HostNine Reviews

Rated 4.13 / 10 by 58 Users

Visit HostNine
HostNine Screenshot
User Ratings

Overall Rating: 4.13

Support: 3.24

Speed: 4.40

Features: 4.86

Uptime: 4.07

Value: 4.10

Add your Review
Hosting Expert

“Despite looking reasonable on paper, as a brand they have difficulty shrugging off the fact that it is owned by EIG.

After the Arvixe migration debacle, another brand owned by EIG, many of the EIG brands suffered significant problems with their service throughout 2016 and 2017. The jury is still out. “

Top Deals

These are the best deals currently available from HostNine:

  • 20% Off Shared Hosting
  • 20% Off Reseller Hosting
  • 20% Off VPS Hosting
HostNine Menu
Hosting Reviews Menu

Users Reviews (Rated 4.13 / 10)

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 35 Shared Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.49

Support: 3.66

Speed: 4.83

Features: 4.83

Uptime: 4.63

Value: 4.49

Name:
Date: October 24, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 1.00

hostnine is suspending site without any reasaon … the support is playing games with customers …. they are indian idiots …

the content of DMCA is removed before 4 months and they are suspending site for the content that does not exists in my site ….

server are bad support is bad and they will not refund money

Name:
Date: April 29, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

TERRIBLE! Avoid
Name:
Date: January 3, 2017
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

HORRIBLE SERVICE!!! I’ve been waiting like 6 months on a reply and phone calls, this hosting is a joke and not at all secure!!! Bunch of kids busy messing with other peoples websites when they were not ever asked to do most of what they do. I’ve lost backups, pages, all kinds of stuff, and I know their reps do this crap because it’s happened for the two years I had their service!
Name:
Date: November 28, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

It’s close to the time of my renewal with this company which I started out with cirtexhosting in the beginning. Never had any problems until NOW. My site keeps saying ERROR 500. So I log onto to my Cpanel…cant says my connection is not private. Ok, lets contact cirtexhosting, but they’re only for billing with a link for support to hostnine….you can live chat if you sign up for a new account. I don’t need one, because i’m already their client, right? Nope. They want me to register & purchase a hosting plan. NEXT, I’ve sent emails to both billing and support and NO reply. NOTHING, not even a ticket number like most companies send out. I thought last I’ll look for a phone number…NONE. Not anywhere on there site. It’s basically impossible to contact them, then looking at their Twitter feed it’s nothing but apologizes for delays and can you send a DM. I’m upset please until now everything was good, but when I do need assistance I cant get any. Pass on this company and go with one of the more popular ones, so what if you pay a few pennies more. In the run long it might be worth it just in case your site goes down. This company is really disappointing. Keep looking.. and good luck
Name:
Date: November 7, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

I’ve been with Hostnine since 2007 and it used to be superb but in the last year it has really gone down the tubes… The big problem is their support – their hosting works fine but when you have a problem, they are now totally unresponsive! Blacklisted mail servers, account transfer – nothing happens! Terrible, terrible, terrible…. + PROS: Website servers are good with plenty of features - CONS: The support is now non-responsive, unbelievably slow and useless!
Name:
Date: October 12, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

  • PROS: Back room Cpanel is great (if its working) Freedom to manipulate files and directories as you need (some other providers make that very difficult) lots of app and programs offered
  • CONS: Hey Guys just want to warn you to stay away from HostNine the are the worst when it comes to customer service they took over CirtexHosting which I have used for 12 years and these new people wont give you a phone number to call the closes thing to that is (LiveChat) but they dont do anything technical they refer to tech support “But you are not allowed to talk to” only submit a help ticket that they never answer. I have had three sites partially down (not functioning properly) for 20 days and not one person has attempted to contact me back since I made several tickets and several “LiveChats”
Name:
Date: September 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

