Site5 Reviews

Read our expert opinion of Site5, along with unbiased reviews from 84 real users

Site5 has for a long time targeted developers and designers, despite any real developer orientated features.  Prior to their purchase by EIG they appeared to be undertaking a lot of development to improve their platform, but it not much of that came to fruition.

Historically, Site5 was one of the best web hosting providers out their, highly regarded by a loyal band of customers. For this reason, you may find many positive reviews around the web that will seem in contrast to our more up to date, and honest opinion of them. Furthermore, if you check the rating over time graph in the dashboard above, you will see that their service has been going downhill for some time.

Editor's note: Since their purchase by EIG, Site5's support has deteriorated significantly. An example of how bad it is getting can be found in our detailed article about their sister company, Arvixe.

Site5 key points

Platform

Linux

Server Location

Asia, Australia, Europe, South America, US

Developer features

Ruby on Rails

Expert Opinion

Site5 Shared Hosting Review

Site5 Shared Hosting Plans allow wide choice of data center locations

If, and this is the operative word, Site5 didn't have such bad support, then on paper their biggest strength is the sheer number of locations offered for their hosting. That being said, since their purchase by EIG we have heard that some users have found their websites migrated without warning back to the US-based data centers. Furthermore, on their signup page, the only location available is Central US.

HostBasic HostPro HostPro+Turbo
SPACE Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
TRANSFER Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
WEBSITES 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Dedicated IP No Yes Yes
PRICE $4.95 $8.95 $11.95

What we like about Site5

  • Experienced  - They’ve been in the business since 1999 and by extension have quite a bit of experience in the hosting industry.
  • Various Plans - They offer you an abundance of plans that fit any budget and any features you want for your site.   You, therefore, have a very good upgrade path should you need more resources in the future.  Their managed VPS plans are a little more expensive from their competitors, though and offer no root access, the source of many grumblings around the web.
  • Multi-admin - One of the best things we like about Site5 is that they allow you to host multiple websites, each with their own control panel although you have to sign up for their "HostPro + Turbo" plan for this.  This takes on the appearance and functionality of a reseller account, and for the price (in comparison to reseller account costs), this is a great deal.  Of course, you could just go for a reseller plan elsewhere.

What we don't like about Site5

  • No pro-rated refunds - After the initial 45 money back guarantee period is up, you are locked in and cannot get a pro-rated refund.  Unfortunately, they offer large discounts for paying for a longer term.  Paying monthly is costly, which kind of forces you to take the risk.
  • No SSD or SSD accelerated Storage - For a premium host, they are slow to catch on to the latest and fastest technology offered elsewhere.  On a budget host, we wouldn't bat an eyelid about this, but this review has their pricing structure in mind.
  • No addon domains for the cheapest plan - If you wish to host more than one site at Site5 then you need to pay $8.95 per month, which is pretty pricey for what you get.
  • Support can be lacking on occasions (see http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1296561):
Site5 comes up with a different excuse every time the server goes down. The last time it went down, they made suggestions on what I should do for one of the sites being hosted. I followed their suggestions and, went beyond what they suggested and deleted several plugins. There are now fewer plugins being used on the site today than there were when the server crashed in June. However, I've now been told that there are too many plugins being used on the site, and that's what is causing the problem now. Plugins were not an issue in the June crash, yet I deleted a bunch anyway. Now, all of a sudden, plugins are the culprit.So I'm sorry to say, I won't be buying more memory and coming back here to post that I was wrong. And I won't be thanking Site5 for helping to diagnose the issue on my server because they haven't done that. And after reading their support forums, I'm more than convinced that the problem is on their end and not mine.
Unfortunately, when it comes to their support, this is just the tip of the iceberg. Our user reviews show that support response times can be over a week, which is totally unacceptable. Unfortunately, this is something we are seeing across all their hosting brands, which you can find here. Furthermore, if you are looking for a new hosting provider, be sure to select "non-EIG" hosting in the filter.

Site5 Shared Hosting Review

Editor's Expert Opinion

This is definitely one hosting provider to avoid.

Site5 target themselves at Designers & Developers, but unfortunately, despite indications months ago of Site Staging developer features they have failed to deliver.  

They are pretty highly priced for what they deliver.  You can get SSD hosting, or SSD accelerated hosting for much cheaper, or if you want all the bells and whistles, you can just go with SiteGround.  These guys may have good comments for reliability, but that is about all they have.

