My domain names were all now suspended. There was just one thing I was still able to do which was to open a support ticket with the help desk.

That’s when I really got upset. They took 3 or 4 days to respond to me. All they did was tell me things I already knew. There was no agent assigned to my ticket for around 20 days. I didn’t receive any information about whether or not I would be able to reactivate my domain. So all of my domains and account were deactivated and sitting in limbo. I had to just wait. I was so frustrated and thought I had lost my domains forever. It included a domain that I had an active business site on.

Eventually I got a response. About 3 days later they fixed the problem. I got all of my domains back. However, I didn’t get any useful information from them, and all of my domains had been down for nearly a month. No business should have to put up with that.

Ratings:

  • With the exception of Risk Management, they had great support. I don’t ever want to have to deal with that kind of problem again in my life. It was the absolute worst. I have to rate it 1 star because it was so bad.

  • The user interface was easy to use and had all the necessary features.

  • Until the Risk Management problem, uptime was great. All of my website were down for more than 20 days, and I had no idea if or when the problem would be resolved. That is an unacceptable amount of downtime.

  • Value. I can highly recommend them if you aren’t trying to run a business and don’t mind if your site could potentially be down for nearly a month. Otherwise, I highly recommend you use a host that offers business class support.

TL; DR: They are great until you can’t use their standard support because you’ve been locked out. My sites were taken down by Risk Management for more than 20 days. During that time, they weren’t answering any of my questions.

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 10.00

You cannot get better for domain registrations. Namecheap really know what they are doing and you really can’t get cheaper domains anywhere else, especially with free Whois privacy. I have raised several tickets previously seeking help with installation of SSL certificates and they always respond swiftly with all the information needed.

Whilst I don’t have any of their hosting, I would highly recommend them based on my experiences with hosting all my domains and SSL certificates there.

Name:
Date: October 5, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 10.00

I have never used Namecheap web hosting, but for domains and other addons I have used them for years. They have the best management client area, and they really know their stuff when it comes to configuring domains (nameservers etc) and SSL certificates. The prices are great, and I have never had any issues that couldn’t be quickly resolved by their support. As a long time user I couldn’t use anyone else for domains, simply because their domain service is so easy to use… and as their name implies.. Cheap!
Name:
Date: September 25, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 9.00

I use Namecheap only as registrar - and they are the absolute best in that, including support - but one of my favorite blogs (which I visit at least twice a week) is hosted on their shared servers: I never found the site down, it always loaded pretty fast and never showed errors in the wordpress installation. Considering that, I think Namecheap hosting seams good, too.
Name:
Date: September 21, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 10.00

They always seem to reply very fast, and when buying domains and SSL certificates you really won’t get cheaper. I struggle to see how some of the other reviews posted have had problems as I have found them exceptional in almost every way. I am actually thinking of upgrading to their new SSD hosting for my ecommerce site, so will let you know how I get on with that in due course. Highly Recommend Namecheap!
Name:
Date: September 21, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

These guys are pretty awesome. I buy all my domains and Namecheap as well as SSL. They are always very helpful, and one of the cheapest companies around. Their interface is really good for managing the domains, and don’t think I would ever buy a domain anywhere else. Highly recommended.
Name:
Date: September 18, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 6.00

Worse Company online, I made an account with them and bought domains and SSL’s with them. My account got hacked and the person doing it changed all the details. Now I can not get into my account. Lost all my ssl’s and domains. Support told me to they needed to deiced and never got back to me. I would never give this company money again. It is a complete SCAM! They do not even desire the 1 star.
Name:
Date: September 6, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 5.00

I recently bought an SSL certificate from namecheap.com and I tried setting it up on my vps. For some reason it didnt work so I ended up contacting online customer support chat.

Talked to 1 of them he didnt know what he was doing so passed me on to another guy. I talked to him he walked me through all the steps and tried making out that I am a fool and don’t know what I am doing. After being a web designer for over 16 years and managing my own and clients servers for a living Im pretty sure I know how to install a simple ssl certificate… anyway I followed everything he said after 30 minutes of him guiding me through it 2 times he passes me on to his colleague. The colleague guides me through all the steps again and then suddenly cuts me of the chat and it says something like this person has ended the chat. Im like wtf. So I just wasted an hour chatting to them for nothing all the messages are gone that some other staff member could have followed up on and helped me out.

Contacted another guy again he basically made out that I wasn’t the admin of my own vps so hes basically calling me a liar and that I dont even know if im an admin on my own server what??

Anyway I end the chat and contact them again hoping to get someone decent on the line. The next guy I just say Hi to him and hes like I am aware of your case. The problem is your not an admin on the server what??? I hadnt even said anything to this guy yet and hes talking to me about what the other guy said.

So theres basically no such thing as confidentiality everyone internally just talks about you.

Anyway after all this I said I just want a refund. They wouldnt even give me a refund through customer services chat. They said open a support ticket requesting a refund.

I open a support ticket requesting a refund and they say ill get the refund credited to my account as credits.

What? did I ask for credits? I want my money back. I want to leave just the way I came.

Anyway after further arguing in support tickets they said I will get a refund. It takes 5-7 working days for their finance department to process my refund. What? More like their going to use my money in a high interest account for a week.

I made a complaint and asked for it to be forwarded to the manager.

The manager of the ssl department replied and apologized. Whats the point though?

I was still charged over £2 pounds in international transaction charges. transaction charges for taking the money from my bank account and then putting the money back added more charges. So in the end I didnt even get a full refund.

I recently stupidly again decided to trust them and decided to buy a .uk domain. I thought its a domain right whats the worst that could happen it wont be available and it wont let me register it. Well turns out the truth is even worse.

I basically searched for the .uk domain, Added it to my cart because it was available. logged into my account to check out.

It took the money from my account im thinking great its bought and then I see a red error message. You cannot buy this domain because the whois details for a .co.uk domain dont match with the .uk domain im trying to buy.

So it turns out you have to own a .co.uk domain to be able to buy the .uk domain. Well why didnt it tell me that first?

Why did it say its available and then charge me and everything and now all of a sudden its not available?

So again they took my money for a service they are failing to provide.

after this happened I have checked with other domain providers such as 123-reg.co.uk and they wont let me do the same it shows it clearly as unavailable.

I contacted their customer support chat and the first message i get is:

Hello, thank you for contacting Namecheap Live Support! Due to a large number of support requests, our response time is longer than usual. We apologize for this delay and thank you for your patience. I am reviewing your initial message now and will do my best to assist you quickly.

And I had to wait 7 minutes for someone to even reply to me.

Anyway finally I asked them what happens to my money now. They said it is refunded directly to the source. So I should get a refund in 48 hours.

The problem is I am still going to be charged an international transaction charge. Probably another £2 eaten by them because of their stupid system that allows you to buy domains that are simply not available.

That is simply false advertising, terrible customer service that tries to make out your a liar and don’t know anything and your not the admin of your own server your paying 30 something pounds a month for, they are robbing customers at the end of the day.

Id say stay away from them they are terrible, terrible.

Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

I’ve used NameCheap as my main domain registrar for years now, and I must say, I haven’t had any problems, and their support is indeed highly knowledgeable and helpful. I haven’t, though, used their hosting service, but I’m planning to. I checked out their reseller hosting plans, and they look promising. I really like that they have severs located in UK as well (most of my clients are from UK).
Name:
Date: January 12, 2014
Hosting Type: Domain Registrars

User Rating: 8.00

All of my domains are registered with Namecheap. However, I don’t use their hosting service either. Not sure why. They really seem to offer a great service.
Table of Contents