Be careful with this company. Abandoned and support is dead, it does not answer anything even after weeks. Support via chat does not solve anything, just does not work. It was a great company but over. + PROS: Nothing can be good when you need support from the company and it can not offer. - CONS: The support is dead
Name:
Date: August 31, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I have been a Host Nine customer for years. They were wonderful with very fast support years ago. I feel like they started going downhill in 2014. Servers down for multiple days. Now their support department seems to be closed or nonexistent. I had an urgent issue in June. I opened a ticket and after several days there was absolutely no response. I opened a ticket with sales, billing, support and made posts to Twitter to try to get some sort of response. Someone finally responded and asked me not to open multiple tickets for the same issue because it “clogs” up their system and makes support take longer. I was thinking: ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

Today is August 31, and I have a ticket that was opened on July 3 with absolutely no response. The only response is from me saying “Hello, is anyone there?” I finally added all the lyrics of Adele’s Hello thinking I might get some response. NOTHING.

I moved all of my account to Inmotion Hosting. I felt like I had no choice, if you have a need for support with Host Nine you will be completely on your own. STAY AWAY FROM HOST NINE

  • PROS: Their billing system works PERFECTLY. They will bill your credit card on time without fail, or suspend you. Their support may SUCK but honey their automatic billing system is off the chain.
  • CONS: Their SUPPORT department is a joke, on Mars or non existent. I am not sure which. In case I did not mention it, their support is HORRIBLE.
Name:
Date: August 31, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

Support is non-existent. Have had a support ticket with them for over a month. No replay whatsoever. Time to move elsewhere.
Name:
Date: August 26, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Worst of the worst hosting companies.
Name:
Date: August 19, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Acquired by EIG and going downhill.
Name:
Date: July 11, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

We originally purchased a HostV account Enjoyed 100% up time and fantastic customer support the enter Host Nine. Our sites have been down for 9 days now. Support says they have lost our backups. What about those redundant self healing servers? System Architect and Server Admin looking into it. 9 days later still no answers. After losing all of our clients we’re told maybe we should just start from scratch.
Name:
Date: July 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

HostNine is worst hosting company in Planet…never trust them. They do not reply support ticket even in month……..
Name:
Date: June 29, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

This is the worst hosting service I have ever experienced. BUYER BEWARE!!! They WILL NOT refund you if you cancel their service past 45 days. So, you get locked in at their “special” rate, but if you decide to leave, they will keep the rest of the year’s payment!! Go ELSEWHERE!!!
Name:
Date: June 6, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

worst customer support I have ever seen. Been with them for years. they got bought out and now have the We are talking days to respond at best. + PROS: None at this point - CONS: Horrific customer support. Servers go down a lot
Name:
Date: June 1, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

I’ve been with “hostv” which is now “hostnine” for the past 4 or 5 years … if they didn’t start treating customers in a better way, the have no future. + PROS: Great prices! - CONS: * support doesn’t respond (tickets/live chat) * if there is an outage in the network nobody will tell you what’s going on.
Name:
Date: May 26, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

No reply from support team for more than 24 hours while my website keeps being down.
Name:
Date: May 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I’m very confused over what has happened to hostnine, i have tried to migrate my account and upgrade my plan, since that nothing works, support is very long and takes days to answer, my account is suspended with no reason due to the migration.
Name:
Date: April 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

My sites are down almost for a day and they’ve done nothing to help me resolve the issue. Every time I ask something in live chat they try everything to get away from me and want everything ticketed. On there they need about 48 hours to respond and me?! Who the fuck cares about my sites being down?! Nobody. I am going to move to another hosting.

Pros: technically good

Cons: Bad support

Name:
Date: January 4, 2016
Hosting Type: Shared Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

STAY AWAY. A Small Orange is now just another brand of Endurance International Group (EIG), along with HostGator, BlueHost, Arvixe, HostNine, and close to a hundred other names. EIG has a reputation of taking over great companies and destroying them.

The reviews here reflect my own experience: ASO was a great company until taken over by EIG in mid-2014, and for a little while after. They’ve killed it now.