But, probably the worst thing about Site5 that has happened over the last year, is that their support system has gone into meltdown. It is so bad, not just with this hosting provider, but across many of their brands, that even a minor issue that might be resolved in minutes elsewhere could leave your website down for weeks.

Site5 advertise themselves as built for designers and developers, but compared to our top host SiteGround they have very few developer features in comparison. If you are thinking of buying Site5 Hosting, we highly recommend you check out our SiteGround Review and SiteGround Developer features:

You can currently get 60% off your first invoice here .

Site5 Frequently Asked Questions

What people are saying

Find out what people are saying about Site5 below, or alternatively, if you have experience with them yourself, feel free to leave your review.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Stay Away!!! had a problem with my email account… 2 month i was not able to receive emails from my clients. don't know how many i lost!! site5 didn't give a damn shit about it. no response on any ticket i opened!! site5 5 could ruin your business!! take care!!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.6
Support
2
Features
3
Speed
2
Uptime
3
Value
3

I really started hosting my websites with them and after something called upgrade, the whole stuffs messed up..I open tickets about a month now..none has been replied...Anytime i want to install WordPress, I had to chat with them(waiting time so long)before they installed it for me manually.They have evn promise to solve the issues and send me email..i have never got any mail until now...not even a copy of the tickets i submitted...For chat anytime, they ask you to send support code,you will give it and they do not even send any message to explain any about issues, when you tell them you are angry and thinking to change the hosting provider, they CAN even tell you, to do whatever....CUSTOMER SUPPORT REALLY BAD...I don not recommend it to anyone.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.0
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
4
Uptime
6
Value
5

Have been with Site5 since 2001. While maybe not the richest on features, Site5 was great on support. The forum was rich and support was there for you within max hours. Still remember how I myself, mainly due to lack of knowledge from my side, had issues with a Ruby on Rails install. Got help way beyond what was in the contract and within less than a few hours, their support fixed what I messed up. This was sometimes in 2009.

Fast forward and I am about to migrate over to another provider after 15 years with Site5. There is hardly any customer support left. A simple question what happened with a redirect that used to work but mysteriously stopped and the end of last year, I still had no answer to after 2 weeks and 3 tickets!! At some point I went on the Live Chat and talked to a person who admitted he was a call center in India and had no whatsoever access to the servers. After 4 weeks I got a reply that simply stated that my redirect does not work. Duh, no shit Sherlock!

The forums are gone because "they were out of date", according to the same lost call center soul. I used first go to those before even touching Stackoverflow or Reddit. That's how good they were. One can only guess to the real reasons they decided to pull the plug.

There was a time when I would swear by Site5 for the life of my own mother. Great uptime combined with one of the best supports, no matter what service you paid for. Uptime is still there, support has vanished forever and many little things are just nor working properly anymore. Stay far far away!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Used to be the best, now the worst.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Absolutely unacceptable. The downtime is more than the uptime of servers. They never have any idea of when it might be back online, and when you contact support they give you broken links from before the company changed ownership, so you just run in circles without any answers, and no site.
Complete loss of business.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Used to be the best, now the worst.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.0
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
6
Uptime
1
Value
6

I've been a customer of Site5 since 2007, and since then, up until now, I've been reasonably happy with both uptime and how quickly my problems have been resolved.

Not so now! For 7 days, all my sites have been down and I can't even access my domains' cpanel to point them to some other hosting. The reason I can't access my cpanels is because none of my domains are listed in my account anymore.

I have received no response from the 9 emails I've sent to support, and the Live Chat operators just repeat over and over that they understand my concerns and the problem will be fixed soon. But it doesn't get fixed.

So far my ticket has been transferred from support to priority support to billing to advanced billing and now to a senior billing tech - all with no actual action being taken to resolve the problem.

I'm logging my dire experiences with Site5 here: http://www.sausagetools.com/site5-service-disruption/

Do Not Use Site5.

sausagetools.com

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I moved from Arvixe to Site5 about 5-6 months ago since Arvixe recently bit the dust and converted into an absolutely horrible hosting service.

Sadly, I've come to find out that the company that bought Arvixe, EIG, has also bought Site5 and it has fallen to the same fate.

In the past 2 weeks, I've experienced several hours of downtime daily with my website and associated e-mail address, missing out on important business e-mails and potentially losing customers trying to access my site.

Their support has been slow and in the end, absolutely useless.

I would do yourself a favor and check out EIG's site and make sure to avoid any brand that they own. Every host they buy they turn to crap.

https://www.endurance.com/our-company/our-brands

http://www.digitalfaq.com/editorials/websites-blogs/hostgator-alternatives-eig-pt1.htm

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

5.2
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
5
Uptime
8
Value
4

When i started using Site5 10 years ago they were brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

I concur with many of the sentiments put forward by other users Site5 is now one of the worst web hosting companies i have to deal with I will shortly be pulling all of my domains from there servers and taking my business elsewhere.

The last incident saw them suspend my account 10 days before payment was due and then system issues prevented me from paying the invoice. 1 hour on chat and a ticket that was never answered.

Prompting this rant is login issues with the change in the backstage interface. The old system was working fine and didn’t require changing. I can know no longer access any of my active services. once again waiting an eternity for support. This used to be a good service but no longer.
+ PROS: Lots of Features
- CONS: Features often don't work and support is almost non existent.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Be Aware of These Thieves!!!
I believe that this company has the concept of f***** their clients over and over by giving them bad customer service and steal ones money.
I have for more than two months tried to transfer a domain from site5.com to another hosting company due to bad service, and during this time site5.com refused to transfer the domain. Within this period my domain expired, so they told me that the only way I could transfer the domain, was if I renewed it. So with the fear of losing my domain I had to renew it. But then they made a second withdrawal from my account of $35,95, which they promised me would be returned into my account. BUT BULLS****! They are f******* thieves, and I would recommend EVERYBODY to stay away from this company. $35,95 is not a lot of money, but they withdrawed them from my account without our permission or accept.
Be Aware of These Thieves!!!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

We are having 3 turbo accounts with Site5. We run away from hostgator as they are an EIG nightmare. Now EIG bought site5, and the same nightmare happens to Site5. Website is so many times down, database errors, slow loading, they are moving website from server to server without telling us, emails do not work because they say others on the shared hosting send too many emails, so no resource for us. If you have any serious business, please avoid site5 now, gone from hero to zero. Even worst than hostgator ever was. Every website hosted now with Site5 is at big risk. The customer support have no relevant knowlage or education, I think they outsourced to Pakistan/India to people without any kind of hosting experience. Their customer support now is so ridiculous, and never ever resolves any problem but needs weeks to answer tickets or never answers tickets. My business is at risk now with site5. STAY AWAY AND IF YOU ARE A CUSTOMER RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN.
+ PROS: There are no pros anymore with the "new site5"
- CONS: Site5 has now become the worst hosting company on the planet. Stay away!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.2
Support
1
Features
9
Speed
1
Uptime
4
Value
1

The change of ownership for Site5.com has been one of the worst thing ever happened for me. I have been a happy customer for 8 years. One thing that made me stay with them for this long was the great customer service. More than 80% of the issues would be resolved via the online chat. Now they introduced a new chat chat application which does not work well and at the same time with agents do not know anything about web hosting and web technologies. Who is the Founder of Site5.com? I need to write him a letter about this atrocious move. If EM bought Site5, why didn’t they continue with the great staff that was working at Site5?

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

We’ve been 8 years working with site5 and this is our first experience to get bad support during the transition. We’ll wait in the next couple of weeks to see how it’s going, before we decide to move to other host.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

So this is what happened. Site5 used to be excellent and now their service, their support is complete trash. No response to support tickets, useless chat support that takes 20 mins to even start, and in the end, no resolution to problems. I’ve been a web developer for 15 years and up until the last few months, Site5 was great. Too bad that’s all changed but I have a business to run. Avoid EIG owned companies like the plague.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I didn’t know about this acquisition until a few minutes ago. Yesterday evening I received an email saying that my sites had been migrated to a new version of Backstage. When I checked this morning, none of my sites are online and when I check in Backstage, they don’t exist at all.