EIG in my opinion deserves to be driven out of business, but instead they have become a multi-billion-dollar corporation. Do your research and do it well, as they now seem to be actively trying to hide it when they take companies over.

Pros: Customer service still responds. But the response may just be, “sorry, can’t help you.”

Cons: Being out of online business for a week or more at a time.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 1 VPS Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 2.40

Support: 1.00

Speed: 2.00

Features: 5.00

Uptime: 2.00

Value: 2.00

Name:
Date: June 29, 2017
Hosting Type: VPS Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

I moved from Arvixe to Site5 about 5-6 months ago since Arvixe recently bit the dust and converted into an absolutely horrible hosting service.

Sadly, I’ve come to find out that the company that bought Arvixe, EIG, has also bought Site5 and it has fallen to the same fate.

In the past 2 weeks, I’ve experienced several hours of downtime daily with my website and associated e-mail address, missing out on important business e-mails and potentially losing customers trying to access my site.

Their support has been slow and in the end, absolutely useless.

I would do yourself a favor and check out EIG’s site and make sure to avoid any brand that they own. Every host they buy they turn to crap.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 10 Cloud Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.16

Support: 4.00

Speed: 3.90

Features: 5.50

Uptime: 2.80

Value: 4.60

Name:
Date: November 27, 2017
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 1.60

Absolutely terrible service. Downtime is very frequent and support is the worst I have ever experienced. Their incompetence brings all of your sites down and they take forever to fix it. They’re a joke!
Name:
Date: August 15, 2017
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Avoid, avoid, avoid! Bad downtime and support - no phone number, contact page doesn’t work, ticketing has been removed and live chat doesn’t even work most of the time!
Name:
Date: January 3, 2016
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

My VPS had 99% DOWNTIME for 9 days!!!

Pros: Cheap VPS with plenty features

Cons: Too much Downtime & No longer reliable

Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

Our server has been down for days, with no end in sight. No information is even provided, typical cookie cutter responses.

Just plain horrible, no website and worse of all no emails for the last 4 days. Who knows how much this is costing our company.

STAY AWAY!!!

Pros: Inexpensive, full Cpanel, WHM included in monthly plans.

Cons: Slow, Goes down more than other hosts I’ve used (Currently I’m experiencing a 4 day blackout with no ETA on when the server is getting back online).

Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

VPS server down for more than 4 days….

Pros: support

Cons: uptime (4days or more without any information whats going on)

Name:
Date: December 29, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

I writing this review to literally save you thousand of dollars by signing up with this company. they have the worse customer service and their VPS and hosting services are not reliable at all. Our VPS server has been unavailable for several days now and they haven’t been able to figure out the problem after 4 days. we have lost important clients and thousand of dollars in transactions so we are consulting with our attorney how to make them pay for all the losses; anyways, I’m trying to save you time and money so don’t even consider them as a service provider. Good luck

Pros: NONE

Cons: YOU WILL END UP LOSING YOUR CLIENTS AND LOTS OF MONEY

Name:
Date: December 26, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

There uptime is one of the worst for any hosting company I have used over the past 15 years. Just disgusting and terrible!! STAY AS FAR AWAY AS POSSIBLE!

Pros: Their online chat is great. People answer normally within a few minutes.

Cons: I have been with these guys for about a year and used to have 10 VPS servers. Over the past 6 months, their servers have gotten worse and worse. They pretty much go down every month. I have moved three servers so far and will be moving the rest over the next couple of months. Their hosting techs don’t have a clue how to run a data center. This much downtime is unacceptable.

Name:
Date: December 1, 2015
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 3.00

The features are nice! thought quite different from a standard cPanel WHM but its still good.

However, during my 4 months trying their service, whenever a critical issue comes in…their support is super mega slow as in will take more than 24 up to even days of without ticket movement.

I appraise their live chat but I hope they can someday improve their Turn around time..coz it really sucks ….

and Id suggest that improve on how they should categorize critical issues and priority.