The comments here don’t give me high hopes for their customer service.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Site 5 sold to EIG. I finally had a customer support admit it to me when I flat out asked if they switched ownership. Time to find a new host…

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.4
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
4
Uptime
5
Value
1

I have been a customer of site5.com for years. Since some weeks they experiencing a complete meltdown. Tickets previously answered within hours are not answered at all or after weeks. Problems remain unsolved. Suddenly I get invoices for services terminated long time ago. As it would not be enough, they moved my hosting from Asia to US without notice! instead of resolving the pending issues, they change the terms and suddenly complain I have too many inodes. If you don’t want to get into trouble, avoid this service!
- CONS: - No or very late answer to tickets - Unresolved problems for weeks - Invoices for terminated services - Move of server location without prior notice

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

as others have statet, something seems to be changed with site5. Changed from a top responsive company, with nice support staff to a support nightmare. Nothing works, strange unpaid invoices show up. Something seems to be very wrong with the “new site5”.
+ PROS: + company used to be great and responsive
- CONS: - after buyout nothing seems to work, mails are not answered or just ignored. Seems to be a very bad management now. Keep away!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

2 weeks to respond to a support ticket.
I used to love the customer service from Site5, they were responsive and helpful. Now I am cringing that I will have to migrate all my client sites because 2 weeks is too long to wait just for me to hear back from the hosting company. Not resolve the issue, just getting the first response! Tonight I have been waiting for 25 minutes for chat support because Backstage is not coming up.

If the old crew from Site5 is starting another hosting company I would move sites there. Just sayin’

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

DO….NOT……… HOST WITH SITE5…!!!!!
The humans are nice…… but there are not enough of them….
as of Oct 24 I have 12 service ticket requests, the first dated Seot 02….. NOT ONE has generated a response…. not one……
over 40 minutes phone hold and
over 40 minutes hold just to “chat”…. YOU CANT FIX TECH ISSUES IN A CHAT
I had technical issues and billing issues…. but no one would provide answers and WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO TALK W A SUPERVISOR….N…O…T…….O.N…C…E….
So while I attempted to resolve the issues, my bill became “late” and they suspended my service……
“the WORST”?….. I dont know….. but bad enough
DO….N…O…T…….DO BUSINESS W SITE5
+ PROS: the humans are nice but management has only hired "three"..
- CONS: Oct 2016 I have 12 oustanding service tickets..the first is dated Sept 02.... NO SUPPORT.... NONE... 40 minutes wait times on phone hold... NOT ENOUGH SUPPORT STAFF...DO...NOT.... HOST WITH THEM..

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

+ PROS: None
- CONS: Site5 takes your money and leave you in the dark. It used to be a good service but now they are a nightmare. My site service was terminated 7 days before its due date. I paid immediately to restore my service, but got no response. That was 5 days ago. 5 DAYS OF DOWNTIME WITH 0 RESPONSE ON SUPPORT TICKETS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE BUSINESS PRACTICE. THIS IS FRAUD.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
2
Speed
2
Uptime
2
Value
1

Used to be great with prompt responses. Now it has went totally downhill.
No replies on the chat, even you wait for hours. Tickets are open for days, or forever. Me and my staff couldn’t send any e-mails out, nobody ever got back to us. Don’t ever sign up with Site5, you will regret it and your business will suffer.
+ PROS: None
- CONS: Support don't care about you. Leave you on your own and never replies...

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.0
Support
1
Features
6
Speed
4
Uptime
3
Value
1

Can absolutely corroborate the above negative reviews. These guys used to be fantastic. Ultra-responsive, proactive, friendly. Then they sold out, and left their very loyal customers flapping in the breeze. Under EIG’s new management, customer service has fallen off a cliff. It is non-existent! Tickets go days or even weeks unanswered and unopened!! If you want to get through to LiveChat, be prepared to wait an hour, and to then be greeted by hostility and ineptitude by the agent on the other end. As mad as I am at EIG and their horrific business practices, I am equally indignant at the manner in which the original Site5 owners cultivated a loyal user base, took our money (on non-refundable 12 or 24 month commitments) and then sold us down the river. Bunch of jerks….

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Truly bizarre – why the take over company would let it all fall apart like this. Support that was so responsive and good before is truely a joke now (ie 2 weeks for a ticket instead of two hours!). It seems I’m going to be leaving shortly as well. So silly, who on earths in charge of this company?!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I have been supporting a client’s website hosted in Site5 for a couple of years. Last year, support was great. This year the site went down (the client switched credit cards and didn’t tell anyone, so the SSL certificate wasn’t renewed, no emails went out, and the site went down). It has been over 8 days and we still can’t get Site5 to install the new certificate. Maybe they are understaffed. Maybe their support people are under qualified. But whatever reason, it takes forever to contact them, and takes forever to get them to do anything. Seriously looking at doing an emergency migration to another hosting service to get us up and running. NOT RECOMMENDED.
+ PROS: Used to be great
- CONS: Support is non-existent

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

3.2
Support
2
Features
4
Speed
8
Uptime
1
Value
1

I’ve been with Site5 for years, had zero issues until this month (October 2016). Major server crash and all of my sites were down for about 8 days. That is a BIG deal when you’re hosting sites for your clients who rely on their sites for business. I understand that this was an isolated incident and literally could have happened to ANY hosting company out there. Computers are complex. However — Site5’s mistake was not following up with their customers. Not a single email explaining what was going on, what they were doing to fix the problem, and absolutely no ETA on a resolution. I was hours from pulling the plug and starting over. I am now in the process of moving my sites to another host. I think the odds of this happening again is slim to none but given how unresponsive they were through this experience there’s no way I can stay.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Worst hosting company on the planet. Worst customer service. in the past 6 month it went from being the best hosting company to the worst. They don’t respond to emails, tickets, online chats, phone calls. All my websites are either not loading properly or don’t load at all.
Avoid these guys!!!!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I used to like them. And they used to have good support.

Starting August 2016, support has gotten harder and harder to reach, and less and less helpful. Then they decided to upgrade Backstage, and I completely lost access to my account. Going on at least two weeks without access or help from support.

At this point I’d like to log in just to transfer my account to another host.

AVOID AVOID AVOID

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.4
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
2
Uptime
2
Value
1

These guys are HORRIBLE. Do something else. DO NOT USE Site 5
+ PROS: None that I can think of
- CONS: These guys are HORRIBLE. From a recommendation, I swapped from Go daddy. Since then (3 months) i have had more mission cirtical issues than 6 years with Go Daddy. At this moment, my site has been down due to a htaccess mistake one of their staff made, and now cannot fix. Hold times are horrible, service is horrible, techs are just glorified CSR's, and the real tech team iseems to be 1-2 people at most. Thank God I didnt pay for a year. I am hoping to ge tmy site back online, and as soon as I do, I am moving elsewhere. DO NOT USE Site 5

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Site5 was recently bought out and their business has gone totally down hill. No answer on the chat lines. Billing was all jacked up. They’re charging me $80 on a domain I cancelled 5 years ago and they said the “reg date” was 12/31/1969
+ PROS: Used to be an amazing company, but now I wouldn't use them if they paid me.
- CONS: Everything. What happened to you guys, site5? You used to be an amazing company.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Have been a customer for 5 years, hosted about 150 websites using their service. It used to be excellent, now it is a complete and utter nightmare and will cancel and leave them a.s.a.p.
Lots of downtime, their customer service used to be excellent now it is the worst i’ve ever seen. STAY AWAY!!!

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Used to be good. Been with them since 2008 and was always very satisfied. In the last 6 months it has all gone to crap. I am just a small time, novice. One Web page, and some email. But my clients and I depend on email to communicate. But now server down times have increased significantly. Currently the server my site resides on has been down for 56 hours and counting. There status updates are meaningless. Each 12 hour estimate goes by and then finally someone posts it will be another 12 hours. I have had it. But the server has to be up before I can transfer. maybe that is how they keep from losing customers. Just shut down the server so you cannot transfer to a new host. Interesting business plan.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

My website has been down for almost three days and its impossible to get to them. no response to tickets, chat takes 30 min to log in and when they do they take forever to respond.
+ PROS: used to be friendly
- CONS: non existent support

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Was awesome for 10 years. Best host out there. They let go ALL their support staff an the place has fallen to bits.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.4
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
5
Uptime
1
Value
1

Customer since 1999. Recommended to friends and colleagues until the past few months. Since they were bought out Support has disappeared, as has contact/communication.
They were always good value with their plans, but no longer.
The standard of Support offered to their customers now is near enough zero! I have had tickets open for 4-6 weeks now that have not even been looked at by Support. If you have a website, you can’t wait this long for support. They say on their website that if you don’t get a response in 6 hours (“we usually answer in far less” lol) you can claim $1 back. I opened a ticket to claim about 4 weeks ago and Billing hasn’t even looked at it.
I have no finished with them and moved to a new host.
Site5 – AVOID AVOID AVOID. If I could give them zero for their overall score I would!
+ PROS: Used to be value and support.
- CONS: Now - no support and totally pathertic communication.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