Name:
Date: September 25, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 10.00

I have been familiar with web hosting plans for a long time, but Hostnine was the first time I felt brave enough to order a VPS server.

I originally just bought the Hostnine VPS to try it out and test out many of the things I didn’t want to do on a live production server. I chose Hostnine because I was already a customer of theirs and was very happy with the support that they offered, so choosing Hostnine was a natural choice. In addition, I didn’t want to spend much on what was to be a test server, and fortunately Hostnine offer one of the cheapest managed VPS plans around.

Throughout the couple of months of testing I have had no downtime expect for the occasional reboot in the morning. I am told that if I order the Splice addon for a couple of dollars then all the updates currently requiring a reboot will not longer need it, and my uptime should be 100% instead of 99.9%. I will be ordering this soon, now I have made the decision to move my production websites to the VPS.

The biggest thing though is the support. They are incredibly helpful, and even helped me setup Nginx as a Reverse proxy during my testing phase, and I must say the speeds are phenomenal. Without a doubt, I would highly recommend them!

Name:
Date: January 11, 2014
Hosting Type: Cloud Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

I decided to post a review because the server for the website that I am attempting to work on is once again unavailable. I’ve been using hostnine for many years. Its the fist company I’ve used since I started in the web design business. That was a very big mistake. I’ve lost so many customers because of unreliable support, site suspensions, billing errors and down time. There is some great support staff, while others are completely lazy or inept, I’m not sure which it is. One time there was a huge hardware failure. There was an entire node that went out, including the backups. As a result I was forced to rebuild 3 entire websites because I mistakenly trusted there were back ups. They didn’t even apologize. I moved on to a different service. So far, I’m a lot happier. I still never to get over 50 sites along with several VPS setups done. Several of the VPS setups are a real pain. I really wish that I had done some extra research before I chose that company.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 9 Reseller Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 3.20

Support: 1.56

Speed: 3.56

Features: 4.22

Uptime: 3.89

Value: 2.78

Name:
Date: March 30, 2018
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting
Platform: WordPress

User Rating: 3.20

I’ve been a Hostnine customer for more than 5 years and most of these reviews are TRUE. Their chat support used to be great but now most of them just seem too dumb or understand simple English. I feel that every time I talk to them I would get a “I will escalate this to our techs who can solve this issue” crap and go back and forth explaining to them a really simple concern. Good thing I opted for the monthly subscription on the Reseller plan and now I’m finally decided to move to a better hosting provider with INTELLIGENT support.
Name:
Date: January 26, 2017
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Been with H9 over 5 years and absolutely terrible support recently.

Cannot add new domains since last month (December), after they replied saying the domains I am trying to add are not registered (they are and nameservers set correctly etc), am not getting any responses from support.

Live chat won’t do anything apart from say they are escalating my support ticket.

Tried complaining to complaints dept. They told me it is being dealt with and not to open any more tickets as it will slow down my original support request (!). Has been over a month now.

As a reseller this has cost me time, money and the considerable goodwill of my clients. I am now gradually downloading 150+ accounts to relocate to a more responsible hosting provider.

Name:
Date: December 15, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

This is terrible, since EIG acquired it there is no support reply. Tickets go unanswered. Their TLS configuration does not support new iOS and OS X versions. When they do reply to tickets, it is with a generic canned response as if they did not read the ticket. We have been a client since 2010 and will be canceling when we can.
Name:
Date: October 18, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 8.00

Just setup the reseller account. I’m happy with them.
Name:
Date: September 2, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

i’m now looking for a new re seller as i had it with H9, i’m one of their clients for over 10 yars and yes, the res of this comments are true, they just don’t give a f… any more, i have some of my account down for over two weeks now and still going on… they do not assit ticket or on their live chat alsoway’s have the same response .. we will get back to you… H9 get over your self and keep up the poor service….
Name:
Date: August 23, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 6.00

Up until early May (2016), I would have given Hostnine a 5-star recommendation. Support was fantastic and I love that websites can be spread across multiple IP addresses. But now support is non-existent. Tickets go unanswered. I managed to contact them through Live Chat and they promised to fix the two issues I raised. They didn’t. I contacted them again through Live Chat and they pleaded with me to give them one more chance. I was told that my two issues would definitely, absolutely be resolved by the end of the day as they’d now been brought to the attention of the head of support. I told them they had one more chance. Well, they fluffed it. Issues not resolved, no action on tickets. just crickets chirping and tumbleweeds blowing by where Support used to be.

Time to avoid Hostnine if you’re looking for a webhost. + PROS: Host sites on multiple IP addresses. Nice admin user interface. Fast and reliable servers. - CONS: Zero support these days. If something goes wrong, you’re on your own.

Name:
Date: August 14, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

As many have experienced Host9 have gone from hero to zero. Downtime seems to have gone through the roof and support is non-existent.

I have now asked to cancel my reseller account and as per their terms and conditions refund the balance on my account. They seem to be refusing to do either. I have been waiting for around 1 month now. The live chat agents say that they cannot deal with it and I must wait for my support tickets to be answered.

I would avoid this company!

  • PROS: Initially good, but went downhill soon after their takeover
  • CONS: Lots of down time, zero support, constantly moving servers, cannot cancel account
Name:
Date: June 9, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 1.00

Is this a joke of a company or what? If the salesman didn’t reply to sales tickets I’d swear they’re out of business. Sites are all down for over a week. Several technical tickets submitted with no replies for days now. No reply to numerous customers with the same problem on the social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, etc.). Live chat function on their website has been disabled so you can’t bother them with a need for assistance…
Name:
Date: May 30, 2016
Hosting Type: Reseller Hosting

User Rating: 4.00

There is no support and the live chat never works. When you put in a ticket, you get no response even after days. + PROS: The site is fast, their control panel is nice. - CONS: No support. Chat doesn’t come up (doesn’t work). No response to a reseller even a week after we beg them to respond.

The user ratings to the right reflect the total rating score of all 2 Dedicated Hosting Reviews left by our readers.

Overall: 4.00

Support: 1.50

Speed: 5.50

Features: 6.50

Uptime: 3.50

Value: 3.00

Name:
Date: December 8, 2016
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 2.00

12 hours of my server down that was caused by HostNine. a simple issue to fix but no one will respond. Stay away. Stay away. If I posted chat transcripts anyone would stay away.
Name:
Date: August 27, 2016
Hosting Type: Dedicated Hosting

User Rating: 5.00

I’ve used Hostnine for years, and am in the process of moving several dedicated servers somewhere else. A year ago a support ticket would be answered in a few hours…. now they literally sit for WEEKS without being answered. (and I’m spending thousands of $ a year with them)

In fact, I have spoke to support people and used their live chat multiple times and was told “the problem will be fixed ‘immediately’ to have the issue ignored for weeks on end.

A client of mine who went with the put a ticket in that has been ignored for a week already as well.

In fact, if I was told that they have no support department anymore, I would believe it. It’s a shame because they used to rock.

Stay far away from Hostnine. I would even recommend Godaddy or Hostgator before getting another server with this company. Email me for details.

Only up to 20 reviews are displayed in each category.

To see all 58 HostNine reviews click here.

Frequently asked questions

Jonathan Griffin. Editor @ The Webmaster

About the author

Editor at The Webmaster.

Jonathan Griffin has been the Lead writer at The Webmaster for the last 5 years. Having provided technical SEO, WordPresss development, and hosting services for clients, his passion remains to help small businesses and bloggers develop their online presence.

In his spare time, he loves to push his technical knowledge further, and regularly undertakes professional courses on subjects ranging from python development, digital marketing, and Google Analytics.

Find out more about Jonathan Griffin on our About Page.