So upset to be dealing with this. Was referred by a client who seemed to like site5. WORSE mistake I made was switching host to them. Can’t get through to anyone at support, on hold for over an hour at times. Having so many issues and I feel sick that my website is suffering at my most busiest time. I don’t even know what to do at this point because I don’t want to deal with more issues switching PLUS I paid for the year.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.8
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

I have been with Site5 over 5 years now. They were pretty good, but now the services and the support is terrible. They used to reply to support tickets within 24 hours, now it takes them over two weeks to come up with a generic reply (for example: ‘It seems to be working now, can’t see anything in the logs. If still encounter any problems, please reply’). They don’t even read the mail. It also takes over 30 minutes to talk to someone through the chat.
My site was down for two days and they didn’t compensate me in any way, even though their site says there is an uptime guarantee. Because the site was down 3 weeks ago, they can’t seem to find it in their logs anymore. If they would have replied sooner, they would have found out. Also, it worries me that they don’t have these logs.
Please avoid this host and only look at reviews from August ’til now. I think something happened recently and now they try to fix things with whoever is still working there.
+ PROS: Admin panel wth lots of features.
- CONS: Downtime, hardy any support. Problems get ignored. Not so friendly as they used to be.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

5.6
Support
1
Features
2
Speed
6
Uptime
9
Value
10

Well where do I start, I asked them a question about image caching and was expecting a reply withing 10 mins which was usually the case with Site5. I am still to this day waiting for the reply and its been over a week. Absolutely no excuse for this. They have been taken over and are not interested in their customers, I’m actually a little upset as i’ve been with these for over 16 years and have gotten to know the support team over that time. The little bios you got about the person who was dealing with your issue, they were very knowlagable and so so helpful.
Now though, its as if the support team have all been sacked as they DO NOT reply to your questions/problems.
I will be looking for a new host as this is not acceptable, such a great shame though.
+ PROS: Easy To use services Good up time for my server (London)
- CONS: Customer Service has just disappeared since they were taken over! Waiting over 7 days for a reply

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.6
Support
1
Features
3
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

ZERO SERVICE…. It’s unbelievably bad now. I don’t think they’ll be able to come back from this. What a NIGHTMARE — some of my sites have gone down and I can’t even access them due to an internal cpanel problem and there’s NO support responses.
+ PROS: The basic services are good and they USED to have great service — I used to rave about it to my clients ... but NOT ANYMORE.
- CONS: ZERO SERVICE.... It's unbelievably bad now. I don't think they'll be able to come back from this. What a NIGHTMARE -- some of my sites have gone down and I can't even access them due to an internal cpanel problem and there's NO support responses.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Have been with Site5 since 2000. Until a few months ago, they had been pretty good over the years and reasonable value for money. However that has all changed in past couple of months. Support whether it be technical or administrative is now almost non-existent. Support tickets remain unanswered after weeks (longest one still open is 6 weeks!). Their website says if your ticket is not answered in under 6 hours you will get a $1 refund each time. I have a claim ticket open with Billing but that hasn’t even been looked at by Site5 in 4 weeks.

Apparently they have new owners – EHG Holdings? Why pay millions of $ for a company and then destroy it. It can’t be for the assets surely. A hosting company aren’t going to have much in that respect.

AVOID SITE5 like the plague for your hosting – they have totally lost it as a company you cannot have any trust in. Small businesses need support quickly, not waiting for weeks for a tech ticket to be answered.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.4
Support
1
Features
2
Speed
2
Uptime
1
Value
1

Literally deteriorated to the point of the absolute worst customer support I’ve ever experienced. Be prepared to wait weeks on end before receiving a reply for a ticket, if ever. This is such a fall from grace, being that they had a phenomenal support team prior to being bought out.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

Pathetic service. I will leave them when my contract expires. This is after 10 years of great service. Change of owner has ruined them.
+ PROS: None anymore. They were great up to a few months ago.
- CONS: No support at all. My websites have been down for 10 days. The only reponse I get is to wait and be patient and not to bug them. Pathetic.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

If you are selling online to offices and can afford >4 hours of downtime on Monday morning through lunch (actually, still down) – this is the place for you. Another note as they just explained, 4 hours in a month only gets 5% on their service guarantee, even if it is straight through at the busiest sales period.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

If I could give negative stars I would. I’m joining the chorus here to say they could care less about their customers. I’ve been with them for many years, and somewhere along the line they got rid of customer support. There was a time where customer support was awesome… It was the one reason to be with them. I need an SSL cert installed and I’m losing business because for 5 days I’ve had no response. Chat is useless, and waited on hold over an hour to try to reach a human. I’m literally moving my site immediately because it’s so bad. Stay away.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

2.0
Support
1
Features
4
Speed
2
Uptime
2
Value
1

The EIG acquisition really killed site5. Just recently they made a support system switch and now support is nearly non-existent. I’ve been waiting almost 5 weeks for help on a ticket. They stop responding, then claim they haven’t gotten any updates from me. When they do actually respond, it’s a brush off that asks for more info that was already provided in a previous ticket update.
Avoid like the plague.
+ PROS: Cheap? Not many pros anymore :(
- CONS: Non existent support, lots of downtime, on a downward slump. Avoid at all costs.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

I have been locked out of backstage for the past week. I can get into one site with cpanel but the other looks to have an email attached to it I do not recognizes.
Sent emails, done the click to set password, sat on the phone for an hour listening to music and talked to an idiot bot for 45 minutes yesterday.
You have to be nuts to pay them a penny.
I’m currently talking to A2 to see if I can’t just move everything over. Any other suggestions much appreciated.
I also have been a client for years.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

6.4
Support
1
Features
8
Speed
8
Uptime
8
Value
7

In reply to Tom.
My experience exactly. They were the best, now the worst. Something big must have happened recently. None of the old, brilliant tech staff answer your tickets any longer. Tickets take a few weeks to answer, and no solutions offered.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

4.4
Support
1
Features
5
Speed
1
Uptime
10
Value
5

Started out with them over a year ago, they had great customer service and were quick to respond when I had a ticket or a question usually someone would reply within minutes….. however in the last 2 months they have completely stopped with any customer service. I have tickets that have not ever been looked at and have been completely ignored. I tried the “Live Help” but it didn’t do anything, no one was there to answer my questions.
- CONS: No customer service and support any more.

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.0
Support
1
Features
1
Speed
1
Uptime
1
Value
1

– Story 🙂

Bevor we moving to site5.com the service chat was reach in only 5 minutes . they was very bvery noce to us we explain them what we need and they offer us some package , we oay the same day . they promis us to migrate the shop in only some day ..

After payment :

we post ticket for migration and ticket for domain transfer
– migration asnwer after 7 days ! after migration the shop was not working well so than ok we post ther ticket answer after 4 days . afer shop finaly was running we ask about the domain transfer who we already pay 14 days bevor — till today 3 weeks no answer !

the shop is not working always site down , ftp down , capanel down , 500 internal error , and other thinks

after finaly 8 hours hold in chat … the customer service told us that our site is attact by someone with ip xxx….. we told them that this ip is the ip from the hosting 🙂 immedately he told us that some plugin that we have installed cause the crash of the site so we unninstall the plugin but site still down … we explain him that site still down he told us to give him our ips … and after we send him ip he told us that he dont see us online … strange … again he told us is our end shop system who makes problem … i ask him but wy your server dont see that we are connected ??? so it have to be in your end the problem ,.a also wy capanel is not working ?? our shop crash the capenel ???? after that he told us he will escalete the ticket .. my answer the ticket is already escalted since days .. so now is time to work on ticket not only to make bla bla bla … strange the chat was ending from them his end ,,, so we tray again for chat service support but hours … i close this and try to reach sales and billing chat … magic in only 5 minutes i was connected …

so in the end

– bad service and bad hosting !!!NEVER AGAIN SITE5.COM

Review type: Shared Hosting

Overall review score

Recommended: No

1.8
Support
1
Features
3
Speed
3
Uptime
1
Value
1

no response

Check out our top user-rated host: SiteGround
Need help choosing a hosting provider?
Check out our top user-rated host: SiteGround